User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-24-2012, 07:37 PM   #1
GailCallsMeKarl OP
Squirrel w/ no nuts

Oddometer: 844
Shortypants Bike - Converting a CRF 150R into a trail oriented dual sport

I am an RFS* chic. (*Really F’ing Short) 4’ 11”, 27” inseam. I started riding a little over a year ago. I bought a TTR125 to start trail riding to improve my riding skills. I was lucky enough to find a great friend and teacher in MGorman. I rode and wrecked the TTR until I almost killed her. MGorman gave me the go ahead to move up to bike #2. I have a 230 but it proved to be too big for me to successfully trail ride. I could pick it up about twice a day and that was about it. I also felt the suspension wasn’t what I wanted. (His KTM spoiled me) The search was on for a light, small and powerful bike. Enter the CRF150R.

For those that think it’s just a 150….it weighs in at just 183 lbs. and generates nearly 20 hp.

This thing is a wheelie machine! Grown men would steal it away for a lap of the parking area and come back grinning ear to ear. I knew I had a good machine, but she did scare me a bit! I went ahead and bought it, knowing I didn’t have many options in the little bitty bike category.

The bike was still pretty tall for me so first things first; lowered by installing KoubaLink.

Now it’s time to convert it!
First off, I don’t wire things. I’ll tear into anything mechanical, but electrical stuff…..

So what do I do? I find an engineer to do it for me! This was his wiring diagram. (I should have been scared, maybe?)

I was ready to open the crank case and replace the OEM flywheel and stator. I’m a Lego’s kid so I like to have drawings of how it’s supposed to go back together. A piece of cardboard served as a great way to keep track of what bolt came from where.

Got stuck here at 9pm on a Saturday Night with no impact wrench to remove the flywheel:

Naked Sunday morning with her headlights staring at me