ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-10-2010, 10:50 AM   #16
the venturer
Beastly Adventurer
 
the venturer's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: Thrace and Istanbul
Oddometer: 1,409
Lots of flags are still on the screen when I use WinGDB. Besides, the unit says'' the route shortened''
Just don't want to see the flags on this: http://ul.to/gnzx5y
P.S. Unit: Streetpilot 2820


the venturer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 11:36 AM   #17
Trailryder42
Beastly Adventurer
 
Trailryder42's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Amarillo, Texas
Oddometer: 1,054
What version of WinGdb are you using?

In version 3.50 you can use option 3 and 23 to remove flags.

Make sure the filter option box at the bottom is not checked.

Did you look at your coverted file on your unit to see if it actually had been shorted?

Quote:
Originally Posted by the venturer
Lots of flags are still on the screen when I use WinGDB. Besides, the unit says'' the route shortened''
Just don't want to see the flags on this: http://ul.to/gnzx5y
P.S. Unit: Streetpilot 2820


__________________
'00 XR440
'04 KLR650
'09 Wee Strom
COHVCO
USA-ALL
BRC
Trailryder42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 12:01 PM   #18
the venturer
Beastly Adventurer
 
the venturer's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: Thrace and Istanbul
Oddometer: 1,409
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trailryder42
What version of WinGdb are you using?

In version 3.50 you can use option 3 and 23 to remove flags.

Make sure the filter option box at the bottom is not checked.

Did you look at your coverted file on your unit to see if it actually had been shorted?
3.55 beta version. It all seems fine on mapsource:

I can see many flags on the unit screen with shortened route.
It's been shortened. The real length of the route is around 30 miles but it shows 2 miles of it. The unit says so. I think it's better to upload it from the unit to the computer to check.
the venturer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 07:10 AM   #19
krmn59
n00b
 
krmn59's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Central Texas, for now
Oddometer: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewjb7 View Post
http://www.sackman.info/

Convert pretty much anything to pretty much anything else. I use it all the time. It's great.

Drew
Very nice! Easy to use. THANKS!!!!
__________________
08 KLR 650, Gold valves in front, Moab shock in rear.
krmn59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 07:16 AM   #20
katoomon
Rocket Surgeon
 
katoomon's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: The Great Basin
Oddometer: 64
Another Tool

Here is another great tool, DNRGPS

http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/mis/gis/DNRGPS/DNRGPS.html

If using a Garmin, use Save AS in Mapsource or Basecamp and save your Route or Track to a *.gpx format. Import that saved file to DNRGPS.
1. If it is a Track, click the Edit drop down and select Convert Table To in menu selection and Save out as a gpx.
1. If it is a Route, click the Edit drop down and select Convert Table To in menu selection and Save out as a gpx.

Depending on your GPS model, a track will be truncated to 50 points on routable maps if you select "follow road" so use the "off road" navigation choice if you get that message on your screen. You can also import/export this data in other formats; text, shapefile, mapinfo file, google earth, etc.
__________________
05 Tiger
04 KTM 625 SXC (with 2 wheelsets for mood swings)

katoomon screwed with this post 09-11-2012 at 07:35 AM Reason: update
katoomon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 11:12 AM   #21
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 4,985
Or, you could just install BaseCamp and not have to deal with two or three other applications. Select Route, right click, Convert Route to Track. Done. Edit Track if necessary with Track Edit Tools.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 06:57 PM   #22
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Upstate SC
Oddometer: 8,593
Have to say I'm real happy with the track to route, route to track conversion tool in BC.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 05:59 PM   #23
gunnr
optimsm
 
gunnr's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Camas, not Washougal
Oddometer: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
Or, you could just install BaseCamp and not have to deal with two or three other applications. Select Route, right click, Convert Route to Track. Done. Edit Track if necessary with Track Edit Tools.

Cheers,
That is good to know, I just loaded BC a week ago and haven't had the chance to play with it much. I have used Wingdb but this is a quicker process.
gunnr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014