Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > The perfect line and other riding myths
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-21-2013, 02:55 PM   #1
Hawk62cj5 OP
2 Cheap 4 a KLR

Oddometer: 584
Question How fast do you run on gravel roads ?

Im a newb and ride alone so I have nothing to gauge myself on . I spend alot of my time riding /exploring state maintained gravel roads and just wonder how fast do most people run . Ive noticed to me the bike feels good between 30-45 mph , slower or faster the handling feels like it degrades to me. Is this normal ? Im in no hurry when I ride so I doubt I really change but I was curious.
Hawk62cj5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 03:04 PM   #2
EZ300
Studly Adventurer

Oddometer: 982
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawk62cj5 View Post
Im a newb and ride alone so I have nothing to gauge myself on . I spend alot of my time riding /exploring state maintained gravel roads and just wonder how fast do most people run . Ive noticed to me the bike feels good between 30-45 mph , slower or faster the handling feels like it degrades to me. Is this normal ? Im in no hurry when I ride so I doubt I really change but I was curious.
Only ever run at what you are comfortable. Pushing your comfort zone can end badly. Push when it's safe and others can't be hurt if you go down.
2010 KTM 530 XC-W Six Days
www.rockstarsmc.com
EZ300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 03:04 PM   #3
RxZ
Legal Drug Dealer

Oddometer: 1,853
I run about 6 MPH. I can go faster, but only for about 10 minutes.
Old 01-21-2013, 03:06 PM   #4
RxZ
Legal Drug Dealer

Oh wait, are talking motorcycles? I have been offroad on mine once. I hope to not have to again. My bike is a Ninja 500 with its horribly bad shocks. NOT made for gravel.
Old 01-21-2013, 07:06 PM   #5
viverrid
not dead yet

Oddometer: 30,482
Quote:
Originally Posted by RxZ View Post
Oh wait, are talking motorcycles? I have been offroad on mine once.