ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-06-2011, 08:16 AM   #1
wonderings OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Oddometer: 920
not enough memory?

I have a Zumo 550 and am having trouble with it loading a trip. I get this message when I say "go" for the route I created in basecamp. Its a 4500 kms trip.


Now right now I have the 2009 maps still on the Zumo, but have the latest 2012 update completely on an SD card. Is this problem being caused by the Zumo itself being full? Would getting rid of the 2009 maps clear this problem up?

If so, how do I safely delete the 2009 maps but keep everything else in tact?
__________________
“If you are neutral in situations of injustice, you have chosen the side of the oppressor. If an elephant has its foot on the tail of a mouse
and you say that you are neutral, the mouse will not appreciate your
neutrality.” Bishop Desmond Tutu
2010 GSA

wonderings screwed with this post 06-06-2011 at 08:27 AM
wonderings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 09:45 AM   #2
SnowMule
[angry moth noises]
 
SnowMule's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: I LIVE IN A GIANT BUCKET
Oddometer: 17,860
Break the route up into a few smaller ones.
__________________
Spewer of the poignant non sequitur
SnowMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 09:51 AM   #3
Callahan
Beastly Adventurer
 
Callahan's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Pacific Rim
Oddometer: 1,174
Please post your solution once you figure one out.
Callahan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 10:02 AM   #4
dhillr
Beastly Adventurer
 
dhillr's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: TN
Oddometer: 1,602
Not sure if you've already tried this or not but you could delete some of your old tracks, waypoints and favorites....or just move them to your laptop.

If you have the full 2012 update, I would delete the 2009 map file and move the 2012 data to the unit internal memory. Maps tend to run a lot slower when being read off the SD card. Works OK....just slower.

How may waypoints did your route include?? Sounds like you may have just exceeded the waypoint limit for the 550. If I remember correctly it will only allow 500 waypoints to be loaded for one track.

Most of us 550 users have encountered similar problems. In the past I've solved this by breaking my track up into two or three sections.
dhillr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 10:26 AM   #5
Twohondas
Beastly Adventurer
 
Twohondas's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: San Diego
Oddometer: 1,159
As mentioned above - most likely #of waypoints in your route is the issue.

I always break mine into daily routes/options anyway so that the ETA function is actually useful. Also I only load a couple of routes into memory at a time and just leave the others in standbye on the Zumo drive. I also do not load all my separate potential favorites/waypoints into memory. Again I just import on the unit from the drive when I need them or after a couple of days.

Your archived "tracks" should not take up much room so I would not delete them unless you have already downloaded them into a Mapsource file.

Twohondas screwed with this post 06-06-2011 at 10:31 AM
Twohondas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 10:31 AM   #6
wonderings OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Oddometer: 920
There are only 4 way points. I use the route to get me where I am going as I see it right now, but that usually changes if something catches my eye and I end up somewhere completely different. The joys of traveling solo.

I have about 15 places saved in favorites and only 4 other routes programmed in. One route is a large one, alaska and back, so 15,000 km give or take. Does just having this take of memory even if its not using the route?
__________________
“If you are neutral in situations of injustice, you have chosen the side of the oppressor. If an elephant has its foot on the tail of a mouse
and you say that you are neutral, the mouse will not appreciate your
neutrality.” Bishop Desmond Tutu
2010 GSA
wonderings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 10:46 AM   #7
Twohondas
Beastly Adventurer
 
Twohondas's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: San Diego
Oddometer: 1,159
Try it without the long Alaska route loaded into memory. You can always load it back in when you need it. I just don't like all the clutter of extra routes/favorites on my unit. You can just leave them on the Zumo drive/SD card and just import them to memory (load data with tools) when you need them.
Twohondas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 11:06 AM   #8
SnowMule
[angry moth noises]
 
SnowMule's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: I LIVE IN A GIANT BUCKET
Oddometer: 17,860
The unit's out of memory, not out of space on the card.
__________________
Spewer of the poignant non sequitur
SnowMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 11:48 AM   #9
tbirdsp
REMF
 
tbirdsp's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Location: Nebraska
Oddometer: 8,654
Just a thought here, I may be wrong: Even if the route you created is within the waypoint/via point limits for a route in your unit, one that long may exceed the capability to store "shaping points" (what the unit uses to create a turn that you don't have a via point at).
__________________
Mike S.
'09 Bonneville Black, '05 KLR650
AMA MSTA
http://www.reddeliciousband.com
tbirdsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 06:42 AM   #10
wonderings OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Oddometer: 920
I am just breaking the trip up into different routes, which works for me. Thanks for the help all
__________________
“If you are neutral in situations of injustice, you have chosen the side of the oppressor. If an elephant has its foot on the tail of a mouse
and you say that you are neutral, the mouse will not appreciate your
neutrality.” Bishop Desmond Tutu
2010 GSA
wonderings is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014