ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-18-2010, 08:14 PM   #1
Bgunn OP
Mucha distancia
 
Bgunn's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Location: Rockford Wa
Oddometer: 1,313
Garmin 276C won't power up

Swapped battery and tried a different power cord. Called Garmin and they mentioned a fuse on the circuit board. Took it apart and didn't see much.
Out of warranty now. Any thoughts ?
Bgunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 05:42 AM   #2
AugustFalcon
Beastly Adventurer
 
AugustFalcon's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Waterford, Connecticut U.S.A.
Oddometer: 1,006
Why not just pay them to do an out-of-warranty repair. Last time I looked (quite some time back) I think it was about $150.
__________________
cheers... jack

04 BMW R1100S
02 KTM 250 Exc Racing


SmugMug referral code: jXF8ohDWlTm56
AugustFalcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 06:55 AM   #3
Bgunn OP
Mucha distancia
 
Bgunn's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Location: Rockford Wa
Oddometer: 1,313
Might have to do that. I had the display replaced a few months back for $160, so I was hoping for a quick fix.
Bgunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 12:58 PM   #4
RDX*
n00b
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Sweden
Oddometer: 9
How about a picture of the PCB, perhaps we can point out the fuse.

/RDX* [Kryten! Unpack Rachel and get out the puncture repair kit.]
RDX* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 07:34 PM   #5
Bgunn OP
Mucha distancia
 
Bgunn's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Location: Rockford Wa
Oddometer: 1,313
Thanks for the reply. Didn't see anything I could replace. Sending it back to Garmin. I'll post the answer when I get it back.
Bgunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 06:46 AM   #6
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,622
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bgunn
Might have to do that. I had the display replaced a few months back for $160, so I was hoping for a quick fix.
If Garmin did it, they likely just sent a refurbished unit.

I'd be calling Garmin and asking nicely for a warranty replacement, even it it is a few months out of the period. They are usually pretty good about that.
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 08:20 AM   #7
Bgunn OP
Mucha distancia
 
Bgunn's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Location: Rockford Wa
Oddometer: 1,313
Thats a good idea. I did mentioned in my email to them that I had it repaired recently for a different problem. But I was probably given a refurb off the shelf.
Bgunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 08:14 PM   #8
MuleTrain
Gnarly Adventurer
 
MuleTrain's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Portsmouth, NH
Oddometer: 280
I've noticed on mine when the battery gets low it dims the screen automatically...first time it happened it was so dim I thought it was toast. I think you hit the power button to bring up the mini pop-up screen brightness adjustment menu.

You probably knew that already but it caught me by surprise....
MuleTrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 09:44 PM   #9
Bgunn OP
Mucha distancia
 
Bgunn's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Location: Rockford Wa
Oddometer: 1,313
Good to know

Thanks for that info. Garmin gave me a different GPS. The repair order said hardware failure. They discounted their labor rate so it cost $86.00 instead of $172.00.

Wasn't able to save my waypoints, so its good to back that info up on occasion.

All in all happy with the service. There turn around time was fast and this GPS has taken some serious off road jarring.

Happy ending....
Bgunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 10:16 PM   #10
LeeU
Gnarly Adventurer
 
LeeU's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Casa Grande,AZ
Oddometer: 318
Been there, I think they know when it's a hard failure-- talked to tech services lately-- they say they only replace failed units with refurished ones from Taiwan. They only repair avionics models in Olethe, KS. All others go to Tiawan.

Lee
LeeU is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014