ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-01-2012, 07:21 PM   #1
MungoP OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Hornsby, Sydney
Oddometer: 274
Upgrading computer from XP to Windows 7

My XP machine has been giving me boot problems
so I bought a new machine with Windows 7.

Question How do I go about getting my Map Source,
City Navigator and OZ Topo 3.0 across to the new box.

It would be lovely just to re-install from the original disks
with all the magic numbers but life wasn't meant to be easy.

Maybe I need to uninstall with the internet connected
so my installation usage count can get reduced by one
at Head Office (that is apparently the case with Nuance
Dragon Naturally speaking). Hopefully I can reboot the XP
and do that.
__________________
'04 DRZ-250, '08 DL650 ABS, '07 DR 650 sold, '04 V-Strom 650 w/o, '00 VTR250 sold
MungoP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 08:04 AM   #2
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,177
I believe Mapsource is not a limited install. For City Navigator you may have to talk nice with Garmin.
If you install Basecamp you should be able to get access to (see it) CN for planning, by plugging in your GPS provided it has CN installed.
__________________
Not all who wonder are confused

250senuf screwed with this post 09-03-2012 at 12:23 PM Reason: grammar doofus
250senuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 08:54 PM   #3
Myway
Beastly Adventurer
 
Myway's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Knobby country
Oddometer: 2,302
http://www.javawa.nl/gmtk_en.html


JaVaWa GMTK

You can create a backup of your maps with JaVaWa GMTK and restore these (e.g. on another computer) including unlock codes. Re-installing maps is unnecessary.
Migration of your Garmin maps from and old computer to a new one is straightforward with this application.
Do you want to use your maps on a second computer like a laptop or netbook? JaVaWa GMTK takes care of it.
Myway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 09:47 PM   #4
eakins
Butler Maps
 
eakins's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Oddometer: 17,202
you can have mapsource and your purchased maps on an unlimited # of machines but maps can only be tied to 1 gps.

can you boot xp in safe made and export your license file atleast.
then just use this ucx file to unlock on the new computer after you reinstall mapsource and maps.
__________________
Butler Maps - motorcycle maps for riders by riders -
Alaska
AZ map COBDR AZBDR IDBDR South East map
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=598717
Cycle World Adventure Rally:
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=956350
eakins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 12:55 PM   #5
BKMLWR
Wondering around...
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: North Carmel
Oddometer: 4,328
here is where to find the unlock file...

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showp...61&postcount=4
__________________
Sometimes I get off the bike before it has come to a complete stop....
Another Proud Small Scale Faker......
Praise You In This Storm
LifeSong
BKMLWR is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014