ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-06-2012, 06:14 AM   #16021
Romatsu
Adventurer
 
Romatsu's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Oddometer: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by MotoBoss View Post
OK, I just bought a new (to me) 2011 DRZ400S. I'm putting several new farkles on it and have a question. Putting new handle bars on I am replacing the grips (obviously) and I can not get the throttle side grip off. I have cut, pulled and done almost everything necessary to remove a grip, but it won't budge. Both ends a hard and I can't even get a small blade between the grip and throttle tube on the bar end.

Is the throttle side grip permanently fused to the throttle tube from the factory?

Do I need to buy a new throttle tube just to replace the grip?

Thanks for the help..........................
I ran into the same issue so I just went to town with the wire wheel on a bench grinder being careful to stop removing grip material when I got to the throttle tube. It did scuff up the throttle tube a bit but was not a big deal.
__________________
Its better to be lucky then good.
Romatsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 06:19 AM   #16022
Muddler
Studly Adventurer
 
Muddler's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Dardanup, Western Australia
Oddometer: 723
Quote:
Originally Posted by Romatsu View Post
I ran into the same issue so I just went to town with the wire wheel on a bench grinder being careful to stop removing grip material when I got to the throttle tube. It did scuff up the throttle tube a bit but was not a big deal.
Yeh, I did similar. The're a prick to get off. Simplest solution would be to buy a new tube
Muddler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 06:22 AM   #16023
MotoBoss
Bad Influence
 
MotoBoss's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Mid South Indiana
Oddometer: 3,484
Thanks guys.......I've never had this much trouble with grips.

Going to town today so I may just buy a new throttle tube, just in case my grinding gets to enthusiastic
__________________
Adventure Before Dementia
MotoBossMotoBlog

AdventureRiderRadio
Donate To ADV



MotoBoss is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 06:27 AM   #16024
threadkiller
Semi-feral Pappy
 
threadkiller's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: White House, Tennessee
Oddometer: 1,773
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muddler View Post
Anyone use the SDG HI seat? How would you rate it for comfort on longer rides? I notice on rocky mountain this complete seat is cheaper then a seat concepts replacement cover.
I've had one for a year and a half. Absolutely no complaints. Single track to interstate highway, it's been flawless. Seat Concepts is good, but SDG works for me.
threadkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 07:22 AM   #16025
focallength
You're Welcome
 
focallength's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Oddometer: 4,488
Quote:
Originally Posted by Romatsu View Post
I ran into the same issue so I just went to town with the wire wheel on a bench grinder being careful to stop removing grip material when I got to the throttle tube. It did scuff up the throttle tube a bit but was not a big deal.
Thats how the factory tube/grip is. Just buy a new tube.
focallength is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 09:23 PM   #16026
canadius_maximus
Quaere verum - Seek truth
 
canadius_maximus's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Lower Mainland, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 508
OEM speedo unit - reading 0 mph

Quick question for the pros ...

On a ride a few weeks back, the stock speedo/odo unit went partially n/s. All lights and indicators work, but the speedo reads 0, and the odo count stays fixed.

I checked - cable and hub unit all seem ok - but I'm thinking cable itself must be damaged? There was no hits or falls on it ... other than that?

Thanks,

CM
__________________
By grace alone. Through faith alone. In Christ alone. From Scripture alone. Glory to God alone.

*************
KTM 690 R Rally Raid Evo 1 (and 2) Kit Build for Dummies
canadius_maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 06:39 AM   #16027
focallength
You're Welcome
 
focallength's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Oddometer: 4,488
Most likely a broken cable, ive been through 2 in 2 years. They usually break at the hub.
focallength is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 09:41 AM   #16028
disgustipated
gnardogshredripper
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Denver, CO
Oddometer: 109
Speedo Hub Dealio

Quote:
Originally Posted by canadius_maximus View Post
cable and hub unit all seem ok - but I'm thinking cable itself must be damaged? There was no hits or falls on it ... other than that?
Try repacking the speedo hub assembly with new grease. This summer I took my front wheel off at a buddy's and when I reinstalled it I used the grease he had laying around. His grease wasn't waterproof and for whatever reason the speedo assembly just quit reading mph and all that after a week or two. Eventually I took the wheel off again and it got repacked with BelRay waterproof grease and worked again just like it always had.
disgustipated is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 04:10 PM   #16029
jaumev
Beastly Adventurer
 
jaumev's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Barcelona
Oddometer: 1,471
Just finished to fix my new decal kit from Uni Racing, the bike looks new!!
I'm also very pleased with the None exhaust.







jaumev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 07:31 AM   #16030
See-Three
C3
 
See-Three's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: New Hampshire Seacoast
Oddometer: 137
Would soot build up around the exhaust valves be a sign of the valves starting to excessively wear? I adjusted the valves 15K + miles ago. I set the exhaust valves as close to 30 as possible but they are now reading 25 and 23...the bikes got around 30k miles

I'll adjust the valves now and check them after a few rides, Just wondering if the soot build up is common?



Uploaded with ImageShack.us
See-Three is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 08:28 AM   #16031
bobbed06
Cavalera Conspirator
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: That one place......
Oddometer: 1,228
Once the valves start tightening up on the OEM valves I would change them to Stainless Wiseco One Piece Valves. The Wisecos hold the settings very well and have been documented to hold adjustments for over 20k miles with no shimming required.
__________________
\/ Batch of Low Mileage (2000 mi)DRZ Parts Cheap\/

http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1009935
bobbed06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 08:36 AM   #16032
Ryel
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Ryel's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Portland, Oregon
Oddometer: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by See-Three View Post
Just wondering if the soot build up is common?

only when you are running too rich and riding too slow. needs an Italian tuneup every week to keep them clean. try freeway on ramps at full bore.
__________________
"Good judgment comes from experience and experience comes from bad judgment."
Ryel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 08:44 AM   #16033
Naq
Kitsune
 
Naq's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Philly
Oddometer: 200
Thumb

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryel View Post
only when you are running too rich and riding too slow. needs an Italian tuneup every week to keep them clean. try passing your buddy in the loose stuff at full bore.
Fixed.
__________________
That side up.


'02 FZ1, '02 DRZ400S, '09 TE250
Naq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 09:09 AM   #16034
HellSickle
Scone Rider
 
HellSickle's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Fort Collins
Oddometer: 8,886
One of the local inmates entered his DRZ into the Denver Endurocross this weekend.

While Taddy cleaned up on his Christini 2WD KTM, I can't help but wonder how much better he might have done on a DRZ. We'll probably never find out.



__________________
We don't stop riding because we get old, we get old because we stop riding.
"Wisdom is knowing what to do next, Skill is knowing how to do it, and Virtue is doing it"


HellSickle screwed with this post 10-08-2012 at 01:47 PM
HellSickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 10:44 AM   #16035
See-Three
C3
 
See-Three's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: New Hampshire Seacoast
Oddometer: 137
I dont think the soot has anything to do with too much slow riding. I put on 12k in the month of July when i rode the TAT and have been riding hard since. Speedo gear stripped on me at the end of July but i have been ridding hard since

I'm probably running rich, as i've been struggling to get the right jetting since i did the 3x3mod...

Anyway, the hole reason I opened her up was to figure out why i've been hearing more engine noise. After watching some Youtube videos I thought I had a loose counter balance nut, but i've already checked that and it's still tight. Next of possibilitys was a stretched cam chain, I am still using the stock 2000 tensioner. After inspecting the cam chain it seemed tight and judging by the soot or whatever crap is all over everything the tensioner wasn't even fully extended.



I've also been getting a bunch of crap in the oil filter. Metal shavings, something red and some black stuff.

for scale




Any ideas whats going on with my DRZ? how do i check the cam chain guides for excessive wear?

My plan as of now is to replace the cam chain and the tensioner with a updated ACCT
See-Three is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014