ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-05-2012, 06:24 AM   #61
Michhub
Major Medical
 
Michhub's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Queen Creek AZ
Oddometer: 3,697
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sporting Wood View Post
What was wrong with the old ones?
Mine started to disintegrate....mounting tabs broken off and cracks all around...after only about 300-400 miles...





So what is the solution for the relocated crank case breather hose mount? Buy some longer hose?
It is directly above the throttle body wiring cluster....

__________________
Mike
Reinheitsgebot
'07 990ADV '08 530EXCR '04 XR650L
Bonsai Elephant - "
Life without a 990 is no life at all!"

Michhub screwed with this post 09-05-2012 at 06:26 AM Reason: add new plate pic
Michhub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 07:26 AM   #62
moto-treks OP
Back Home
 
moto-treks's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Spokane Washington
Oddometer: 1,771
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michhub View Post

So what is the solution for the relocated crank case breather hose mount? Buy some longer hose?
It is directly above the throttle body wiring cluster....
]
When I received my new baseplate I noticed the new location of the breather and asked Chris at CPR Fab about the hose length. He said it should reach even if previously trimmed for the old mount. I think you need to route the hose between the throttle bodies. That what I'm going to try.

I've not tried to install it yet but looking at your pics I think I better have a look at my baseplate
__________________
Moto Trek'n to New York via the Trans Labrador Hwy, South America

Moto-Treks
moto-treks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 10:42 PM   #63
moto-treks OP
Back Home
 
moto-treks's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Spokane Washington
Oddometer: 1,771
Original baseplate broken

Do today, I decided to replace my original baseplate with the new improved version. I'm glad I did!



After removing the temperature sensor I discovered that the holes for the mounting screws are too large on the new baseplate



I guess it's off to the hardware store tomorrow to find a solution
__________________
Moto Trek'n to New York via the Trans Labrador Hwy, South America

Moto-Treks
moto-treks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 01:02 AM   #64
Spark01
V-Twin
 
Spark01's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Oddometer: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by moto-treks View Post
Do today, I decided to replace my original baseplate with the new improved version. I'm glad I did!

Just a small question, (because mine still looks ok after couple of 1000 km's) .
Are there small pockets made in the underside of the orginal old type base plate?.
Because my tuner made total of 3 pockets in there (1x for the idle speed motor, 1x for the 2nd valve motor, 1x for the linkage of the second throttle, this was reported back to CPR in june).
If those pockets aren't there then the base plate isn't straight on the throttle bodies (due to idle speed motor and/or the 2nd valve motor) and is put under a lot of stress.
And can cause early life time failure of course.


P.S for the problem with your new base plate i would contact Chris at CPR, their customer service is good.
__________________
'10 990SMT

Spark01 screwed with this post 09-08-2012 at 01:13 AM
Spark01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 05:27 PM   #65
moto-treks OP
Back Home
 
moto-treks's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Spokane Washington
Oddometer: 1,771
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spark01 View Post
Just a small question, (because mine still looks ok after couple of 1000 km's) .
Are there small pockets made in the underside of the orginal old type base plate?.
Mine had only the one near the temp sensor. My 2nd valve motor didn't contact the base plate but the idle motor did ever so slightly.
__________________
Moto Trek'n to New York via the Trans Labrador Hwy, South America

Moto-Treks
moto-treks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 06:38 PM   #66
Michhub
Major Medical
 
Michhub's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Queen Creek AZ
Oddometer: 3,697
Quote:
Originally Posted by moto-treks View Post
Mine had only the one near the temp sensor. My 2nd valve motor didn't contact the base plate but the idle motor did ever so slightly.
+1.....but I had to create the relief myself....Chris told me the development was done with the secondary valves/motor/linkage removed. The new plate has relief all around...sorry no pics. The crank case vent line will reach....mine was caught between the frame and valve cover, once that was free...route between the throttle bodies and all was ok. The temp sensor mount for me was a bit tight but I put the screws in from the bottom up, the holes were smallish....just had to encourage the holes to loosen up with a poker....

I also found the mounting of the filter to the new plate a total bitch....couldn't hook the lip for at least 20 minutes but now its a 'Honkin' good time
__________________
Mike
Reinheitsgebot
'07 990ADV '08 530EXCR '04 XR650L
Bonsai Elephant - "
Life without a 990 is no life at all!"
Michhub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 07:00 AM   #67
moto-treks OP
Back Home
 
moto-treks's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Spokane Washington
Oddometer: 1,771
Yeah, the new base is totally different on the bottom

__________________
Moto Trek'n to New York via the Trans Labrador Hwy, South America

Moto-Treks
moto-treks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 08:02 AM   #68
moto-treks OP
Back Home
 
moto-treks's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Spokane Washington
Oddometer: 1,771
Just about the time I decided to run to the hardware store for some bolts, Chris responded to an email I send confirming that there should have been 2 bolts with nyloc nuts - must have lost them

Anyway, a short time later I had the temp sensor all mounted in the new baseplate



The breather was a very tight fit. I tried for about a minute to get it to fit and just about the time I thought I'd have to enlarge the hole it popped in.



Here is the new baseplate all ready to be mounted on the 990

__________________
Moto Trek'n to New York via the Trans Labrador Hwy, South America

Moto-Treks
moto-treks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 08:17 AM   #69
moto-treks OP
Back Home
 
moto-treks's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Spokane Washington
Oddometer: 1,771
Breather Rerouting

You need to reroute the breather hose from the stock forward position to run between the throttle bodies.



Like Michhub, I found the hose stuck between the valve cover/frame but it wasn't too hard to reroute it to between the throttle bodies.



Even though I had cut the hose for the original mount it had enough material to match up to the new location on the baseplate.

__________________
Moto Trek'n to New York via the Trans Labrador Hwy, South America

Moto-Treks
moto-treks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 08:35 AM   #70
moto-treks OP
Back Home
 
moto-treks's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Spokane Washington
Oddometer: 1,771
Next was moving the wires located under the new breather hose location



I cut a tie wrap or two and moved the wires out of the way so that I could get the hose connected.



and then, repositioned the wires near the rear throttle body



Here's the new baseplate mounted on the 990 waiting for a filter



and all ready to go



Just need to button the whole think back up and give it another test ride.

BTW, I had about 1k miles on the filter and it was a bit dirty on the outside be totally clean on the inside
__________________
Moto Trek'n to New York via the Trans Labrador Hwy, South America

Moto-Treks
moto-treks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 08:59 AM   #71
dad2bike
Cranky Old Fart
 
dad2bike's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Oddometer: 3,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by moto-treks View Post

I sure wish you had posted up that pic before yesterday. When I put the new baseplate on I screwed up and then had to take it apart again to put the valve on correctly.
All of your pics are great!
__________________
Tom
2006 950 Adventure "Big Orange", 2009 690R "Ginger",2003 525 EXC,
To Think is to Create!
My2Wheels
690 WIKI
dad2bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 09:09 PM   #72
-GUV-
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: QLD Australia
Oddometer: 237
I have just got back from my first ride since installing a CPR filter & removing the 2nd flys (shafts still in place), mine now has the expected induction noise but it also has an annoying whistle when I roll the throttle on, I thought that it might be air rushing through the screw holes in the fly shafts so I reinstalled the screws to no avail. Has anyone else had the same problem and found a solution?
-GUV- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 10:29 PM   #73
moto-treks OP
Back Home
 
moto-treks's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Spokane Washington
Oddometer: 1,771
I've not heard that whistle. Have you tried reinstalling all of the secondary flys? You can always set them to 100% open with tuneECU.
__________________
Moto Trek'n to New York via the Trans Labrador Hwy, South America

Moto-Treks
moto-treks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 10:40 PM   #74
-GUV-
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: QLD Australia
Oddometer: 237
Funny that you suggest that, I've just been out testing again since reinstalling the flys, still whistles, it's similar to a leaking flange gasket only it is quiet during tame thottle use.
-GUV- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 01:08 AM   #75
-GUV-
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: QLD Australia
Oddometer: 237
Fixed

I rotated the rubber intake sleeves 180deg as they aren't very well port matched, no more noise.
-GUV- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014