ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-20-2009, 06:13 AM   #1
vander OP
full-time dreamer
 
vander's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Barcelona
Oddometer: 914
handlebar + garmin 60 (Ttech?)

Can somebody tell me if the Touratech mounts need something (ram-mount?) to fix them to the handlebar?

I mean this:


What are the best options to have my new 60csx safe and vibrations-free? That expensive TT thing or simple (not cheap either) ram-mounts?


+ what's your opinion about Ram-mounts? do they filter enough vibrations to take decent photos (onroad, obviously).
__________________
XTZ
vander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 06:39 AM   #2
Brent4ADV
Enjoying empty roads...
 
Brent4ADV's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: B'ham, AL
Oddometer: 1,006
Ram mount!



__________________
01 KTM LC4-E
02 KTM 520 EXC
My TAT Ride '08
Brent4ADV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 07:50 AM   #3
motomal
Gnarly Adventurer
 
motomal's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Devon, U.K.
Oddometer: 163
I have the TT locking bracket for my eTrex and it has been great especially as you can leave it attached due to the lock. To mount to my bike I used the TT bracket as below as their motorcycle GPS brackets only come with clamps to fit small diameter bars (6 or 8mm IIRC).

http://www.touratech.com/shops/008/p...2c20421f9d7e21

or you could try

http://www.touratech.com/shops/008/p...2c20421f9d7e21

The rubber dampers are good but you do get less choice of where to mount it. If you are feeling rich you could have the TT bracket AND a RAM mount!
motomal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 09:45 AM   #4
vander OP
full-time dreamer
 
vander's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Barcelona
Oddometer: 914
Thank you both

Brad4adv, is the "bracket" (I hope that's the correct word) firm enough not to let the unit fly away because of potholes or knocks etc?


This thing has to last from Spain to Thailand...


I think I prefer the ram, because it gives me the oportunity to put there a camera and take pictures/video too.
__________________
XTZ
vander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 10:18 AM   #5
mcnut
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Bakersfield CA & Sammamish WA
Oddometer: 1,358
TouraTech + Ram

The TT mount comes with a "U" bracket that mounts to the handlebar crossbar, which I have never used and there for have no comment.

+1, One more vote for the TT cradle in combination with a Ram mount. I bought the TT mount with the lock on the advise of TT USA. They said that while not common there have been reports of the TT latch opening in use and the lock prevents this. That said I have never used the lock (one more key to lose) and the GPS has never budged.

Bruce
mcnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 10:27 AM   #6
usgser
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Westside WA
Oddometer: 2,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcnut
The TT mount comes with a "U" bracket that mounts to the handlebar crossbar,
That's where my 60csx TT bracket is mounted to. Works well.
usgser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 06:32 PM   #7
GodSilla
I did that.
 
GodSilla's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Village Idiot's residence
Oddometer: 7,447
+1 for the TT locking mount. It has rubber isolation built in too. Mine sits solid on the handlebar and doesn't vibrate.
GodSilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 01:01 AM   #8
Joerg
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joerg's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
Oddometer: 1,356
Hi,
Quote:
Originally Posted by vander
What are the best options to have my new 60csx safe and vibrations-free?
Take a look at bikertech.de ... considerably less expensive than TT, and it does not have all those sharp edges and borders ...

I'm using this unit since early 2006, including two trips to Tunisia and a highsider in between ... the GPSr is still alive, no scratches, and the holder has no sign of wear or tear .

A few pictures can be found on my webpage.



__________________
- Joerg

--
1990 BMW R80GS and K100LT * Lausanne, Switzerland
My Motorcycle WebPages - LED voltage monitor (aka charge light)
Joerg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 05:45 AM   #9
rifflebox
Yee Haw!
 
rifflebox's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Gold Country
Oddometer: 210
Touratech to Ram



The Touratech is pre-drilled (square holes) to accept a RAM ball. The ball mounts diagonally on the Touratech. This is handy when you cannot mount the Touratech directly on the bars because of a lack of space, bar-size, visibility, or whatever.

The RAM allows multiple bar-mounts, extensions, etc., etc. and has a lot more flexibility in positioning. A downside is that the GPS is more vulnerable to theft unless you also purchase a locking RAM mount knob. You may want to carry the GPS and mount with you when you are off the bike. Also, the GPS may be more exposed if you drop the bike.

A big advantage is you can transfer the GPS/Touratech/Ram stuff from bike-to-bike easily by simply putting RAM bar mounts on each bike.
__________________
rifflebox
'11 BMW R1200GSA
rifflebox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014