ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-25-2013, 06:45 AM   #1
Turkus OP
Motorcyclus Unemploy
 
Turkus's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: Recalculating.... :\
Oddometer: 22
Question Some help converting Magellan waypoint > Garmin waypoint ?

Greetings Inmates

I'm working on a personal project that requires riding to a specific location in the SoCA area.
The only info that I have been able to obtain, so far, has been some coordinates taken with a Magellan GPS a couple of years ago.
I've got a Zumo 550, Mapsource and BaseCamp on the laptop.
I'm not the sharpest crayon in the box when it comes to GPS and I've spent all weekend trying different "calculators" I've found on the web, coming up with a minimum of 3 different locations for those Magellan numbers.
I'm seeing double decimals, hours, minutes, and seconds.

I need some help quickly, in simple English, (preferably 25 words or less) to convert the Magellan location to something I can enter into the Garmin or input into BaseCamp/Mapsource....

Thanx in advance
__________________
Bruce
AMA#228900/BMWMOA#147760
Ride Safe....and with a purpose
www.streetmasters.info
Turkus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 08:00 AM   #2
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,177
"Gpsbabel" is a converter program that should help you.
__________________
Not all who wonder are confused
250senuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 07:47 AM   #3
TRZ Charlie
That's MR. Asshole
 
TRZ Charlie's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Fayetteville, AR
Oddometer: 14,230
If you can save the Magellan waypoint to your computer as a .gpx file you can import it into your Garmin Device. Failing that if you have the coordinates just plug them into Basecamp or Mapsource. In Mapsource to to the "View" tab > Go to Position and plug in the coordinate. In Basecamp open the "Find" Tab > Locate Coordinates and plug in the coordinate.
TRZ Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 04:43 PM   #4
Zerk
DILLIGAF
 
Zerk's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Straight jacket memories, and sedative highs
Oddometer: 3,204
Quote:
Originally Posted by 250senuf View Post
"Gpsbabel" is a converter program that should help you.
This program is great. Easy to use. I haven't gone out to see how accurate the marks are, but close enough for now.

I have Magellan Explorist 500, from 2006, which works, little slow between menus, and getting a signal in deep bush. I have POI I didn't want to loose. I converted them to Mapsource. They didn't get converted as GPX so I am not sure exactly yet if if issues sending to the unit. But just looking at them on MS looks good.

Like to convert my Garmin to Explorist too. One reason for buying new hand held, Oregon 450, was so it could transfer from Zumo.

Haven't tried Routes and tracks yet.
__________________
Berserker
In my travelling heart, there's an urge to see

foreign lands and alien birds, hear stories that no ones heard-D.A.D.

Helmets are like rubbers, you know you should wear one, but its so much better when you don't-Me.
Zerk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014