ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-31-2012, 07:16 AM   #1
geotherm OP
Adventurer
 
geotherm's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 88
Lighting: where do I tap into for 'turn on'?

Ok, so I've got my new fog/spot lights mounted, my fuzeblock installed under my seat(rear above fender), everything's looking good. I'm nervous about tapping into the factory wiring..where is the best/easiest place to tap into for my 'turn on' power?
geotherm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 07:59 AM   #2
JustKip
Beastly Adventurer
 
JustKip's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Fresno, CA
Oddometer: 4,315


Good question. Are you trying to have the entire fuzeblock wired to the ignition, so the key must be on for power?

Not wanting to hijack your thread, but the reason I'm asking is that IS what I want to do.
JustKip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 07:59 AM   #3
JRP
Old guy
 
JRP's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Location: Hampden, MA
Oddometer: 1,480
Any wire that is hot with the switch on. Since you have everything under the seat I would think the tail light wire would work to activate your relay. I used the head light low beam but my relay was up front.
__________________
"What could possibly go wrong? " The Jerk
2012 TE 250
2010 F 650 GS
1983 R 80 G/S
JRP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 08:09 AM   #4
geotherm OP
Adventurer
 
geotherm's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 88
sounds good. thanks.
geotherm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 08:25 AM   #5
geotherm OP
Adventurer
 
geotherm's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 88
@ Justkip, no, I'm running power directly off of battery to fuzeblock. The fuzeblock is cool because it has a relay and the ability to fuse either switched or constant power at any of the 6 outlets on the fuzeblock.
geotherm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 08:31 AM   #6
JustKip
Beastly Adventurer
 
JustKip's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Fresno, CA
Oddometer: 4,315
Quote:
Originally Posted by geotherm View Post
@ Justkip, no, I'm running power directly off of battery to fuzeblock. The fuzeblock is cool because it has a relay and the ability to fuse either switched or constant power at any of the 6 outlets on the fuzeblock.
Cool! That's exatly what I want. What fuzeblock?
JustKip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 08:33 AM   #7
geotherm OP
Adventurer
 
geotherm's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 88
http://www.cyclenutz.com/Fuzeblock-F...FZ-1_p_92.html

and a he's a fellow inmate..
geotherm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 08:26 AM   #8
TuefelHunden
Studly Adventurer
 
TuefelHunden's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Spartanburg, SC
Oddometer: 591
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRP View Post
Any wire that is hot with the switch on. Since you have everything under the seat I would think the tail light wire would work to activate your relay. I used the head light low beam but my relay was up front.
Somewhere on here is a post by JVB, maybe about fuze blocks that says to use blue/green wire in diagnostic plug for the trigger. I used it with no problems. Easy to find, close to my fuseblock, easy to tap.
__________________
Old, but not Dead
TuefelHunden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 03:45 AM   #9
Twilight Error
Going nowhere slowly
 
Twilight Error's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: The Submarine Mines
Oddometer: 22,612
Quote:
Originally Posted by TuefelHunden View Post
Somewhere on here is a post by JVB, maybe about fuze blocks that says to use blue/green wire in diagnostic plug for the trigger. I used it with no problems. Easy to find, close to my fuseblock, easy to tap.
This is the wire I use for my switched power relays, it won't be live until the idiot light on the dash is off.
__________________
If you're all about the destination, take a fucking flight.
Twilight Error is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 08:34 AM   #10
LaurelPerryOnLand
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Oddometer: 3,475
use green/blue ]wire in diagnostic plug for the trigger. This is for a R1200GS.

A Positap makes it very easy to do so.

+1

LaurelPerryOnLand screwed with this post 12-31-2012 at 09:11 AM
LaurelPerryOnLand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 08:39 AM   #11
geotherm OP
Adventurer
 
geotherm's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 88
thanks all. I'm color blind, and, yes I know that's not good for wiring. Blue I have no trouble making out and I can always ask the mrs. Mine is 04 R1150GS..is the blue wire here the one you're referring to?

geotherm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 08:47 AM   #12
OkieTom
Studly Adventurer
 
OkieTom's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Eastern Oklahoma
Oddometer: 632
I just soldered wire on low beam wire at headlight for trigger, easy to do and no need to splice any wires. Best thing is that aux lights dont come on until engine is running.
__________________
"If you have to ask,
You wouldn't understand"
2005 1200GS "The Big Red Pig"
OkieTom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 08:55 AM   #13
JRP
Old guy
 
JRP's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Location: Hampden, MA
Oddometer: 1,480
Just a note, if you use a Positap you won't have to cut or solder any wires.

http://www.posi-lock.com/posiplug.html
__________________
"What could possibly go wrong? " The Jerk
2012 TE 250
2010 F 650 GS
1983 R 80 G/S
JRP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 11:07 AM   #14
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 50,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRP View Post
Just a note, if you use a Positap you won't have to cut or solder any wires.

http://www.posi-lock.com/posiplug.html
, and do it on the parking lamp or the running lamp for the tail light.

Jim
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 09:07 AM   #15
LaurelPerryOnLand
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Oddometer: 3,475
How does a Positap work?

http://www.posi-lock.com/instructions1.html
LaurelPerryOnLand is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014