ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-25-2008, 12:00 PM   #1
TexasRed OP
Not very fast
 
TexasRed's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Elizabethton, TN
Oddometer: 151
Question What software do I need?

I bought a used Garmin 176c with no Mapsource software CD. The GPS works fine and I have the data cable. I have searched the threads and haven't found an answer to this specific question...

My question is what software do I need to get to plan trips out on the computer and download and transfer waypoints?

I've looked for "Mapsource" on the Garmin website and con't find anything except City Nav., World Map, etc... I there not a basic program that I can use if I already have the maps on the GPS?

Thanks
__________________
"People keep say'n that time will take care of people like me" Willie Nelson


2001 R1150 GS
TexasRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 07:27 AM   #2
Tsumerix
Riding as you Read
 
Tsumerix's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: St Petersburg, FL
Oddometer: 134
Here you go Texas.

http://www.gpsinformation.org/perry/...ource_6137.exe


After you get this and install it, let us know what else you need.

Also update your GPS to the most recent downloads for it here by using the WebUpdater.

http://www8.garmin.com/support/colle...t=999-99999-27

Or if you want you can go here and pick the items you want...

http://www.gpsinformation.org/perry/

Your GPS falls under the misc_marine category. There you will find the software you need.

Hope this gets you going.


Chris
__________________
2008 R1200GS - Daily Rider
1971 R75/5 - Project Bike
2006 F650GS SOLD

Tsumerix screwed with this post 10-26-2008 at 08:26 AM
Tsumerix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 09:32 AM   #3
TexasRed OP
Not very fast
 
TexasRed's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Elizabethton, TN
Oddometer: 151
Cry Tried but...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsumerix
Here you go Texas.

http://www.gpsinformation.org/perry/...ource_6137.exe


After you get this and install it, let us know what else you need.

Also update your GPS to the most recent downloads for it here by using the WebUpdater.

http://www8.garmin.com/support/colle...t=999-99999-27

Or if you want you can go here and pick the items you want...

http://www.gpsinformation.org/perry/

Your GPS falls under the misc_marine category. There you will find the software you need.

Hope this gets you going.


Chris
Thanks Chris but I don't have a Mapsource on my computer so it will not install. Is there a basic Mapsource program that I can buy? Garmin does not have "Mapsource" listed at their store and Iv'e tried a web search and found nothing. Will the "Trips and Waypoint" program do the trick?
__________________
"People keep say'n that time will take care of people like me" Willie Nelson


2001 R1150 GS
TexasRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 01:15 PM   #4
Tsumerix
Riding as you Read
 
Tsumerix's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: St Petersburg, FL
Oddometer: 134
opps Sorry bout that...

So you don't have any maps (Garmin City Navigators...) installed on your PC?

If not then mapsource is no use for you. You have to actually purchase the maps.

If you have a Garmin GPS though you can go into mygarmin website and get software and updates for that product.

https://my.garmin.com/mygarmin/custo...rminHome.faces

Mapsource needs the map to run. Sucks but its just something that everyone here had to kick out and buy.
__________________
2008 R1200GS - Daily Rider
1971 R75/5 - Project Bike
2006 F650GS SOLD
Tsumerix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 08:45 PM   #5
thechickencow
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Green Bay, WI
Oddometer: 726
One thing you may run into (I'm currently stuck with it)...

I've got mapsource (I torrented it) and a data cable, but cannot transfer maps to hte 176 because it has no memory card. I'm having issues finding the memory cards anywhere so I can really only load a few tracks or routes, but have no real road data, just main highways.

Any help?
__________________
'03 ktm 640a
thechickencow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 09:19 PM   #6
mcnut
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Bakersfield CA & Sammamish WA
Oddometer: 1,360
Try this.

Here is a workaround to download Garmin MapsSource. The problem is even though you have maps on the GPS, I don't believe you can upload them to the computer. You may be left with maps on the GPS and MapSource on the computer (with track and route editing & transfer) but no way to display your maps on the screen.

There are some free maps that can be download depending on what and where.

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=294492

Bruce
mcnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 09:30 PM   #7
mcnut
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Bakersfield CA & Sammamish WA
Oddometer: 1,360
Quote:
I'm having issues finding the memory cards anywhere
Not sure exactly which card you need but....

Quick search turned up plenty on Fleebay.

and here

http://www.cycoactive.com/gps/dataant.htm

and here

Garmin



Bruce
mcnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 09:31 PM   #8
JR356
Beastly Adventurer
 
JR356's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Way out West
Oddometer: 3,537
Search on Ebay for Garmin Mapsource Roads and Recreation,just checked,there is one there now.
Can be bought for cheap,requires no unlock code and the maps are still good,but dated(2001-2003 or so)

You are out of luck on the memory cards,these are Garmin proprietary cards and are $$$
You can still get them from Garmin,Amazon.com,most internet GPS suppliers.
Do some research,as some of the early units will not take the big 512mb card.
Ypu may only be able to go to 128 or 256mb.

JR356
JR356 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 09:41 PM   #9
cwc
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: anywhere
Oddometer: 894
Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasRed
Thanks Chris but I don't have a Mapsource on my computer so it will not install. Is there a basic Mapsource program that I can buy?
This might be helpful is it still is available.

http://freegeographytools.com/2007/g...ource-for-free
__________________
Charlie

DR350 It'll get you there

My Ride Reports Here
cwc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 04:51 PM   #10
BlueLghtning
Riding is my passion
 
BlueLghtning's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Newnan, GA
Oddometer: 4,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by JR356
Search on Ebay for Garmin Mapsource Roads and Recreation,just checked,there is one there now.
Can be bought for cheap,requires no unlock code and the maps are still good,but dated(2001-2003 or so)

You are out of luck on the memory cards,these are Garmin proprietary cards and are $$$
You can still get them from Garmin,Amazon.com,most internet GPS suppliers.
Do some research,as some of the early units will not take the big 512mb card.
Ypu may only be able to go to 128 or 256mb.

JR356
Actually the OP might want to buy Metroguide USA V4 instead of R&R. MG V4 was the last version that still auto-routed on the GPS's if your GPS supports that and is a bit newer then R&R roads, plus it doesn't require any unlock codes either. I have both versions and MG pretty much has everything R&R does, but still supports auto routing and stuff and I like the way it loads map chunks (squares) vs the counties that R&R does.

There is one on ebay now - Auct# 150349231441
__________________
BlueLghtning - Follow me on my SPOT Messenger
Mine: 09 DL650, 08 WR250R,
Hers: 07 Ninja 650R, 13 CRF250L,
Smugmug Pics - Save $5 <-- Click Here
BlueLghtning is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 08:35 PM   #11
tbirdsp
REMF
 
tbirdsp's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Location: Nebraska
Oddometer: 8,721
I'm pretty sure the 176c doesn't autoroute, only "off road" or point to point routes.
__________________
Mike S.
'09 Bonneville Black, '05 KLR650, '07 Yam Majesty
AMA MSTA
http://www.reddeliciousband.com
tbirdsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 09:09 PM   #12
BlueLghtning
Riding is my passion
 
BlueLghtning's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Newnan, GA
Oddometer: 4,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbirdsp
I'm pretty sure the 176c doesn't autoroute, only "off road" or point to point routes.
Okay, wasn't sure about the 176 and in that case it wouldn't matter. I guess I'd go with what ever is cheaper then.
__________________
BlueLghtning - Follow me on my SPOT Messenger
Mine: 09 DL650, 08 WR250R,
Hers: 07 Ninja 650R, 13 CRF250L,
Smugmug Pics - Save $5 <-- Click Here
BlueLghtning is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 01:26 PM   #13
monkeyfez
Enabler....
 
monkeyfez's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: just east of center
Oddometer: 5,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueLghtning
Actually the OP might want to buy Metroguide USA V4 instead of R&R. MG V4 was the last version that still auto-routed on the GPS's if your GPS supports that and is a bit newer then R&R roads, plus it doesn't require any unlock codes either. I have both versions and MG pretty much has everything R&R does, but still supports auto routing and stuff and I like the way it loads map chunks (squares) vs the counties that R&R does.

There is one on ebay now - Auct# 150349231441
Thanks for this post! You just saved me some money.
__________________
"When the monkey tells you to give it up, give it up." ~ Bubba Satori
monkeyfez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014