ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 11 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 11-29-2010, 04:20 PM   #106
DmsFab
Banned
 
DmsFab's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Colorado
Oddometer: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by SUMTROUBLE
Well here's my point of view. I'm also a complete noob to GPS and found the unit very easy to use.

The guys @ trail tech are awesome!!!!! they stayed up late Wednesday to work out a few things and Emailed me an update for the unit.

It got me from Palmdale to Vegas with out a hitch.

Speedo perfect , tracking amazing . I ran the whole thing never looking at the roll chart. I just had my riding partner keeping track in case of failure and to point out the hard ways. I set the two engine temp points. Only saw one come on when I had the bike sitting at ide. (set at 120) just to see if it worked. There are tons of different settings those were just the two that I set.

Things I would like to see fixed.. Which im sure would be and easy program rewite.

Speed in the corner while on the map screen. Or to stay on speedo screen where all the info is and have a turn pop up.
On like the la to Vegas, a distance to finish
Larger font size
it would be great to have the track line bolder and Your travel line even bolder. It's a lil hard to read in the sunlite with dusty goggles and running 85. Be nice if you could just glance down.

This should not put anyone interested off on this unit it though.. It has SO MANY fuctions and its built by guys like us RIDERS. So I'm sure any issue anyone has they will deal with them.

i personal love it and will add a few more on the other bikes I have..


Did I read that right, that the Speedo is still in the corner when on the map screen?
DmsFab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 08:10 PM   #107
SUMTROUBLE
Adventurer
 
SUMTROUBLE's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Hollywood CA.
Oddometer: 86
No it's not.. I emailed them and said it would be a great if not a necessity to have it there.. Not like there isn't enough screen space to have it like that.. It's not hard to switch on the fly the joystick is easily reached and user friendly..

I'd say it WILL happen in an update very soon though, it has too.

If you send me your email addy I'll send you some photo's of the different screen shots so you get an idea what I'm talking about..
__________________
A ONE WAY OFFICER? I was only going one way
SUMTROUBLE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 06:38 AM   #108
ramz
Professional Trail Rider
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Salida, CO
Oddometer: 1,954
Quote:
If you send me your email addy I'll send you some photo's of the different screen shots so you get an idea what I'm talking about..
Why not post the pics here for all to see?
ramz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 11:11 AM   #109
SUMTROUBLE
Adventurer
 
SUMTROUBLE's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Hollywood CA.
Oddometer: 86
Ramz, I'll send you the photo's I just need a day to get out to my trailer and shoot some.. I left it in the trailer when I came back from Vegas.. I should have some to you by tomorrow..
Denny Thanks for the offer also.

I hope a few photo's will clear some questions up
__________________
A ONE WAY OFFICER? I was only going one way
SUMTROUBLE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 04:59 AM   #110
2strokeClay
Adventurer
 
2strokeClay's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Nashville, Indiana
Oddometer: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramz View Post
Why not post the pics here for all to see?

Yes, There were a lot of requests for pics in this thread.
2strokeClay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 09:26 AM   #111
Neil E.
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Neil E.'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Gormley, Ontario, Canada
Oddometer: 279
The manual is now available for download here:
http://www.trailtech.net/voyager_downloads.html

Looks to be a handy unit for dirt bikes. The ability to add streets in a specific area makes it OK for what I need.
Neil E. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 03:51 PM   #112
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil E. View Post
The manual is now available for download here:
http://www.trailtech.net/voyager_downloads.html
Software updates are there too. Update history short and growing as the unit evolves.
250senuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 07:33 PM   #113
tmotten
Lefthand ride Dutchy
 
tmotten's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Calgary
Oddometer: 2,455
Why no tacho bar? Seems like there is space for it.
tmotten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 07:57 PM   #114
tmotten
Lefthand ride Dutchy
 
tmotten's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Calgary
Oddometer: 2,455
Fuck it. I'll be getting 2 I think. Will just use the user screen for the tacho. Didn't realise I could use OpenStreetMap with it. If that was me I'd add their logo to the website page showing the OHV thing. OpenStreetMap is getting bigger and more popular all the time.
tmotten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 08:21 PM   #115
Zecatfish
XTique Rider
 
Zecatfish's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Arkansas USA
Oddometer: 7,922
Is there a base map in the e unit at all?
It only used OpenStreetMaps if you convert it to GPX format.
Would be better if it could use OSM files natively without using GPX space.
Then your maps could be dynamically updated as OSM gets updated and free datum for all.
__________________
Google Earth GPS Howto (still a work in progress) use USGS TOPO Maps to layout trails.
http://home.windstream.net/catfish/GPS


The Early Bird gets the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese.
https://sites.google.com/site/ozarkadventuretours/

Zecatfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 09:43 PM   #116
DmsFab
Banned
 
DmsFab's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Colorado
Oddometer: 451
So, I have a question. I read the user manual the other day and saw that you can create a track and overlay it onto Google earth maps. Now, when you load that track onto the gps, does it have the google earth view with the track shown on the screen? Does that makes sence?
DmsFab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 10:14 PM   #117
theantipaul
Reforming Neandertal
 
theantipaul's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Niwot
Oddometer: 1,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by DmsFab View Post
So, I have a question. I read the user manual the other day and saw that you can create a track and overlay it onto Google earth maps. Now, when you load that track onto the gps, does it have the google earth view with the track shown on the screen? Does that makes sence?
I had Geek over here the other day trying to do just that, no joy. I think this is a good start for a product, but there is a decent amount of room for improvement.

If anyone comes up with a way to do this, I'd like to know.
__________________
degarate@highwaydirtbikes.com

Man lived, Man suffered, Man died

theantipaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 01:51 AM   #118
DmsFab
Banned
 
DmsFab's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Colorado
Oddometer: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by theantipaul View Post
I had Geek over here the other day trying to do just that, no joy. I think this is a good start for a product, but there is a decent amount of room for improvement.

If anyone comes up with a way to do this, I'd like to know.


Hmmmmm, So you can only overlay your track onto google earth on you computer but not on the unit itself? That kind of sucks. I am wondering if they will offer that feature as a later upgrade to this unit. I really like this idea but you are probably right......too new to be REALLY good. I might just go with the Stealth and a Garmin gps
DmsFab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 06:59 AM   #119
Zecatfish
XTique Rider
 
Zecatfish's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Arkansas USA
Oddometer: 7,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by DmsFab View Post
So, I have a question. I read the user manual the other day and saw that you can create a track and overlay it onto Google earth maps. Now, when you load that track onto the gps, does it have the google earth view with the track shown on the screen? Does that makes sence?
Look at the Howto in my sigline.
They are talking about using Google Earth to create tacks/routes.
Google Earth defaults to .kml or .kmz (Note you have to save as .kml) then use gpsbabel to convert the track to gpx format.
You copy that track to the micro-sd card and then load the tracks/route.
__________________
Google Earth GPS Howto (still a work in progress) use USGS TOPO Maps to layout trails.
http://home.windstream.net/catfish/GPS


The Early Bird gets the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese.
https://sites.google.com/site/ozarkadventuretours/

Zecatfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 10:06 AM   #120
theantipaul
Reforming Neandertal
 
theantipaul's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Niwot
Oddometer: 1,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by DmsFab View Post
Hmmmmm, So you can only overlay your track onto google earth on you computer but not on the unit itself? That kind of sucks. I am wondering if they will offer that feature as a later upgrade to this unit. I really like this idea but you are probably right......too new to be REALLY good. I might just go with the Stealth and a Garmin gps
We might be talking about two different things, you can import the track and any street created from OSM then babel to translate to kml, but the topo lines or anything else from Google goes away, that's what we were trying to do.

Without that and color it ends up being a jumble of lines, hard to tell what's tracks and whats a street. At least that's as far as I've gotten.

Anyone else get more out of it yet?
__________________
degarate@highwaydirtbikes.com

Man lived, Man suffered, Man died

theantipaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014