ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > The Garage
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-21-2012, 08:04 PM   #1
DirtDabber OP
cultural illiterate
 
DirtDabber's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Way, Way North GA
Oddometer: 7,927
Wiring issue, help needed.

R1200CLC with a Hanigan Sidecar

Problem: running lights and brake lights flicker, indicator lamp shows wiring problem

Here is the wiring diagram.



I have disconnected the harness and tried to chase a short to ground without finding a fault.

If I switch the tail lamp and brake lamp terminals on the tail lamp, the lights flicker faster due to the higher draw of the brake lamp.

I have added an extra ground wire with no improvement.

If I disconect either the tail lamp or the spot lamp the problem goes away.

Upon startup there is no problem for 15 seconds then the lights start a steady flicker about 1 second each, with the tail lamp/brake lamp wires switched the flash is about 1/3 second.

The flicker flashes the brake bar on the trunk lid of the sidecar even though the brakes are not activated.

I have isolated each harness of the run/brake and spot light and found no fault to ground.

I am at a loss and drinking beer to try and solve the problem......
__________________
.

I wonder where that road goes?
DirtDabber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 08:24 PM   #2
MeanMoe
one really mean cat
 
MeanMoe's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,852
Just a stab in the dark, is there a kasan brake modulator in the fuse box?
__________________

MeanMoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 08:35 PM   #3
DirtDabber OP
cultural illiterate
 
DirtDabber's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Way, Way North GA
Oddometer: 7,927
The brakes do not modulate. I will look in the fuse box to make sure there is not a modulator unit.
__________________
.

I wonder where that road goes?
DirtDabber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 08:51 PM   #4
Garp
Beastly Adventurer
 
Garp's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Newtown, CT
Oddometer: 2,440
Is there a solid ground connection between the bike and the sidecar?
Garp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 08:53 PM   #5
DirtDabber OP
cultural illiterate
 
DirtDabber's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Way, Way North GA
Oddometer: 7,927
Yes, there is a dedicated ground and I added an extra ground jumper just to make sure with no improvement.
__________________
.

I wonder where that road goes?
DirtDabber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 09:47 PM   #6
Beezer
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Anchorage, formerly Spenard (hub of the universe)
Oddometer: 5,540
sounds to me like it's pulling power from the output side of the flasher...
Beezer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 06:13 AM   #7
SuchesRider
Just Do It!
 
SuchesRider's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: North Georgia
Oddometer: 1,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtDabber View Post
I am at a loss and drinking beer to try and solve the problem......
Hi DD. Sounds like you are on the right track with the beer drinking..... SR
__________________
Four wheels move the body. Two wheels move the soul.
SuchesRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 03:07 PM   #8
GreaseMonkey
Preshrunk & Cottony
 
GreaseMonkey's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: The only county in Illinois with no train tracks
Oddometer: 5,266
Does the flicker change with the engine RPM? Is it a rhythmic flicker or erratic, more like an open wire somewhere?

If the wiring is in good shape and you have already checked every single little connection, it could also be caused by a failing diode/winding in the alternator. I would check voltages and just for grins when it is flickering use some jumper cables to hook up to a fully charged battery and see if the flicker goes away.
GreaseMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 03:30 PM   #9
DirtDabber OP
cultural illiterate
 
DirtDabber's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Way, Way North GA
Oddometer: 7,927
The flicker does not change with RPM.

I disconnected the ground wire from the tail lamp and the light stayed on.....

Soooooo..... I must have a brake wire and running light wire pinched together somewhere in the system just enough to feed back running light current through the the brake lights and then to ground.

Everything is run through conduit so time to dismantle the harness and start looking. Sam Adams Summer Ale should do the trick.
__________________
.

I wonder where that road goes?
DirtDabber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 03:37 PM   #10
S2P
Studly Adventurer
 
S2P's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Doylestown OH-IO
Oddometer: 674
since the tail,marker and spot are all on the same pos lead I would start there. It may have melted due to amp draw .
__________________
"In wine there is Wisdom, in beer there is Freedom, in water there is Bacteria"...Benjamin Franklin

WR 426
TTR 125
S2P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 03:38 PM   #11
GreaseMonkey
Preshrunk & Cottony
 
GreaseMonkey's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: The only county in Illinois with no train tracks
Oddometer: 5,266
If it is running through conduit, a trick is to use your safe cracker touch and lightly tug on a wire with one hand and feel it move at the other end of the conduit with the other. If some wires are binding you may be able to feel where they are doing it. Since you don't have much to lose, if you can isolate the pinched wires a firm tug can sometimes free them, or guide you to the bolt that is pinching them. When it works, it is a bit faster than disassembling everything.

Good luck!
GreaseMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 03:47 PM   #12
DirtDabber OP
cultural illiterate
 
DirtDabber's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Way, Way North GA
Oddometer: 7,927
Thanks, I have isolated everything in the sidecar harness. I suspect it is in the bike harness to the sidecar disconnect.
__________________
.

I wonder where that road goes?
DirtDabber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 12:27 PM   #13
DirtDabber OP
cultural illiterate
 
DirtDabber's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Way, Way North GA
Oddometer: 7,927
Just an update to the problem....


When the sidecar was attached the following load was added to the running light harness lead.

Sidecar running light.
Front marker light.
Front spot light.

The additional load was tricking the BMW sensors that there was a problem with the light circuit. By removing the spot light and tying it in with the headlight circuit it solved all the issues. Of course by then I had inspected every inch of wiring harness looking for a ground.
__________________
.

I wonder where that road goes?
DirtDabber is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014