ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Fluff > Shiny things
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 83 votes, 4.78 average. Display Modes
Old 09-09-2011, 04:16 PM   #331
Geek OP
oot & aboot
 
Geek's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: 8000ft, Twin Spruce Gap, Colorado
Oddometer: 29,685
The $800 was just the year's registration.
Throw in another $3000 for sales tax and it was an expensive day.

I coulda bought another dirtbike with the amount it costs to register this thing
Geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 04:25 PM   #332
Geek OP
oot & aboot
 
Geek's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: 8000ft, Twin Spruce Gap, Colorado
Oddometer: 29,685
I was curious so I did some digging and found a study:

Vehicle registration comparison: 2005 Toyota Camry registration in 2006

CALIFORNIA
$ 383.00

COLORADO
$ 269.50

OREGON
$ 27.00

SOUTH CAROLINA
$ 12.00


...where you really start to get screwed in Colorado (and perhaps other states?) is when a vehicle is over a certain weight there is a charge per pound


I think I'll move to South Carolina
Geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 04:33 PM   #333
Geek OP
oot & aboot
 
Geek's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: 8000ft, Twin Spruce Gap, Colorado
Oddometer: 29,685
Found one more...

2008: Comparison of registration fees for a 2007 Toyota Camry MSRP $22k



I was surprised to see mississippi in second place!

Remind me not to move to Rhode Island
Geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 04:34 PM   #334
Geek OP
oot & aboot
 
Geek's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: 8000ft, Twin Spruce Gap, Colorado
Oddometer: 29,685
Quote:
Originally Posted by geode View Post
we pay the 5% sales tax based on the selling price
8.4 % here in Boulder County
Geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 04:34 PM   #335
ian408
Oh?
 
ian408's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Oddometer: 13,777
California has a weight charge that applies to vehicles in the "commercial" class. Commercial includes pickup trucks but you can have them re-assigned to non-commercial class by adding a camper shell.

Can you do the same in CO if you prove that your Sprinter is a recreational vehicle?
ian408 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 04:43 PM   #336
Geek OP
oot & aboot
 
Geek's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: 8000ft, Twin Spruce Gap, Colorado
Oddometer: 29,685
Quote:
Originally Posted by geode View Post
The truck I bought had been registered as a commercial truck. Town clerk asked me how I wanted to register it, I said as a personal vehicle or as an RV. She said okay and clicked the personal vehicle box on their form and sent me out with regular plates. No fuss / no muss. She even had the old title and registration inn her hand and knew it had been a commercial vehicle.

You got a good clerk! Mine looked at my signature and said "does that say Ed or Edward because if it says Ed you are going to have to fill out another form because your driver's license says Edward.."

"Have you had the vehicle weighed?"
"uh.. as a matter of fact I have..."
"good because I need a scale certificate"
"here.. (handing it to her). Out of curiosity... it is a brand new Mercedes van. It has the vehicle weight stamped inside the door on the placard with the GVW.. couldn't you use that number?"
"No.. I have to have a scale certificate".

I bit my tongue thinking to myself "I could have weighed any vehicle on that paper.. it doesn't have any identifiers on it"....




Geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 01:46 AM   #337
Mr. J
Banned
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: northeast coast
Oddometer: 9,655
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geek View Post
Found one more...

2008: Comparison of registration fees for a 2007 Toyota Camry MSRP $22k



I was surprised to see mississippi in second place!

Remind me not to move to Rhode Island
good; no more room anyway.

these prices must include sales tax for first time registration. annual, or biannual re-up is only about 60$. if you have to ask how much dock space is, you can't afford the yacht

Mr. J screwed with this post 09-10-2011 at 08:41 AM
Mr. J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 07:13 AM   #338
Sludge
Waiting for the snow
 
Sludge's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Edwards CO
Oddometer: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geek View Post
8.4 % here in Boulder County
Since you bought it out of state, you should have only paid 2.9% state tax, not state and county.
__________________


sludge81.smugmug.com

VMRG member :http://vailmountainrescue.org/
Sludge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 07:17 AM   #339
koncha
.
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Oddometer: 10,040
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. J View Post
good; no more room anyway.

these prices must include sales tax for first time registration. annual, or biannual re-up is only about 60$. if you have to ask how much dock space is, you can't afford the yatch
In Indiana, you pay yearly excise tax on top of the one-time sales tax.

I pay a little over $500 a year for a 2006 Sienna and a 2010 Fusion. It goes down each year as the vehicles age.
koncha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 01:28 PM   #340
Gummee!
That's MR. Toothless
 
Gummee!'s Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: NoVA for now...
Oddometer: 27,459
Quote:
Originally Posted by ian408 View Post
California.
I'll bet VA too

M

edited to add: the registration fees on Geek's chart include personal property taxes? That's where they get ya in these parts.
__________________
I'm a cyclist that rides motos, not a moto rider that rides bicycles.
Gummee! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 02:19 PM   #341
Geek OP
oot & aboot
 
Geek's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: 8000ft, Twin Spruce Gap, Colorado
Oddometer: 29,685
So back to work on the Adventure Van today.

I went after my stereo head unit and did a small hack on it for what I hope is the last time.

Out of the box the AVIC-Z130BT has some annoying "nanny" habits.

One feature I've touched on before, is that it auto-turns on and auto-turns off when you start your car.
I wanted to be able turn the stereo on or off any time I feel like so I had hooked up a switch to do that.

Another feature was the "reverse gear detection" that automatically put the rearview camera on when you put it in reverse. I wanted to be able to get full screen reverse instantly at any time so I hooked that up to a switch too...

The other was the auto on/off of the camera. I wanted to be able to put power to my camera any time I wanted (whether using it or not) because it has heated glass for defrosting so I'd like to be able to leave it on while driving to thaw out the lense if ice covered (but still be able to use the stereo/nav).

So 3 toggle switches were hooked up (temporarily .. old ones I had in my tool box).

In the photo below you can see the temporary switches hanging out to the right of the steering wheel/left of the ignition key:



Today I decided to mount the toggle's I had ordered. Originally I was going to mount them to the left of the hazard light switch in that nice blank panel (i.e to the right of the gear shift) but once I took it all apart it turned out that entire panel is one piece (it looks like it is 3 pieces) and the entire thing is circuit board backed with a push button membrane. Looks expensive to fix if I didn't like the results

So instead I mounted them in the switch blanks to the right of the wheel.

Top toggle switch turns radio off and on.
Bottom row: left switch = Reverse toggle for camera
right switch =camera off and on.



I chose amber LEDs to match the instruments.

In the process of doing all of this.. I got to find out where the radio's fuse is as one small slip meant everything stopped working

It is number 10 by the driver's left knee


Geek screwed with this post 09-10-2011 at 02:35 PM
Geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 02:21 PM   #342
Geek OP
oot & aboot
 
Geek's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: 8000ft, Twin Spruce Gap, Colorado
Oddometer: 29,685
A thought occurred to me when I popped the fuse...

Since I had put the seat swivels in the van.. the stock tool kit in the van is no longer capable of removing the driver's seat...



why is that important? Well.. if for some reason you need access to any of this while on the road... (and it looks like the huge-honking master fuse is under there)



...then you better be able to get to it.

I added the tools required to my onboard toolkit.

Geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 02:27 PM   #343
Geek OP
oot & aboot
 
Geek's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: 8000ft, Twin Spruce Gap, Colorado
Oddometer: 29,685
And now on to today's stereo hack.

The AVIC-Z130BT's BIGGEST annoyance is its safety feature that detects if you are moving and disables all the functions it feels are unsafe.

Some of this I can appreciate (like the ability to watch a movie) but some of it is simply unacceptable like one we ran into the other day.. you can NOT enter a destination in the GPS while moving.

Well what if my passenger is using the GPS while I'm driving? Cheryl & I had to pull over to put in the destination - something that could have safely been inputted by her while moving.

x 10e23

So.... hacking to the rescue!

It turns out that there is a certain wire.. that if you move it to a different hole and ground it along with the parking brake wire.. it completely bypasses all the nanny-bullshit.







hey.. that wasn't in there before...






and voila!


Here's another example of this nanny-crap. If the van is moving, every one of these settings options are disabled except for the top two right ones. Well what if I want to turn the screen brightness down at night because it is bugging me? You give me access to my crossover control on my subwoofer while I'm driving but you don't give me access to my screen brightness or my navigation configuration? Argh.

/rant



Anyways.. all better now

btw.. this head unit has more connectors that the majority of motherboards I work on these days




p.s. pioneer owes me 25 cents for a bandaid. I poked myself under the finger nail while trying to release that yellow wire...
which, btw, don't even bother to try unless you have a super fine dental pick.

Geek screwed with this post 09-10-2011 at 02:44 PM
Geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 02:33 PM   #344
Geek OP
oot & aboot
 
Geek's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: 8000ft, Twin Spruce Gap, Colorado
Oddometer: 29,685
I'm spending the rest of the day cleaning the garage (looks like a bomb went off due to all the projects) and then tomorrow it is back to the sound insulation.

Geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 02:44 PM   #345
ian408
Oh?
 
ian408's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Oddometer: 13,777
The nanny functions are a real pain. Thankfully, the Kenwood offers a similar ground wire trick--that's the unit I have installed. The GPS has some nanny stuff as well but it's configurable.

Anxious to see how the rest of your audio stuff goes.
ian408 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014