ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 67 votes, 4.60 average. Display Modes
Old 09-19-2012, 03:35 PM   #5131
scotty69
Studly Adventurer
 
scotty69's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: Ozark Mountain Highlands
Oddometer: 901
Garmin sending me new unit. Said it won't white screen or quit on me! Do you believe them?
__________________
Orchestrated Chaos
arkansas500.com
scotty69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 04:07 PM   #5132
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Upstate SC
Oddometer: 7,588
Quote:
Originally Posted by scotty69 View Post
Garmin sending me new unit. Said it won't white screen or quit on me! Do you believe them?
Rolling the dice! Hopefully you'll get a good one this time. I know it sucks when you get one of the crappy ones.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 04:29 PM   #5133
DrtSqtr
Gnarly Adventurer
 
DrtSqtr's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Ponchatoula,LA
Oddometer: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
Try this. . .

Setup -> Map -> Advanced Setup -> Zoom Levels -> Street Label -> anything but OFF.

If that doesn't do it for you call Garmin Prod Support and/or reload v4.50.

Cheers,
thanks.....
tried that when i got home tonight. no luck. I set my zoom level at 0.2 miles and only get about 80% of street names. When i zoom in it will change intermittently. 1 time the name of the road will show up another time it wont. I noticed that when i use my finger to move the screen around ill loose names or they will move around, sometimes upside down where as i cant read them. Im wondering if cn2012 would make a difference. And thanks for all the help I appreciate it...

Ill call garmin support tomarrow cuz im thinkin its closed already.
DrtSqtr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 04:30 PM   #5134
DrtSqtr
Gnarly Adventurer
 
DrtSqtr's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Ponchatoula,LA
Oddometer: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
Working OK for me.

Cheers,
not for me.....
DrtSqtr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 05:00 PM   #5135
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrtSqtr View Post
not for me.....
4.50 works perfectly for me.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 05:34 PM   #5136
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 4,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrtSqtr View Post
not for me.....
I'm thinking there's an issue with support for the older CN2010 maps. If I was going to speculate, I say Garmin Product Support is going to tell you that the Montana does not support those older maps. Even though it should!

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com

DRTBYK screwed with this post 09-19-2012 at 05:50 PM
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 06:13 PM   #5137
joefromsf
Dark Happens
 
joefromsf's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco
Oddometer: 1,382
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrtSqtr View Post
thanks.....
tried that when i got home tonight. no luck. I set my zoom level at 0.2 miles and only get about 80% of street names. When i zoom in it will change intermittently. 1 time the name of the road will show up another time it wont. I noticed that when i use my finger to move the screen around ill loose names or they will move around, sometimes upside down where as i cant read them. Im wondering if cn2012 would make a difference. And thanks for all the help I appreciate it...

Ill call garmin support tomarrow cuz im thinkin its closed already.
I don't have a Montana so this might not be relevant, but the 478 series has a "Declutter On/Off" option that was separate from the "Zoom Level Detail" you've been messing with. The "Declutter On" option basically hid almost all labels (text) on the screen. Might the Montana have the same option somewhere?
__________________
--Joe .................................... http://joefromsf.smugmug.com/

We can't crash an infinite amount of times, so you better learn from every one! (by ARZ)
joefromsf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 07:59 PM   #5138
scotty69
Studly Adventurer
 
scotty69's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: Ozark Mountain Highlands
Oddometer: 901
At least they let me keep both batteries and are sending a new unit. I have faith!
__________________
Orchestrated Chaos
arkansas500.com
scotty69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 08:21 PM   #5139
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Upstate SC
Oddometer: 7,588
Quote:
Originally Posted by joefromsf View Post
I don't have a Montana so this might not be relevant, but the 478 series has a "Declutter On/Off" option that was separate from the "Zoom Level Detail" you've been messing with. The "Declutter On" option basically hid almost all labels (text) on the screen. Might the Montana have the same option somewhere?
Keep in mind that the Montana like most of the newer GPS's are considerably dumbed down compared to units like the 478. You don't have nearly the amount of customiztion with it,
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 05:26 AM   #5140
Offcamber
Beastly Adventurer
 
Offcamber's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: New Hampshire
Oddometer: 1,474
Is there some trick to getting the security screw to work on the Rugged mount?? I turn the thing forever and it never seems to grab....I have this issue on both my Rugged mounts...

and yes I k now righty tighty
__________________
"Beer cans explode with a nice loud pop when they are hit by a Heidenau K60 at 40 miles an hour. Now my bike smells like last call..." Me
Offcamber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 05:32 AM   #5141
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by Offcamber View Post
Is there some trick to getting the security screw to work on the Rugged mount?? I turn the thing forever and it never seems to grab....I have this issue on both my Rugged mounts...
When you put the Montana on the mount, push the floating part in to close it completely, then use the screw. Works every time for me.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 05:33 AM   #5142
TowPro
I want to ride
 
TowPro's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Compass PA
Oddometer: 2,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Offcamber View Post
Is there some trick to getting the security screw to work on the Rugged mount?? I turn the thing forever and it never seems to grab....I have this issue on both my Rugged mounts...

and yes I k now righty tighty
push the screw down until It starts to engage, then start to tighten it.
I have heard (from owners of other garmins that use this same screw) don't tighten it too much, as vibration can tighten it even more, causing it to get stuck. It's only there to stop honest people from stealing the GPS.
__________________
2014 R1200GS
2000 KTM LC4 640 E
TowPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 05:34 AM   #5143
Offcamber
Beastly Adventurer
 
Offcamber's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: New Hampshire
Oddometer: 1,474
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
When you put the Montana on the mount, push the floating part in to close it completely, then use the screw. Works every time for me.

yeah I tried that...pushed squeezed, wiggled, cursed.....doesn't catch....
__________________
"Beer cans explode with a nice loud pop when they are hit by a Heidenau K60 at 40 miles an hour. Now my bike smells like last call..." Me
Offcamber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 05:34 AM   #5144
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albie View Post
Keep in mind that the Montana like most of the newer GPS's are considerably dumbed down compared to units like the 478. You don't have nearly the amount of customiztion with it,
I wouldn't call it "dumbed down". I think they've just got different strengths.

And the new ones have much better capabilities in more important ways like tracks/multiple maps/profiles etc.

And most importantly, the new ones don't use "Garmin Data Cards".

IMHO, of course.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.

Emmbeedee screwed with this post 09-20-2012 at 05:44 AM
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 05:55 AM   #5145
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Upstate SC
Oddometer: 7,588
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
I wouldn't call it "dumbed down". I think they've just got different strengths.

And the new ones have much better capabilities in more important ways like tracks/multiple maps/profiles etc.

And most importantly, the new ones don't use "Garmin Data Cards".

IMHO, of course.
Oh, don't get me wrong, I'd never chose a 478 over a Montana. The chipset is slow, the proprietary data cards are stupid expensive, the durability issues make it not nearly as good a unit as the Montana. But, in all fairness, the 478 does allow you to do a lot more setup on the unit then the Montana. That being said, I can easily get by without those options and as you mentioned, the added features of the Montana are very much welcome.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014