Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-02-2013, 06:51 PM   #1
Designer Jake OP
n00b

Oddometer: 7
Thoughts on Electric Motorcycles?

Hey Everyone,

My name is Jake and I am pretty new to the motorcycle scene. I am researching Electric Motorcycles and I was curious what experienced motorcyclists thought about them. I would appreciate it if you could answer the questions below!

First off, what are the first three words come into your mind when I say "Electric Motorcycle"?

How do you expect Electric Motorcycles (EM) to feel, sound, handle, etc.? If you have ridden a EM please share your experience!

Which aesthetic is more appealing... Brammo's Empulse or Zero Motorycles' Zero S?

What top three things do you Like and Dislike about EMs?

Finally, if you were going to purchase an Electric Dual Sport/Adventure Motorcycle, what characteristics or features would you like to have on the motorcycle?

Again, I would really appreciate your help!

Thank You!
Designer Jake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 09:27 PM   #2
MotoMind
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 1,268
One of my friends recently purchased new electric motorcycle.

I have been riding for 8 years and have owned 8 motorcycles of various types. My experience seeing it for the first time made me finally understand what people felt like when they first saw horseless carriages. It was uncanny to see the bike move without noise, without the operation of the clutch, without engine drag. I felt like there was witchcraft at work. I'm sure I would get over it, but it felt very wrong at first. I do not think it should be more like a motorcycle in sound or behavior, that would just make it awful instead of uncanny.

I like the lack of noise and lack of moving parts and lack of oil and other foul shit that otherwise spills on my garage floor.