ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-14-2010, 08:52 PM   #16
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbirdsp
Don't get me wrong, R&R certainly has its uses - I was just noting its limitations.
No no, I was just pointing out that unlike when you have two routable maps installed they will only route on the selected map but with R&R selected it routes on the base map?

For users like me who uses Tracks only on my DIRT bike and uses Routes only in my Motorhome R&R works best because of what Bruce said and the base map routes just fine with Motorhome roads.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 12:17 AM   #17
eakins
Butler Maps
 
eakins's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Oddometer: 17,968
cn shows all the same roads as topo and more.
topo is for hiking.
__________________
Butler Maps - motorcycle maps for riders by riders -
Alaska
AZ map COBDR AZBDR IDBDR South East map
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=598717
Butler Maps website:
http://www.butlermaps.com
eakins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 12:37 AM   #18
mcnut
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Bakersfield CA & Sammamish WA
Oddometer: 1,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlearl476
I ended up with a refurb GPS, updated R&R (orig 3.3 to 6.16.2) and TopoUS 100K. I don't know if my experience is typical, but the road coverage where I was riding is about the same on the R&R as it is in the TopoUS, but the R&R has the FS designations, the Topo names, which kind of sucks when you're riding on FS roads with numbered markers.

IIRC, only about half of I-215 here in town is even shown on the R&R maps (although I haven't looked at that, specifically, since I updated)
R&R and Topo 100K are not auto-routing map sets so any routing would be via the 76's basemap only.

I think you are getting R&R and MapSource mixed up slightly.

R&R is an older map set and there is no updates for it, hasn't been for years. MapSource comes with most Garmin map products. The update you got was an much newer version of MapSource which is the software which compiles map files, communicates with the GPS and displays maps. What you see on the GPS will be no different however the user interface on the computer may look different. I'm sure you were running a newer version of MapSource because TOPO 100K isn't that old and would have installed a newer version.

TOPO has the fewest and oldest road labels/names, R&R has many more and newer (but still old) road labels. If you want the newest road labels, the latest roads and auto-routing you will need CityNavigator.


Bruce
mcnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014