ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 246 votes, 4.89 average. Display Modes
Old 06-06-2012, 12:55 PM   #3886
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by moto-treks View Post
Sure. If you want the raw files that will require you to use Garmin's POI Loader then you can download the KTM list from my website
Do you also have the poi list of U-Haul depots?





























Sorry, couldn't resist!
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 12:55 PM   #3887
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,311
Touratech Montana Mount

It has come to my attention that the Touratech Mount for the Montana Series can be configured for either the Landscape or Portrait position. You will need to do a little disassembly/assembly to make the switch but none the less it is doable.

Below is the original Landscape setup:



And, here is the re-configured Portrait setup:



Just make sure that you have clearance for the "clamshell" to open and for the Key to be used in either case.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 12:57 PM   #3888
moto-treks
Back Home
 
moto-treks's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Spokane Washington
Oddometer: 1,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Do you also have the poi list of U-Haul depots?

Sorry, couldn't resist!


No but POI Factory does


Edit: I't all about priorities! I need to know where to get parts for my bike and where to wait while it gets fixed
__________________
Moto Trek'n to New York via the Trans Labrador Hwy, South America

Moto-Treks
moto-treks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 02:02 PM   #3889
Nata Harli
Cunning Linguist
 
Nata Harli's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Kansas City, MISSOURI
Oddometer: 2,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by moto-treks View Post
Ya mean like this

Yeah, if I just wanted brewpubs - which isn't a bad idea.

But here's more of what I'm trying to do. Here's my "Where To?" screen before I load custom POIs:


And, here it is after I load custom POIs:


Every custom POI of every type seems to load under "Extras".

What I'd really like to do is replace "Extras" with "Brewpubs" and then under "Brewpubs" have this screen show up:


Then, at the same level as "Extras" have another folder with something like "Wineries" and have a list of winery POIs under it, etc.

I'm working on a system of renaming my POI .csv files to make it a little better but, to me, custom folders would work a lot better in conjunction with the renaming. It would look something like this with "BP" for brewpub, "CG" for campground, "WI" for winery, etc. (this is my 2nd best option):



(As an aside, I notice there are a few brewpubs located in Spokane. I'm coming through there the end of August. Any recommendation?)
__________________
Latin American Ride Reports link
5th Annual Latin American Rider's Rally

No, it's not a Harley , it's a BMW.

Nata Harli screwed with this post 06-06-2012 at 02:18 PM
Nata Harli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 02:12 PM   #3890
Nut Clutch
was Steve Lavigne
 
Nut Clutch's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Shilshole
Oddometer: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Do you also have the poi list of U-Haul depots?
I guess I must still be missing out on this aspect of the KTM experience. If you are afraid of a wrench, a KTM might be a frustrating bike to own. The one time my KTM had to ride in a truck was because of a broken rider, not a broken bike.
__________________
'07 KTM 990 Adventure Long Road to Dug Bar

Nut Clutch screwed with this post 06-06-2012 at 02:31 PM
Nut Clutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 02:46 PM   #3891
RFlagg42
One hoopy frood....
 
RFlagg42's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Oddometer: 1,148
And not to beat a dead horse, but four of the holes on back are spaced to accept the standard AMPS plate, so you can attach a RAM ball to the back, allowing you to switch from portrait to landscape at a moments notice....
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
And, here is the re-configured Portrait setup:

RFlagg42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 03:40 PM   #3892
RFlagg42
One hoopy frood....
 
RFlagg42's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Oddometer: 1,148
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splatman View Post
If I am not mistaken I believe DRTBYK was just pointing out that the Touratech Montana Mount can be used in either Landscape mode or Portrait mode (if you did not want to use the RAM AMPS Ball).. Previous to DRTBYK post above I believe everyone assumed that you had to use the Touratech Mount in Landscape mode only and you could not use it in Portrait mode..
I agree and I wasn't trying to be argumentative. I use the TT locking mount, have used both the RAM ball & TT clamps, and was just trying to help out. To be honest, I just can't picture anything that would be on a bike which would be convenient to attach the clamps to when in a "portrait mode" configuration.

Eric
RFlagg42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 04:05 PM   #3893
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by RFlagg42 View Post
. . .To be honest, I just can't picture anything that would be on a bike which would be convenient to attach the clamps to when in a "portrait mode" configuration.

Eric
Sorry, I should have rotated the "portrait mode" picture. The bar clamps would of course be for a horizontal bar. My only concern with using a RAM Ball/Arm/Clamp with the TT Mount would be the weight of the combined Mount & GPS on the end of the RAM configuration. It might work just fine but I haven't tired it.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 04:15 PM   #3894
RFlagg42
One hoopy frood....
 
RFlagg42's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Oddometer: 1,148
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
Sorry, I should have rotated the "portrait mode" picture. The bar clamps would of course be for a horizontal bar. My only concern with using a RAM Ball/Arm/Clamp with the TT Mount would be the weight of the combined Mount & GPS on the end of the RAM configuration. It might work just fine but I haven't tired it.

Cheers,
I'm a dumb ass. I see it now.

RAM arm works great for me but I keep the arm almost vertical. I think the combined unit would be slightly too heavy to have the arm closer to horizontal and you would have to keep the arm clamped down so tight that you wouldn't be able to make minor adjustments. Although most of the weight is due to the Montana, so if it works for a Montana in a rugged mount, I am confident it will work with the TT locking mount.

Eric
RFlagg42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 04:21 PM   #3895
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nata Harli View Post
Yeah, if I just wanted brewpubs - which isn't a bad idea. . . snip:
As you know, ALL Custom POI's will be listed under Extras. But, you can have "categories" under Extras and you can pick the names. You just need to organize your POI's on your computer into Folders and Sub-folders. Then point the POILoader to the top-level Folder for your Categories.

In the screenshot below, my "categories" are the folders under POI so I point the POILoader to my POI Folder:



The result on the Montana:



And under the RoadFood category, a separate GPX (CSV) file for BurgersBurgersBurgers, GreasySpoons, etc.:



Yes, I do like my "RoadFood"

Hope that helps you out a little. . .

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com

DRTBYK screwed with this post 06-06-2012 at 04:34 PM
DRTBYK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 09:10 PM   #3896
BobM
DualSport
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: Burlington, ON or Tucson, AZ
Oddometer: 321
Quote:
Every custom POI of every type seems to load under "Extras".

What I'd really like to do is replace "Extras" with "Brewpubs" and then under "Brewpubs" have this screen show up:
...
Seeing as Garmin place all the POIs under Extras, to eliminate one step in the "Where To / Extras / {select Brewpubs, Camping, etc}, create a Shortcut to Extras and place it beside "Where To" on your Main Menu. One tap on the shortcut and you're right at your Custom POI Categories.

Bob
BobM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 09:24 PM   #3897
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Lavigne View Post
I guess I must still be missing out on this aspect of the KTM experience. If you are afraid of a wrench, a KTM might be a frustrating bike to own. The one time my KTM had to ride in a truck was because of a broken rider, not a broken bike.
I was jesting, of course. Often, broken bikes are a sign of 'defective users'. Doesn't matter who makes the bike.

I'm not afraid of wrenching.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 10:13 AM   #3898
FatChance
Road Captain
 
FatChance's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Durango, Colorado, USA
Oddometer: 10,205
[QUOTE=moto-treks;18850714]Ya mean like this

I have downloaded POI files from the POI factory. I have used POI Loader to create the *.gpi files on my computer (PC) and to load or copy them to my Montana to get the results you have. But how can I get this *.gpi POI file data into Basecamp either as waypoints or POIs? Basecamp apparently does not import *.gpi files.


Edit: Nevermind. I used GPSBable to convert gpi to gdb and that works fine.
__________________
Pain in the Butte Ranch
Durango, Colorado

- Calculated risk or forbidden fruit?

FatChance screwed with this post 06-07-2012 at 12:42 PM
FatChance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 01:03 PM   #3899
TravellingStrom
Gnarly Adventurer
 
TravellingStrom's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Rockhampton, Australia
Oddometer: 397
Can someone help me here with what I think is a simple issue but I am confused.

Ok, I want to import a pocket query of Geocaches and I do so. Now, I then highlight them all and right click 'send to' and I select my SD card as destination but when I am riding there are no caches to he found so why is that?

I thought by adding them to the card rather than internal memory would make the gps load faster. Well it does because it does not load the caches

So, should I forget about loading anything to the SD card except maps or what?



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Cheers
TravellingStrom
__________________
www.travellingstrom.com
TravellingStrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 01:16 PM   #3900
Callahan
Beastly Adventurer
 
Callahan's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Pacific Rim
Oddometer: 1,179
microSD card vs GPS internal memory

Quote:
Originally Posted by TravellingStrom View Post
Can someone help me here with what I think is a simple issue but I am confused.

Ok, I want to import a pocket query of Geocaches and I do so. Now, I then highlight them all and right click 'send to' and I select my SD card as destination but when I am riding there are no caches to he found so why is that?

I thought by adding them to the card rather than internal memory would make the gps load faster. Well it does because it does not load the caches

So, should I forget about loading anything to the SD card except maps or what?



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Cheers
TravellingStrom
Hey Bazza (TravellingStrom),

Not meaning or wishing to Hi-Jack your post with questions. Just felt this might be an extension of your question and hope this double display prompts a quicker answer and extra answers on the same topic.

If any of you, when answering TravellingStrom, could also extend this little bit of needed wisdom to include or incorporate within you answer ;
- what is best stored on and used from the microSD(SD) card ?
- what is best stored on and used from the GPS internal memory ?
- is there any crossovers for storage, where it does not really matter if stored on the microSD(SD) card or on the GPS internal memory ?

Thanks

Callahan screwed with this post 06-07-2012 at 01:23 PM
Callahan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014