ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 17 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 05-25-2012, 11:49 PM   #1
RZRob OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
RZRob's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Oddometer: 1,452
Google Maps to Garmin - It Shouldn't Be So Hard!

OK, I admit I must be stupid. I'm definitely frustrated. I've spent ridiculous amounts of money and embarrassing amounts of time and have yet to crack the nut and successfully (consistently) take a route I've created in Google Maps and import it into my Garmin Zumo 450.

Shame on Garmin for not posting this process. I've seen lots of tips requiring shareware but this doesn't seem acceptable. I've got BaseCamp, Topo, DeLorme and every other program that's on the market. The only thing I'm missing is the brain required to make good of it.

The last thing I read said to 'create a profile in Google Maps'. Heck, I'm so stupid I can't even do that. It's a wonder I can even spell GPS.

If someone's figured this out, post it here and I'll name my next adopted pet after you. Of course I'm considering taking the sledge hammer to all my Garmin products.

CAN YOU TELL I'M FREAKING OUT?

RZ Rob
RZRob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 12:05 AM   #2
dacrazyrn
ED RN Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Oddometer: 495
TRY HERE!!!
This works also http://www.dualsportmaps.com/
__________________
Tracy E / Photos4Aidan.com / dacrazyrn.dpcprints.com / Can you SPOT me?
“When you do things RIGHT, people won’t be sure you’ve done anything at all.” God in Godfellas-Futurama
Life is Risk Management
'09 BMW F800GS-Fate Honeyed GSabelle
dacrazyrn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 12:32 AM   #3
RZRob OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
RZRob's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Oddometer: 1,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by dacrazyrn View Post
Neato, but not what I asked for.

Very simply, I want to draw a route in Google and use it on my Zumo. It's as simple as eating paste - something I must've done a lot of as a kid.

I'm totally feeling anti Garmin right now.

RZ Rob
RZRob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 01:54 AM   #4
advNZer?
Beastly Adventurer
 
advNZer?'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Wellington,New Zealand
Oddometer: 2,802
Google is your friend


edit.....maybe not
__________________
aka BMWST?

advNZer? screwed with this post 05-26-2012 at 02:01 AM
advNZer? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 06:35 AM   #5
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,871
Quote:
Originally Posted by RZRob View Post
OK, I admit I must be stupid. I'm definitely frustrated.
Frustrated? Understandably. Stupid? Not any moreso than lots of other people trying to do the same thing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RZRob View Post
Shame on Garmin for not posting this process. I've seen lots of tips requiring shareware but this doesn't seem acceptable.
Well, Garmin wants to sell you their stuff. And with their map data and the Basecamp, you can make it happen.

Your biggest problem with Google to a GPS (not just Garmin) is that Google determines its own routing. To make that happen on a GPS, or in Basecamp or Mapsource, it ususally uses lots of points to shape the route. Also, the map data that Google uses is not necessarily the same as the map data you have available in Basecamp, or on your GPS. So they don't always know how to deal with missing or incomplete data.

There are at least a couple threads in here that explain in detail how to do this. Including a couple in the last few weeks. Do a Google search of ADV and you can find them. Lots of good information and workarounds.
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 06:56 AM   #6
Jagermeister
Funky White Boy
 
Jagermeister's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: Brentwood TN
Oddometer: 129
I've used TYRE for the last couple of years, and it works. It's not the 1-step process that Gamin should have created (still need their programs to transfer), but it works.

http://www.tyretotravel.com/download-tyre/

TYRE uses Google Maps (or Google Earth, if you have the app) to create routes. Save the routes in .gpx, then transfer them to ZUMO with Garmin Mapsucks or BaseCamp.
__________________


DR650 & XT-250

Always take the long route!
Jagermeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 09:06 AM   #7
RZRob OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
RZRob's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Oddometer: 1,452
Sincere Thanks

Hi folks,
Well I actually found something that was borderline witchcraft, but it worked. Stumbled onto this around 1AM using - Google - to search for someone that'd done the same thing. Of course this is where I originally started, but all of them involved downloading Shareware and weren't quite getting me to the finish line.

This clever guy's little script http://www.elsewhere.org/journal/gmaptogpx/ creates a NotePad file that I could get BaseCamp to accept.

Here's what I did:

1. Created my Google Maps route exactly as I wanted. THEN, I went to the bookmark that the folks in the URL above tell you to make earlier (it's a script generator).



2. It creates this script of details of your route(s) to which you Select All (Ctrl A) then Copy (Ctrl C) then open NotePad and paste into (Ctrl V). Save that files as WhateverYouWant.GPX (instead of .TXT). BaseCamp needs it to have the .GPX file extension.



3. Now open BaseCamp. This is a free application from Garmin (replaces outdated MapSource I believe). From the File menu, select Import, and select the .GPX file you just created.


4. Your Google Maps route(s) should be in a Garmin-palatable format whereby you need just select them all as I did (see highlighted blue in lower-left of screen grab below) and right click and send them to your USB connected Garmin device. It will take a few moments (probably 10 seconds) for the data to get sent to your Garmin. In the upper left corner of the above screen grab when you're doing this you'll see a faint green progress bar.


5. Next, unplug your Garmin and (turn it on if necessary) you'll get a message of "New Data Found on GPS. Do you want to deal with it now?" Select yes, or later just go to Tools (icon in lower-right of main screen on GPS)and select User Data and select Import Data, then Routes, then select all your newly created Routes and Viola!

I hope this helps. I'm not crazy about it, but it did work for me.



RZ Rob
RZRob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 11:05 AM   #8
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,334
It really isn't Garmin's fault that you chose to use a zumo 450 which doesn't support Track navigation. You also aren't using the same maps that Google is using so you have no "road" to Route on hence the need to Direct Route from Marker (waypoint) to Marker. Did you try using the latest CNNA in BaseCamp instead of the Topo map you show you are using? The route you have mapped between Mt. Baldy road and Lytle Creek is available on the latest CNNA (Barrett-Stoddard to Big Tree Cucamonga).



Blame can be placed on Garmin for not fixing the KML/KMZ Import translator. When this is fixed you will be able to save your Google Map route to your My Places and then save that path to KML format on your computer. When BaseCamp gets the KML Import working you would simply Import the KML path as a TRACK into BaseCamp. There you can edit the track so that it will work on your zumo 450 as a Direct Route or convert it to a Route is you're using CNNA.

Today, since the KML Import isn't working, I use GPSBabel to convert the KML on my Mac to a GPX file. Then I import and do whatever I need to do in BaseCamp.

Hope that reduces your workflow a bit.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com

DRTBYK screwed with this post 05-26-2012 at 12:47 PM
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 11:38 AM   #9
Spiritwalker2222
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Oddometer: 112
I haven't read the responses, but you can go from google maps to a track in basecamp.

Create the route in google maps, but make sure your logged in to your account. Create an account if you don't have one.

Then save it my maps(bottom left).

Go to my places and select the map you just saved.

Select the KML option, and save to you desktop or wherever.

Open in google earth and then save track as a KMZ file.

You can now import that KMZ file into basecamp as a track.



***edit, just read Dan's response. It will be nice once the KML importer works in basecamp. Save a few steps, not that I make routes or tracks from google maps.
Spiritwalker2222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 10:06 PM   #10
RZRob OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
RZRob's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Oddometer: 1,452
Nobody's Fault but Mine

I really blame only myself for the challenge, but I wish it was easier. I did try the the KML export (and GPSBabel), but it kept saying I had nothing to route. As for Garmin 450 limitations, Garmin told me this was a perfect choice. I guess I don't really understand the track vs. route issue you raised. Aren't tracks where you've been and Routes where you want to go?

RZ Rob
RZRob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 08:59 AM   #11
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,334
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiritwalker2222 View Post
I haven't read the responses, but you can go from google maps to a track in basecamp.

Create the route in google maps, but make sure your logged in to your account. Create an account if you don't have one.

Then save it my maps(bottom left).

Go to my places and select the map you just saved.

Select the KML option, and save to you desktop or wherever.

Open in google earth and then save track as a KMZ file.

You can now import that KMZ file into basecamp as a track.



***edit, just read Dan's response. It will be nice once the KML importer works in basecamp. Save a few steps, not that I make routes or tracks from google maps.
Thanks for adding the Google Earth workflow. As you noted, KMZ Import does work. It's just the KML Import that has problems.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 09:11 AM   #12
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,334
Quote:
Originally Posted by RZRob View Post
I really blame only myself for the challenge, but I wish it was easier. I did try the the KML export (and GPSBabel), but it kept saying I had nothing to route. As for Garmin 450 limitations, Garmin told me this was a perfect choice. I guess I don't really understand the track vs. route issue you raised. Aren't tracks where you've been and Routes where you want to go?

RZ Rob
When you purchased your zumo 450 Garmin was probable giving you good advice. Things change in four or five years - including how we use our GPS tools.

Your observation of Tracks and Routes is, in general, a good one. But, when a Google "route" is saved to a KML/KMZ file the special data used to create the route is lost and the route you created is reduced to a series of location points along the path you created in Google Maps. That series of points is coded to look just like a Track that your GPS records when you travel. When you bring that Track into BaseCamp (using either of the methods above) you can then Create a Route from the Track. This Route will have two many Via Points so you should reduce the via point count to as few as will keep your Route on the path you intended - use the Track as your guide. It doesn't get recalculated like a Route does.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 09:11 PM   #13
Mr_McBride
'The Cartographer'
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Acworth, GA
Oddometer: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by RZRob View Post
OK, I admit I must be stupid. I'm definitely frustrated. I've spent ridiculous amounts of money and embarrassing amounts of time and have yet to crack the nut and successfully (consistently) take a route I've created in Google Maps and import it into my Garmin Zumo 450.

Shame on Garmin for not posting this process. I've seen lots of tips requiring shareware but this doesn't seem acceptable. I've got BaseCamp, Topo, DeLorme and every other program that's on the market. The only thing I'm missing is the brain required to make good of it.

The last thing I read said to 'create a profile in Google Maps'. Heck, I'm so stupid I can't even do that. It's a wonder I can even spell GPS.

If someone's figured this out, post it here and I'll name my next adopted pet after you. Of course I'm considering taking the sledge hammer to all my Garmin products.

CAN YOU TELL I'M FREAKING OUT?

RZ Rob
Did you ever get your gps to route issue worked out? If not, let me know and I will help you. I have gone through alot of frustration as well and just about gave up using a gps altogether. However, I have an easier way that I have not seen posted here. I have spent countless hours working with buggy software and website apps that simply don't work or require too many steps. I finally found a process that works for me.

I'm referred to as the Cartographer on some forums. I'm by no means a gps expert, but I have a learned quite a bit over the years with creating routes from a single webpage that allows me to send the route directly to my gps ( read this as not requiring any additional steps like google maps to takitwithme to gps ).

I'd be more than happy to help.
__________________
-rodney

2012 G-Strom
Mr_McBride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 09:43 PM   #14
Craneguy
British Hooligan
 
Craneguy's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Riyadh, KSA, Cuernavaca, Mx, Houston, Tx
Oddometer: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_McBride View Post
Did you ever get your gps to route issue worked out? If not, let me know and I will help you. I have gone through alot of frustration as well and just about gave up using a gps altogether. However, I have an easier way that I have not seen posted here. I have spent countless hours working with buggy software and website apps that simply don't work or require too many steps. I finally found a process that works for me.

I'm referred to as the Cartographer on some forums. I'm by no means a gps expert, but I have a learned quite a bit over the years with creating routes from a single webpage that allows me to send the route directly to my gps ( read this as not requiring any additional steps like google maps to takitwithme to gps ).

I'd be more than happy to help.
Can you share this 'single web page" with us?
__________________
Young enough to think I can. Old enough to know I shouldn't. Stupid enough to do it anyway
'13 Duc Multi GT, '10 Vstrom 1k, '10 705cc KLR
Craneguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 10:04 PM   #15
Mr_McBride
'The Cartographer'
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Acworth, GA
Oddometer: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craneguy View Post
Can you share this 'single web page" with us?
Sure.

First off, I'm currently using the Garmin Communicator Plugin v4.04.

http://www8.garmin.com/products/communicator/

Once installed head over to this site to test the plugin:

http://www8.garmin.com/products/communicator/test/

The webpage I use for creating routes is MapQuest. However, I have not had any luck with their newer UI. So, use this url to get back to the older version:

http://classic.mapquest.com/

My simplified process is to login to MapQuest so that I can save my work ( often ). Then I click on the Directions tab. I usually enter a city and state in the Start and End forms. Once that is done I start dragging the route to the roads I am interested in. MQ is similar to Google Maps in that you can click and drag the route to new roads and a dot will hold the route. If you hover of the dot in MQ a pop-up window will provide you with the option to create a Route Stop. This will cause the waypoints to become numbered. I like to create a Route Stop at every road change. In my Garmin gps these lettered Route Stops show up as flags. So, there is a flag at every turn onto a new road. Once you get your route to your liking save it. Right beside the Save link is another link named Send. When you click on this link you will, if Garmin Communicator has been installed and your gps is connected via USB, see an option to Send to GPS. I have a memory card in my gps and this option allows me to send the route to both the gps and the memory card.

Once the route has been sent to your gps, don't disconnect your gps just yet. There is a bug in this process that you have to account for. I don't know if this an issue on the MQ side or the Garmin side....it's very easy to get around, though. The gpx file transfers to my memory card with no issues. However, the gpx file that gets sent to my gps has the gpx extension in all capital letters. My gps will not import the route until the GPX extension is renamed to gpx ( lower case ). After that all is well.

I have built many routes this way and have found this to be the least frustrating method.

Let me know how if this works for you.

Limitations: I have found that if you are planning a very long route or a route with many turns there is a limitation. The lettered Route Stops start at A and will end at Z. At or near the max number I have experienced importing errors, not from MQ, but with the importing a route from a file function in the gps. My advice here is to break the route into segments ( 1st, 2nd, 3rd, etc ). This has worked very well for me for several years.

Also, for reference I use a Garmin Nuvi 760. This gps will only allow me to have 10 routes imported at a time, but the memory card I have probably has 50+ routes that I can import any time I need them. Just simply delete some routes from the gps and then import the route(s) needed for the day.
__________________
-rodney

2012 G-Strom

Mr_McBride screwed with this post 12-12-2012 at 10:11 PM
Mr_McBride is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014