ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Fluff > Shiny things
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 12-12-2012, 08:16 AM   #1
PineyMountainRacing OP
Oops....
 
PineyMountainRacing's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: SW Florida / Western NC
Oddometer: 2,051
Wireless Router Advice

I need a wireless router for my 1800 sq ft office, will be using Comcast's "economy" internet service, mainly doing emails and text stuff. I have a Linksys 300N "something or other" at home which seems to work OK, I have a lot of Internet outage at my home so who knows about the router.

So what's the best bang for the buck? I've got an OfficeMax and a BestBuy a block away, but can order online too.

The cheaper the better
PineyMountainRacing is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 11:06 AM   #2
Andyinhilo
Beastly Adventurer
 
Andyinhilo's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Hilo, Hawaii
Oddometer: 1,634
Quote:
Originally Posted by PineyMountainRacing View Post
I need a wireless router for my 1800 sq ft office, will be using Comcast's "economy" internet service, mainly doing emails and text stuff. I have a Linksys 300N "something or other" at home which seems to work OK, I have a lot of Internet outage at my home so who knows about the router.

So what's the best bang for the buck? I've got an OfficeMax and a BestBuy a block away, but can order online too.

The cheaper the better
For reliability, I would highly recommend an Apple Airport. I have had several cheaper routers that worked OK for a while, 6 months to a year, then would begin to lose connections etc. These were by Linksys, D-link and Belkin. When I replaced the Belkin with my Airport, that was 5 or 6 years ago, and I have not had a bit of trouble.

I passed the Belkin to a buddy who lives in a cooler location, and it has worked OK for him. I live in Hilo, Hawaii, where temperatures get into the 80s year round, and I can't afford A/C, and I think that heat is a big factor.

So if you don't want to spend the Apple $$, my next recommendation is the Belkin stuff. You may find it useful to get one with a USB port so you can connect a USB printer or hard drive to the network.
__________________
"The rifle itself has no moral stature, since it has no will of its own. Naturally, it may be used by evil men for evil purposes, but there are more good men than evil, and while the latter cannot be persuaded to the path of righteousness by propaganda, they can certainly be corrected by good men with rifles."J. Cooper
Andyinhilo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 11:11 AM   #3
Yooper_Bob
Beastly Adventurer
 
Yooper_Bob's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Da UP, eh! (Marquette, MI)
Oddometer: 2,597
My wireless router recently died, and I replaced it with a belkin N600 (which has the USB port to make my printer wireless).

Set up was a bit of a pain, but other than that no real issues.

Range is pretty good...I have it set up in the second floor, back bedroom (which doubles as my office), and it easily provides a strong signal to the garage which is at the other end of the house.
Yooper_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 11:24 AM   #4
SJSharkfan
Studly Adventurer
 
SJSharkfan's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: NorCal
Oddometer: 665
Just went through this with my home network. I'm not an IT pro but here is what I went with.

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/NETGEAR+...&skuId=1208844

Good range, ratings and speed. If you stream hi def movies I would get a N-900 router. This one has worked well so far ( 1 week) and seems to handle all our needs, i.e. you tube,xbox and multiple users.

If any one else has a better suggestion I can still return it!
__________________
GO SHARKS!

Dave
'02 R1150GS ADV "The Tank"

"I fire up the willing engine,responding with a roar.
Tires spitting gravel, I commit my weekly crime."

"Red Barchetta" By RUSH
SJSharkfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 11:57 AM   #5
~DC~
An Internet Legend
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Oddometer: 478
I think most any of the name brands will be fairly equal, I've never been a big fan of Belkin products, but don't really have any first-hand experience with their stuff.

I've personally used Linksys and DLink. The DLink I had was back when consumer WiFi was new to the market. That device was fine until I applied a firmware update that caused problems, it was never right again, even after installing the older firmware. I've got a Linksys router that I bought back in 2004-2005 timeframe that's still going strong, never have to touch it.
~DC~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 12:12 PM   #6
MookieBlaylock
Beastly Adventurer
 
MookieBlaylock's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: IntheeaglewingpalaceoftheQueenChinee
Oddometer: 2,581
i have a dlink with the printer set up wirelessly and it works well. It made me sad though when i called for help and it was some far corner of the world and a bit worthless. They used to have really good support
MookieBlaylock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 03:18 PM   #7
DUNDERHEAD
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: CT
Oddometer: 188
Apple Airport. Just my 2 cents
DUNDERHEAD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 03:25 PM   #8
ttpete
Rectum Non Bustibus
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Dearborn, MI
Oddometer: 5,506
Linksys E3000. Easy setup, and all that needs to be done on any PC to initially connect is to run one executable file, then hit connect to router and push the button on the router when it asks for the password.
__________________
10 Ducati 1098 Streetfighter S - "Sleipnir"
09 Kaw Versys
67 Triumph Bonneville TT Special
"The problem with Socialism is that you eventually run out of other people's money" _____ Margaret Thatcher
ttpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 03:33 PM   #9
TheMuffinMan
Forest Ranger Magnet
 
TheMuffinMan's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Denver, USA
Oddometer: 5,484
I like my Trendnet wireless router. I've had it for 4 years and works well; has lots of options for setup and configuration.


I'd order from http://newegg.com.


I'm a IT professional by trade.
__________________
"To strive, to seek, to find, and not to yield."
KTM 525 XC-W // KTM 950 Adventure
690 Wiki
TheMuffinMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 04:32 PM   #10
bwringer
Gimpy, Yet Alacritous
 
bwringer's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Indianapolis
Oddometer: 2,114
The "modem" that Comcast provides may also be a wireless router. Or are you specifically getting a "single-function" device?

Wait and see what you get.
__________________
1983 Suzuki GS850G, Cosmic Blue
2002 Suzuki Vstrom DL1000, Midnight Blue
2005 Kawasaki KLR685 - Turd II.2, The ReReTurdening
"Do not crinkle your food wrappers loudly. Be considerate to others, or I will bite your torso and give you a disease."
bwringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 05:20 PM   #11
Clint Taurus
Studly Adventurer
 
Clint Taurus's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Heart of Dixie
Oddometer: 788
I've had great luck with Linksys (a Cisco company). Security tip...you can use MAC address filtering to keep unwanted surfers from riding your bandwidth(unless they are sophisticated hackers).
__________________
Don't be a panty-waste
Clint Taurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 07:02 PM   #12
janeuner
Get Some
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Illinois
Oddometer: 1,226
I have a ~2000 sq ft house, and host the occasional LAN party. Here is my solution:

Linksys E3000 --- http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833124419

I own two. I put one at each end of the building, with ethernet cable running to each (switch ports only). Both have the same SSID and WPA2 passphrase, and they use non-overlapping frequency channels. Wireless devices float between the two depending upon the relative signal strength without any user interaction or service interruption.

How do they work? I never think about them, and I always have strong wireless signal, even outside the house. I know of no other metric that matters.

If I was too lazy to run the ethernet cable, one in the center of the house would probably be fine. I just like the redundancy.
__________________
'06 Suzuki Boulevard C50
'92 Suzuki GS500E (sold)
janeuner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 09:13 PM   #13
EmmEff
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Innisfil, Ontario, Canada
Oddometer: 1,690
Surprised to see the E3000 come up considering its now outdated. I'm also using an E3000 running Tomato USB firmware and its great. For the $40 I paid for a refurb, I don't think it could be beat.

If I wasn't so cheap, I'd probably have an Apple Airport.
__________________
2001 F650GS Dakar
2008 DR-Z 400S

EmmEff screwed with this post 12-13-2012 at 11:10 AM
EmmEff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 05:01 AM   #14
CodeMonkee
Geek Adventurer
 
CodeMonkee's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: Orygun
Oddometer: 5,350
Most name brand routers are fairly reliable, where you will see the differences in brands and models are speed (especially at the edge of the coverage) and especially range. If you have problems with coverage then you need to look at one of the tech sites and read their reviews.

For example, the router that Frontier supplied me - a cheapo Netgear with no external antennas - is fine inside the house, but step two feet outside and there is no connection at all. My house is not that big. I need coverage not just out on the patio but on the deck and all the way to the shop (over 100 feet away). So I need to get another router that has enough power to extend that far (I have an old Linksys with external antennas I may connect on that side of the house, but it doesn't have a bridge mode).

Also, a couple of notes:

1) Ultimate speed isn't that important if your internet connection is low speed. I live out in the boonies and the fastest my connection can be is 1.5 mbps - period. I am at the far end of the DSL line and I am lucky to get DSL at all.

So 55 mbps or 550 mbps from the router doesn't really matter to me unless I start having devices talk to one another on the network - which I may, then it will matter.

2) Security is important. Most routers today come with firewalls built in, but check to make sure.
__________________
'09 Husaberg FE570
'99 Beta Alp
'04 Ducati MTS - sold
Not all who wander are lost
CodeMonkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 11:24 AM   #15
EmmEff
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Innisfil, Ontario, Canada
Oddometer: 1,690
CodeMonkee speaks the truth.

One thing I might add is recommending a dual-band router (2.4GHz and 5GHz) since 802.11n (the current fastest wifi rate) can use 5GHz and there will be less interference at that frequency. If you're using a cordless phone or any other wireless devices in the 2.4GHz frequency range, your wireless performance may be affected. The cheaper routers are single band only.
__________________
2001 F650GS Dakar
2008 DR-Z 400S
EmmEff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014