ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Vendors
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-11-2012, 04:30 PM   #46
Humpy
love them giblets
 
Humpy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Fort Collins, America
Oddometer: 68
old & new phones

wingwing,

Awesome app. I'm going to download it & start playing with it today. Love the idea of a all in one devece, MP3, GPS, phone, weather... Reminds me of when hardware companies used to make you buy a scanner, printer, copier, fax machine when all use pretty much the same hardware. Hats off to you.

quick question:
I have a Moterola Droid X which I will replace soon with either a Galaxy SIII or a HTC One X; if I install it on my current phone will I need to repurchase the app. or can I transfer it over once I get the new phone?

Either way, it's going on my current phone soon!
Humpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 06:15 PM   #47
wingwing OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Oddometer: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Humpy View Post
wingwing,

Awesome app. I'm going to download it & start playing with it today. Love the idea of a all in one devece, MP3, GPS, phone, weather... Reminds me of when hardware companies used to make you buy a scanner, printer, copier, fax machine when all use pretty much the same hardware. Hats off to you.
quick question:
I have a Moterola Droid X which I will replace soon with either a Galaxy SIII or a HTC One X; if I install it on my current phone will I need to repurchase the app. or can I transfer it over once I get the new phone?
Either way, it's going on my current phone soon!
thank you thank you..
I've heard that HTC One X is an awesome phone but have not had a chance to play with one yet.

You only have to purchase the app once... "it" then belongs to the gmail account with which you purchased it..
..i.e. .. if you are BobJones@ gmail.com on the Droid, as long as keep that same name on your new phone as the primary account, then you can just go to the PLAY Store and install it on the new phone..

Thanks again and let me know if you have any questions...

Dennis
wingwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 08:16 PM   #48
SE Steve
Super Noob
 
SE Steve's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: So Cal
Oddometer: 218
Wow just installed this on my razzr google maps is way faster.

I used my phone in an aqua box on my last trip it over heated anyone else have this problem?
SE Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 09:15 PM   #49
wingwing OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Oddometer: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by SE Steve View Post
Wow just installed this on my razzr google maps is way faster.

I used my phone in an aqua box on my last trip it over heated anyone else have this problem?
I run mine in an Otterbox all the time and it does not overheat..
I've not tried to run it in an aqua box..
..is that air tight?
Dennis
wingwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 09:28 PM   #50
SE Steve
Super Noob
 
SE Steve's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: So Cal
Oddometer: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingwing View Post
I run mine in an Otterbox all the time and it does not overheat..
I've not tried to run it in an aqua box..
..is that air tight?
Dennis
Yes and water prof.
SE Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 10:57 PM   #51
SE Steve
Super Noob
 
SE Steve's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: So Cal
Oddometer: 218
I'm going to try the aqua box pro20 next
SE Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 06:47 PM   #52
ssevy
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Southern Adirondacks
Oddometer: 843
Wow, everyone with a Samsung better stock up on any aftermarket cases, etc., asap, as it sounds like Apple's win in court might shut down some of their models. A billion dollars in fines! I'll bet the folks at Otterbox cranking out all of those cases made a quick phone call to China saying "hit the stop button"! Of course, since those cases probably cost them about 50 cents each to make, their losses won't be so bad I guess.
ssevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 08:39 PM   #53
mikejohn
Beastly Adventurer
 
mikejohn's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Greenest state in the land of the free
Oddometer: 1,138
so instead of a Tom Tom, which android would you suggest i get , i need some schooling, i thought about a tablet, one not as big as the apple
mikejohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 03:56 PM   #54
ssevy
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Southern Adirondacks
Oddometer: 843
I was hiking yesterday in the Adirondacks, and there was no access to cell towers. The maps application on the phone showed me as a blue pointer as always, but since there were no cell towers, apparently it couldn't load the maps, so the thing was useless. I know my older Magellan GPS unit only has enough capacity to load detailed maps of a certain size, and once I get outside of the area I downloaded, it just shows generic maps with no details. I don't think any cell phone is ready to replace a dedicated GPS unit in the backcountry, and I can carry extra double a batteries for the GPS, but can't easily and inexpensively do this for the phone. Since I am new to smart phones, I may be missing something here, but it appears that no cell coverage means no maps downloading to show your position.
ssevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 04:19 PM   #55
wingwing OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Oddometer: 119
Do some more reading...
You can pre-cache very large map areas to your phone.
I've got the entire Smokey Mountain Park in mine plus most of central Florida and large areas of the desert south west..

I've replaced all my Garmin stuff a long time ago.

..or keep your separate gps if you feel more comfortable.

Dennis

[QU OTE=ssevy;19498164]I was hiking yesterday in the Adirondacks, and there was no access to cell towers. The maps application on the phone showed me as a blue pointer as always, but since there were no cell towers, apparently it couldn't load the maps, so the thing was useless. I know my older Magellan GPS unit only has enough capacity to load detailed maps of a certain size, and once I get outside of the area I downloaded, it just shows generic maps with no details. I don't think any cell phone is ready to replace a dedicated GPS unit in the backcountry, and I can carry extra double a batteries for the GPS, but can't easily and inexpensively do this for the phone. Since I am new to smart phones, I may be missing something here, but it appears that no cell coverage means no maps downloading to show your position.[/QUOTE]
wingwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 02:27 PM   #56
ssevy
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Southern Adirondacks
Oddometer: 843
Thanks Dennis, read I shall. How do you deal with the battery life issue?
ssevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 05:30 PM   #57
wingwing OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Oddometer: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssevy View Post
Thanks Dennis, read I shall. How do you deal with the battery life issue?
On the bike, I charge it as I ride.
..I also carry a spare high capacity battery in case my charger goes bad.

With two batteries, just using the gps I bet you could go a week..
..TURN OFF the cell phone radios in the wilderness..
...they use the most juice.
Now all you have to manage is the gps and display..
.turn it off when you're not looking at it.
Dennis
wingwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 10:50 AM   #58
SprocketTX
Bull in China Shop
 
SprocketTX's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Forney, Texas (DFW area)
Oddometer: 137
Went to buy and saw the 9/1/12 bit about the NEXRAD Base and Composite server being offline. Any update to this? Accurate radar is what I'm looking for...
__________________
Jeffrey
Lead Test Dummy @ Moto Adventure Gear- Butler Maps, Klim, Giant Loop, SPOT, DoubleTake mirrors, and more!
Current Stable: 2012 Super Tenere, 2009 KTM 450 XC-W, 2008 Vstrom 1000, 2008 KTM 690 Enduro
SprocketTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 01:23 PM   #59
wingwing OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Oddometer: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by SprocketTX View Post
Went to buy and saw the 9/1/12 bit about the NEXRAD Base and Composite server being offline. Any update to this? Accurate radar is what I'm looking for...
thanks for checking and I'm glad my "heads up" warning is working..

The NOAA server outage could not have come at a worse time for me..
..I'm spending this fall in the mountains of N.C. enjoying the mountains and great riding..
..I won't be home (back to workimg on EMFB) until almost Thanksgiving.

Please stay tuned and I'll post when I've fixed the problem..
..EMFB is the best and at least you know I'm not a scammer..
..who else would post on the store "stop, don't buy this"

Thanks again,
Dennis
wingwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 08:13 AM   #60
SprocketTX
Bull in China Shop
 
SprocketTX's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Forney, Texas (DFW area)
Oddometer: 137
Thanks for the update...

For those of us with pre-Thanksgiving NEXRAD needs , any suggestions on the "next-best" solution?
__________________
Jeffrey
Lead Test Dummy @ Moto Adventure Gear- Butler Maps, Klim, Giant Loop, SPOT, DoubleTake mirrors, and more!
Current Stable: 2012 Super Tenere, 2009 KTM 450 XC-W, 2008 Vstrom 1000, 2008 KTM 690 Enduro
SprocketTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014