User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-22-2012, 07:08 PM   #1
FishrCutB8 OP
Oh HAI!

Oddometer: 113
One Bike to Rule Them All?

I started riding this Summer and got a 2003 Suzuki SV 1000, which has been a fantastic bike. Zippy through the twisties, fantastic acceleration, great as a commuter to work. It looks great, sounds great (Twin Brothers exhaust) and runs great.

Buuuuuuuuuuuuuut.....Here's the thing. Or rather, the things.

While I was riding, I started noticing these other roads. They're dirt. And, I'm curious about what might be up there. I live in Central PA and there are a lot of dirt trails and fire roads and the like. The thing about the SV is that it's really not up to the task.

Annnnnnnnnnd...

I gave my 14 year-old daughter a ride on the back. And she loved it. And then I gave my wife a ride on the back and she loved it. Except for the bent-over riding position. Even with risers, they are leaning over onto me, which is uncomfortable for them and also puts a lot of pressure on the wrists, especially downhill and when stopping.

Sooooooooooooo...

I've started lurking on this forum and reading a lot, which has led me to wonder, as I think about my next bike, is there one bike that would meet all of my needs? Here is what I am thinking:
- reliable: I am a newbie and I don't want to spend time/money in the shop. I like the SV because the engine is largely bulletproof.
- offroad capable: I'm not going over rock gardens, but it really would be nice to explore those trails, rather than driving past them
- two-up power: the wife and I combined are about 360 pounds and she is 5' 10 (I am 6'). I don't think I will be two-up more than a day or two at a time (though Mrs. Fish continues to surprise me) and more B&b/hotel than camping...
- affordable: I am loving the new Tiger 800 XC but the price is way out of my league. I am thinking $7-8k at the top end