ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 249 votes, 4.89 average. Display Modes
Old 03-07-2012, 12:57 PM   #2431
marco polo
Studly Adventurer
 
marco polo's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: Alexandria VA and Ottawa, Canada
Oddometer: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by bighopper View Post
Just took the leap & ordered a Montana 650 @ $499.95cdn from GPSCITY, I am hoping this wasn't a mistake with some of the troubles I see people are having...time will tell.

I wouldn't sweat it at all, especially the discussion of troubles related to installing Beta versions of the unit's firmware. Just stick to the official release firmware (check it online with Garmin's WebUpdater) and you should be fine.
marco polo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 01:32 PM   #2432
spyderryder
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Oddometer: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
The Montana's seem to have an inordinate amount of "drift" when stationary. But, since you are in North Up & Automotive Mode the map should not be flipping around - just your cursor. In Track Up, the map will be flipping around when you are stationary - as you would expect.

As one reference point, on my Montana in North Up the map does not flip around - just the cursor.

Cheers,
Oops, meant track up. Seems strange to me. Don't remember my Zumo or a 378 doing the flips on track up when stationary
spyderryder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 01:35 PM   #2433
spyderryder
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Oddometer: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
The Montana's seem to have an inordinate amount of "drift" when stationary. But, since you are in North Up & Automotive Mode the map should not be flipping around - just your cursor. In Track Up, the map will be flipping around when you are stationary - as you would expect.

As one reference point, on my Montana in North Up the map does not flip around - just the cursor.

Cheers,
Would WAAS reduce the drift and the flips?
spyderryder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 03:30 PM   #2434
TowPro
Getting there
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Compass PA
Oddometer: 3,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by spyderryder View Post
Would WAAS reduce the drift and the flips?
Other GPS's used something called Pinning to prevent jumps while sitting still.

But I thought automotive was track up, and north up was just that. Mine is out on the bike so I can't look at it right now.
Something else I miss from my Delorme is when you zoomed out to a certain point, it always switched to north up.
__________________
2014 R1200GS - My Naked Street Touring Bike
2000 KTM LC4 640 E - For everything else
TowPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 04:13 PM   #2435
BobM
DualSport
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: Burlington, ON or Tucson, AZ
Oddometer: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by towpro View Post
... Something else I miss from my Delorme is when you zoomed out to a certain point, it always switched to north up.
The Garmin 60CSx was the same. It had an additional setting when you selected between North Up or Track Up. With Track Up you then specify the Zoom Level at which the change takes place. Zoom in closer and you are in Track Up, Zoom Out and you have North Up.

I relied on this setting a lot and have requested Garmin to consider it for future release.

I have a simple principle with newer model GPS's. They should have EVERY feature of my existing one, plus more :-)
BobM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 05:28 PM   #2436
rickcj7
Gnarly Adventurer
 
rickcj7's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Hollidaysburg PA
Oddometer: 467
Is there a setting for the map to come on automatically after a set time? like the Nuvis do, my gps just shows the main menu untill you push the map icon.
rickcj7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 08:10 PM   #2437
EmmEff
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Innisfil, Ontario, Canada
Oddometer: 1,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobM View Post
I have a simple principle with newer model GPS's. They should have EVERY feature of my existing one, plus more :-)
This is something I don't understand about Garmin either... how can they remove functionality on new(er) model GPSes?
__________________
2001 F650GS Dakar
2008 DR-Z 400S
EmmEff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 08:31 PM   #2438
Pete O Static
Adventure Seeker
 
Pete O Static's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: The Great White North
Oddometer: 568
Yes, it was Raytech that I was dealing with. Another inmate was also having the same issue with them at that time also. Perhaps it was isolated. I hope so.
__________________
"The trouble with quotes on the Internet is that you don't really know if they are accurate" - Thomas Edison-
Pete O Static is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 08:47 PM   #2439
Pete O Static
Adventure Seeker
 
Pete O Static's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: The Great White North
Oddometer: 568
Quote:
Originally Posted by EmmEff View Post
This is something I don't understand about Garmin either... how can they remove functionality on new(er) model GPSes?
I actually wish Garmin would drop more of the features or functionality and focus more on developing a stable, reliable navigation platform.

I would rather be able to have more control over routing, converting tracks to useable routes, either on or off road, touch screens that work and a firmware that is stable. I don't care much about picture viewers, audio books or mp3 players or on what day I am most likely to catch a fish.

I still get routed to a gas station only to end up at the town library which has been standing at that location since 1890. Once they have the basics mastered, then perhaps they can start adding features and more functions.

Having said that, I like the Montana so much more than any of the other Garmin units I have had on my bike but they all have suffered from the same common denominator.
__________________
"The trouble with quotes on the Internet is that you don't really know if they are accurate" - Thomas Edison-

Pete O Static screwed with this post 03-07-2012 at 08:54 PM
Pete O Static is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 09:56 PM   #2440
EmmEff
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Innisfil, Ontario, Canada
Oddometer: 1,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete O Static View Post
I actually wish Garmin would drop more of the features or functionality and focus more on developing a stable, reliable navigation platform.

I would rather be able to have more control over routing, converting tracks to useable routes, either on or off road, touch screens that work and a firmware that is stable. I don't care much about picture viewers, audio books or mp3 players or on what day I am most likely to catch a fish.
I certainly can't argue there.

Quote:
I still get routed to a gas station only to end up at the town library which has been standing at that location since 1890. Once they have the basics mastered, then perhaps they can start adding features and more functions.
To be fair, this is probably more of an issue of the map data (which they license from another vendor), rather than a routing problem.
__________________
2001 F650GS Dakar
2008 DR-Z 400S
EmmEff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 05:29 AM   #2441
Pete O Static
Adventure Seeker
 
Pete O Static's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: The Great White North
Oddometer: 568
Yes, you are right. I believe Navteq does the mapping and this issue has been consistent in all the Garmin units I have owned in the past, which also tells me it is due to the maps. However, at the end of the day, I paid Garmin a handsome sum to do one thing, provide navigation assistance to where I asked and not to the town library. That should above all else, be the primary purpose of a GPS.
__________________
"The trouble with quotes on the Internet is that you don't really know if they are accurate" - Thomas Edison-
Pete O Static is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 07:06 AM   #2442
Riteris
Dessert Runner
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: A place many ADV Riders fear: The Nation's Capital
Oddometer: 2,866
I get the feeling Garmin likes to use Navteq as a scapegoat for a lot of their programming errors.


Since this issue has come up, I have some questions. Does anyone know how Navteq updates their mapping? How do they do it? How often? Is it down intensively in certain areas awhile other are neglected? Do they just look at the 1968 edition of the World Book Encyclopedia or do they have other methods?
__________________
Chris

I am taking the advice of all those people that told me, "Hey kid, why don't you go play in traffic!"
Riteris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 07:26 AM   #2443
WoodButcher
Beastly Adventurer
 
WoodButcher's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Oddometer: 2,041
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riteris View Post
I get the feeling Garmin likes to use Navteq as a scapegoat for a lot of their programming errors.


Since this issue has come up, I have some questions. Does anyone know how Navteq updates their mapping? How do they do it? How often? Is it down intensively in certain areas awhile other are neglected? Do they just look at the 1968 edition of the World Book Encyclopedia or do they have other methods?
Use this page to report it to Garmin. They pass it to Navteq. If nobody reports it, it doesn't get fixed. https://my.garmin.com/mapErrors/report.faces
__________________
Rusty

2009 BMW R1200GS Adventure
1999 DR650
WoodButcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 09:04 AM   #2444
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by WoodButcher View Post
Use this page to report it to Garmin. They pass it to Navteq. If nobody reports it, it doesn't get fixed. https://my.garmin.com/mapErrors/report.faces


I've noticed that in the last few CNNA updates many POI's in various locations are shifted out of position - sometimes up to 200meters down the street. I usually report these and I also send a [nice] message to Garmin.com/ideas that the map data is what makes their units valuable to me - bad map data means I look to other products for my navigation needs.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 09:07 AM   #2445
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickcj7 View Post
Is there a setting for the map to come on automatically after a set time? like the Nuvis do, my gps just shows the main menu untill you push the map icon.
Nope. You have to push the button.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014