Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Battle scooters
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-16-2013, 04:49 PM   #1
CaptnJim OP
Scootist

Oddometer: 1,132
Question A question about using a ramp to load bikes in a pickup...

I bought this ramp...

http://www.harborfreight.com/1200-lb...amp-94057.html

Now, I need to get two Honda PCX 150s in the back of a 6.5' bed of the GMC in this photo...

I mentioned that I have been riding motorcycles for 45 years... the key word in that sentence is: riding. Not hauling in a pickup. Yes, I've had Harleys, and, yes, I've heard all the old jokes about hauling them. BUT, I was not one of those hauling kinda guys. I do have a cargo trailer that I've hauled bikes in, but that is 1348 miles away right now. So, I know how to strap the bikes down, I have decent racheting straps... I'm just wondering if there is a BEST TECHNIQUE for getting these scooters up that ramp with my big burly self and my pretty-but-tough wife?

I have considered waiting in the truck while she gets them loaded, but the couch is a cold, lonely place... so, I figure I'll have to participate.

Any helpful tips, suggestions, or techniques are appreciated!

Thanks in advance,
Captain Jim
Old 03-16-2013, 07:47 PM   #2
JerseyBiker
Living the life!

Oddometer: 2,173
Personally, I wouldn't try riding up. I would walk the scoot up.

Find a high curb and back up to it. Then the ramp angle won't be as great. I also had a guy tell me he used to back his pickup into a drainage ditch and then put the ramp from the truck to the dirt. He said it was then almost level.

Just my .02
JerseyBiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 08:17 PM   #3
cbolling
Here...Hold my Beer.

Oddometer: 2,733
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z2EfB...e_gdata_player

Check this out before you use ramps

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=661436
cbolling is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 01:48 PM   #4
aj_day