ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-12-2009, 12:04 PM   #1
Frey Bentos OP
not listening
 
Frey Bentos's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Fermanagh. Ireland
Oddometer: 657
Garmin Zumo 660

Hi chaps. A few days ago Garmin kindly sent me a Zumo 660 as a replacement for a 550 that I had been having a whole load of trouble with. It seems to be prettty good but I feel it is too clever for it's own good. The main problem I am having is with a feature that I don't think the 550 had, because I never saw mine doing it.


When I am walloping along the open road, the display "zooms out" to show a bigger piece of the map. As it does this, it stops displaying back roads and concentrates on the road that I am traveling down. No problem, a rather nice feature I thought. Then when I slow down to about 40mph it "Zooms in" again and shows back roads and junctions more clearly.


This is all very well until I start travelling down a back road and hit 60mph and hey presto! The road disappears.
I have poked and prodded, looked through menus and ticked and unticked boxes but cannot for the life of me figure out if this feature can be turned off.

I have only tried it in the two days I have had it, in 3d mode. Maybe with a north or track up poi it may work b ut that is not the point.

Anybody have the same problem? Any solutions, other than slowing down on the backroads?
Cheers.
Frey Bentos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 01:30 PM   #2
Neal Davis
TND2
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: Tidewater, Va
Oddometer: 79
Still waiting on mine to get here, but im thinking you may find some help here: http://www.zumoforums.com/
__________________
TND2
Neal Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 04:08 AM   #3
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,772
Is there an autozoom feature in the setup?
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 04:53 AM   #4
Frey Bentos OP
not listening
 
Frey Bentos's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Fermanagh. Ireland
Oddometer: 657
Panic over ,people. Was messing around today and I think that all I need to do is have it zoomed in on the display slightly more than I had been. It seems that if it is about five clicks out from fully zoomed in then even when you hit 60 the minor roads stay on screen.

Otherwise I am pretty impressed with it. The feature to choose between Shortest distance/quickest time/ offroad is a lot handier to use than the 550 and far easier to pick which route to go by.

Thanks for the replies.
Frey Bentos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014