ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-30-2009, 10:41 PM   #1
nrimmer OP
Bellevue, WA
 
Joined: May 2009
Oddometer: 16
drawing tracks - google earth

I'm fairly new to adventure riding and using my gps in general. What I'm trying to figure out is if there is a simple way to draw some tracks that I see under a long stretch of power lines on google earth and then export them to my garmin. I know the export is possible, the question more has to do with actually drawing the tracks based on what I see in google earth. There's a lot of various roads under these lines that end up going nowhere. The google earth path feature is proving very tedious and every time I screw up it starts another line and it's a complete pain in the arse.

Any thoughts on an easier way to accomplish this same thing?
nrimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 01:16 AM   #2
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,281
Not a "West" question. Move it to general and you will get lots of answers.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 12:03 PM   #3
HogWild
Scott Whitney
 
HogWild's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: SoCal USA
Oddometer: 2,570
Quote:
Originally Posted by nrimmer
The google earth path feature is proving very tedious and every time I screw up it starts another line and it's a complete pain in the arse.
I do it that way all the time. I have thousands of miles of tracks that I created from scrathch using GE. I don't have the problem of screwups resulting in starting another path. If you draw your GE path the wrong way at an intersection, use the right mouse button to 'undo', which deletes one point at at time from the end of your path. Then just left-click again to make points where you now want them, extending the same path you started with.

To edit an existing GE path, right-click on the path and select "properties". With that, you can click on existing points to move them, add points to the middle or ends of the path, or delete points from either end of the path. Other than an auto-routing type tool, which GE doesn't have and doesn't work on roads and trails that are not in the base map anyway, it couldn't be much easier.

If you still don't like the way GE paths work, why not use Mapsource to draw the tracks?
__________________
.
New desert racing frontiers
It will be Diabolical!
HogWild is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 08:03 PM   #4
Zecatfish
XTique Rider
 
Zecatfish's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Arkansas USA
Oddometer: 7,919
Follow the link in my signature.
It covers this in detail.
__________________
Google Earth GPS Howto (still a work in progress) use USGS TOPO Maps to layout trails.
http://home.windstream.net/catfish/GPS


The Early Bird gets the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese.
https://sites.google.com/site/ozarkadventuretours/

Zecatfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014