ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-14-2012, 12:20 PM   #3271
Seth S
Safari Scramble!!!!!
 
Seth S's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: sanity?
Oddometer: 4,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by andykeck View Post
Well, that's why I'm wondering if my regulator is not acting the way it should. If I let the fuel pump prime, then screw with my gloves or something for a few second, fuel pressure in the line is down to 20 psi or less. Might make that first squirt weaker than desired if the ECU is expecting 55 psi.

Fuel regulators can certainely fail and usually fail in the form of dumping too much pressure.
__________________
Seth S

My intuition nearly makes up for my lack of good judgement. Just installed my new trolling motor
Seth S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 12:57 PM   #3272
bobzilla
Dirty Old Man
 
bobzilla's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Lost & Found again in the Great Basin
Oddometer: 908
Quote:
Originally Posted by crankshaft View Post
I hate giving up Would be nice to actually turn the 690 into a bomb proof platform, just to shove it up KTM's ass
Maybe your right Aaron, the 690 with a carb could be my perfect beast
anybody remember who did the carb conversion?
__________________
Ride the DEZ
05 FE 550 Husaberg plated
08 FE 650 Husaberg plated
01 DR Frankenbike 650
76 CB750
bobzilla is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 01:10 PM   #3273
crankshaft OP
Guns are for pussies
 
crankshaft's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Burlingtron,VT
Oddometer: 14,004
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobzilla View Post
Maybe your right Aaron, the 690 with a carb could be my perfect beast
anybody remember who did the carb conversion?
Can't be that difficult, just need to adapt a FCR39 to the throat of the head and then clamp a pod filter to the other end. You'll need a vacuum pump of course, but they're well known for reliability.
__________________
Just say'IN
crankshaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 01:11 PM   #3274
crankshaft OP
Guns are for pussies
 
crankshaft's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Burlingtron,VT
Oddometer: 14,004
Quote:
Originally Posted by andykeck View Post
Well, that's why I'm wondering if my regulator is not acting the way it should. If I let the fuel pump prime, then screw with my gloves or something for a few second, fuel pressure in the line is down to 20 psi or less. Might make that first squirt weaker than desired if the ECU is expecting 55 psi.
Or your injector is leaking...
__________________
Just say'IN
crankshaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 01:38 PM   #3275
andykeck
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Oddometer: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by crankshaft View Post
Or your injector is leaking...
Nope, not leaking at the injector. If it's leaking anywhere at all, it would have to be at one of the fittings inside the tank, but I strongly doubt that's what's happening. I'm nearly certain that the regulator bleeds off the pressure when the pump's not running. I can't find anyone to confirm or deny if that's the expected behavior or not.
andykeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 01:52 PM   #3276
Seth S
Safari Scramble!!!!!
 
Seth S's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: sanity?
Oddometer: 4,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by andykeck View Post
Nope, not leaking at the injector. If it's leaking anywhere at all, it would have to be at one of the fittings inside the tank, but I strongly doubt that's what's happening. I'm nearly certain that the regulator bleeds off the pressure when the pump's not running. I can't find anyone to confirm or deny if that's the expected behavior or not.
In a car you have a fuel pressure regulator and a fuel check valve. The pressure regulator should limit the max pressure while the bike is running and should not bleed off pressure when it is not running. The check valve on the car is there to prevent fuel from running back to the tank which reduces the cranking time the next time you start the car. I do not know if the 690 has a check valve.
__________________
Seth S

My intuition nearly makes up for my lack of good judgement. Just installed my new trolling motor
Seth S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 02:08 PM   #3277
Ryman
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Oddometer: 472
Faulty Fuel Regulator I Salute You!

Ryman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 02:31 PM   #3278
bobzilla
Dirty Old Man
 
bobzilla's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Lost & Found again in the Great Basin
Oddometer: 908
Quote:
Originally Posted by crankshaft View Post
Can't be that difficult, just need to adapt a FCR39 to the throat of the head and then clamp a pod filter to the other end. You'll need a vacuum pump of course, but they're well known for reliability.
got the adapter part figgured. i got a lathe
i used the pod filter in the past and the area on the 690 it sits in is VERY dirty. I mean every day the filter is clogged out here in the dust even if you are in front. i would rather try and route it back into the stock box or if not at least to the very front of the compartment where you are talking of putting the small battery
vacum pump very relliable
i think i need a different ignation probably from an exc
why the fcr 39 and not the 41
i could probably loose 3/4 of the wire loom too
that could be the ticket
__________________
Ride the DEZ
05 FE 550 Husaberg plated
08 FE 650 Husaberg plated
01 DR Frankenbike 650
76 CB750
bobzilla is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 02:52 PM   #3279
Barman
Way Offline
 
Barman's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Saratoga Springs, NY
Oddometer: 1,166
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobzilla View Post
got the adapter part figgured. i got a lathe
i used the pod filter in the past and the area on the 690 it sits in is VERY dirty. I mean every day the filter is clogged out here in the dust even if you are in front. i would rather try and route it back into the stock box or if not at least to the very front of the compartment where you are talking of putting the small battery
vacum pump very relliable
i think i need a different ignation probably from an exc
why the fcr 39 and not the 41
i could probably loose 3/4 of the wire loom too
that could be the ticket
http://173.74.246.25/munnracing/cata...TORY%20REPLICA
http://173.74.246.25/munnracing/cata...TORY%20REPLICA

Warm up that credit card Bob.
__________________
I am at one with my duality.
Barman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 03:25 PM   #3280
motoged
Studly Adventurer
 
motoged's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Kamloops, BC
Oddometer: 908
BobZ,
Don't give up on that moody bike yet....we don't want to lose you from this thread .
Ken Darvin is a local guy that used to have a bike shop and did some 950 carb conversions....don't know if he has some insight....Lord knows, he has his opinions

Ken Darvin at Alternate Cycle (not a shop anymore ) http://www.alternatecycle.com

Tell him Ged gave you the #....he won't know who " Kitty Milker" is
__________________
Ged Schwartz
Kamloops , BC


Baja '05 , Baja 06/07 , Baja 08/09 , BC Alpine Single Track




motoged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 05:05 PM   #3281
crankshaft OP
Guns are for pussies
 
crankshaft's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Burlingtron,VT
Oddometer: 14,004
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobzilla View Post
got the adapter part figgured. i got a lathe
i used the pod filter in the past and the area on the 690 it sits in is VERY dirty. I mean every day the filter is clogged out here in the dust even if you are in front. i would rather try and route it back into the stock box or if not at least to the very front of the compartment where you are talking of putting the small battery
vacum pump very relliable
i think i need a different ignation probably from an exc
why the fcr 39 and not the 41
i could probably loose 3/4 of the wire loom too
that could be the ticket
I bet Vortex could do an ignition only box for you without too much trouble. I'm wondering if the EXC CDI map would work with the 690 motor, trying to think of why of why it wouldn't work.... I got nothing
__________________
Just say'IN
crankshaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 07:23 PM   #3282
bobzilla
Dirty Old Man
 
bobzilla's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Lost & Found again in the Great Basin
Oddometer: 908
Rally replica uses a different stator and pulser from ralley replica and super mmoto and the coil is from most of the exc's up to 05

funny the replica dont list a cdi box.....must be made of unobtinium

41fcr for the carb
__________________
Ride the DEZ
05 FE 550 Husaberg plated
08 FE 650 Husaberg plated
01 DR Frankenbike 650
76 CB750
bobzilla is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 07:54 PM   #3283
Seth S
Safari Scramble!!!!!
 
Seth S's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: sanity?
Oddometer: 4,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobzilla View Post
Rally replica uses a different stator and pulser from ralley replica and super mmoto and the coil is from most of the exc's up to 05

funny the replica dont list a cdi box.....must be made of unobtinium

41fcr for the carb
thought there was a cdi box listed in the fiche for the rr...might be the same as the 450rr
__________________
Seth S

My intuition nearly makes up for my lack of good judgement. Just installed my new trolling motor
Seth S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 08:26 PM   #3284
The Letter J
lost in the 690 mega
 
The Letter J's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Santa Maria, CA
Oddometer: 972
950 se rear rotor

I need to replace my rear brake rotor NOW! Before I plunk down my hard earned $$$, can anyone verify that the stock 950SE floating rear rotor is a direct bolt on? I know Galfer makes a rear floating wave rotor, but $130 for a non-wave floating rotor sounds like a better value to me than $250 for the wave. I currently have a 690RR rotor (bent) and the 950SE rotor looks the same but is a floater. If I had just bought the Scott's sharkfin a long time ago I wouldn't be having this dilemma now

On a related topic, does anyone have a preffered set of rear brake pads (along with a part number?) I was just going to buy another set of OEM pads unless there is something that is noticeably better out there.
The Letter J is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 08:33 PM   #3285
Ryman
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Oddometer: 472
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Letter J View Post
I need to replace my rear brake rotor NOW! Before I plunk down my hard earned $$$, can anyone verify that the stock 950SE floating rear rotor is a direct bolt on? I know Galfer makes a rear floating wave rotor, but $130 for a non-wave floating rotor sounds like a better value to me than $250 for the wave. I currently have a 690RR rotor (bent) and the 950SE rotor looks the same but is a floater. If I had just bought the Scott's sharkfin a long time ago I wouldn't be having this dilemma now

On a related topic, does anyone have a preffered set of rear brake pads (along with a part number?) I was just going to buy another set of OEM pads unless there is something that is noticeably better out there.
I have the 950 rotor on my bike and it's perfect.
Also it doesn't wear out like the stock rotor. I wore mine out with one set of pads.

Ryman screwed with this post 05-14-2012 at 08:45 PM
Ryman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015