ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-10-2005, 07:44 AM   #1
jkam OP
Nomadic Man
 
jkam's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: Somewhere out there
Oddometer: 3,803
Garmin 276c update 3.30

.
__________________
Jay

jkam screwed with this post 03-29-2007 at 03:22 PM
jkam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2005, 05:57 PM   #2
BurnieM
Nipple boy
 
BurnieM's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Oddometer: 4,104
The usual caution;
This firmware will clear your waypoints, routes, tracklogs, reset the settings to factory default and think it is in Kansas.
BurnieM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2005, 09:40 AM   #3
BeemerBill
fillerup agin'
 
Joined: May 2005
Oddometer: 611
My 276C only has the 2.7 software. If I download the new version will it also include all of the updates since the 2.7 upgrade??
__________________
"the difference between an ordeal and an adventure is usually attitude"
BeemerBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2005, 09:58 AM   #4
Kingsqueak
Wannabe
 
Kingsqueak's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Monmouth County, NJ
Oddometer: 820
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkam
OOPS, thanks for the caution reminder BurnieM.
Anyone ask Garmin why it is so?
You'd think you would be able to do a firmware update and not have to go through all that BS.
A guess based on other flash memory devices I own.

The memory is sliced up into partitions.

The firmware is basically the operating system of the unit. It has to go in a specific partition for the unit to boot up from it and run. If the size is off or there is any corruption, it won't boot.

To ensure it is updated properly, my guess is that it wipes out the way the memory is partitioned to ensure the firmware fits properly and goes on a clean slate. This of course will wipe out whatever you have stored in the memory.
Kingsqueak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2005, 10:37 AM   #5
johnlt
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Location: Green Valley, AZ
Oddometer: 582
My guess is that you can download all your routes and waypoints etc. to your Mapsource on your PC then do the firmware update. When complete, you can upload those same routes and waypoints back to your unit.
__________________
Johnlt
2009 BMW R1200 GS Adventure
2000 Suzuki DR200
1975 BMW R75/6
Yamaha WR250R
johnlt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2005, 11:32 AM   #6
Kaumajet
H.I.D. Positive
 
Kaumajet's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Ottawa
Oddometer: 10,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeemerBill
My 276C only has the 2.7 software. If I download the new version will it also include all of the updates since the 2.7 upgrade??
Yes it will.

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnlt
My guess is that you can download all your routes and waypoints etc. to your Mapsource on your PC then do the firmware update. When complete, you can upload those same routes and waypoints back to your unit.
Yes.
__________________
"I understand the dilemma. Correct spelling takes time that could be spent licking the windows on the short bus." mac62

"There is just something special about a stripper with a tail" ilmostro
Kaumajet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014