ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Fluff > Ask Baldy, blame AceRph
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-10-2012, 08:32 AM   #1
BossLady OP
Adventurer
 
BossLady's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Oddometer: 23
Can I save a partial post then resume later?

Last night I was working on a post, my internet crashed temporarily (about 5 minutes) & when I logged back in I had lost everything I had been working on. Is it possible to start a post (for instance a ride report) & save a draft of it to allow me to come back to it later & finish?
BossLady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 08:46 AM   #2
mrprez
KJ4WMZ
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, Al
Oddometer: 1,265
Not really. What you could do is to type it up using Notepad and then cut and paste it when you are ready to post.
__________________
Sent via morse code
..-. -.-- ..-. ..-.
mrprez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 09:16 AM   #3
BossLady OP
Adventurer
 
BossLady's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Oddometer: 23
Thanks...that won't help with the inserting of pics between text; but nice to know i'm not just missing something !
BossLady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 09:20 AM   #4
Unstable Rider
Beans n brats
 
Unstable Rider's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: 10,000 Lakes
Oddometer: 2,304
I have copied and pasted text I started on the forum, and stuck it into note pad, and "built" my post off line and then copied that and stuck it into a fresh post window.

I found some grief with picture HTML when using MS Word though-- actually what seems to work well for me, I open a blank window in my Windows live e-mail, as if composing an e-mail to someone. I can spell check it, etc., and paste Photobucket code into it as I compose- and then just copy the whole bit and paste it into a blank forum screen.

When I try that with MS WORD it seems to booger with the Photobucket code.

Just what worked for me.
__________________
.
Unstable Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 10:28 AM   #5
crazybrit
Beastly Adventurer
 
crazybrit's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Oddometer: 8,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by BossLady View Post
Thanks...that won't help with the inserting of pics between text; but nice to know i'm not just missing something !
It works fine for inserting pics. When you want to create a snapshot (cut and then paste into notepad/etc) click the little a/A icon in the upper right. It will collapse all the images to their text form (IMG tag).
crazybrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 10:34 AM   #6
Rinty
Studly Adventurer
 
Rinty's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Oddometer: 535
I spent a couple of months working on a long post about my new ST, in the MOA Forum. I just set up a file in Word, kept editing away until I was happy with it, and then pasted it in. IIRC, I just left clicked the text, for a "copy", then moved into the Forum, opened a new thread, and pasted it in.
Rinty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 12:58 AM   #7
Toysrme
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Oddometer: 221
save a txt file on your destop. use it as a scratch pad.
Toysrme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 03:48 AM   #8
mrprez
KJ4WMZ
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, Al
Oddometer: 1,265
I don't know why you couldn't add your picture links. If you have them stored on a 3rd party picture host, just cut and paste the links and then the bbcode for an image.

HTML Code:
[IMG]http://test.com/image.jpg[/IMG]
__________________
Sent via morse code
..-. -.-- ..-. ..-.
mrprez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 04:24 AM   #9
Flood
F5lood.
 
Flood's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Austria
Oddometer: 10,161
+1 on using notepad/editor.

MS Word can and will insert all kinds of formatting code that may screw up your thread.
__________________
TEAM F5

RallyRAIDio on Twitter
RallyRAIDio on Facebook
Flood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 09:10 AM   #10
Rinty
Studly Adventurer
 
Rinty's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Oddometer: 535
Quote:
...notepad...
Didn't know about this, it looks pretty useful. If you do a save of the page, where does it end up? In Word?
Rinty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 09:19 AM   #11
crazybrit
Beastly Adventurer
 
crazybrit's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Oddometer: 8,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rinty View Post
Didn't know about this, it looks pretty useful. If you do a save of the page, where does it end up? In Word?
notepad is a windows app, wordpad is another, msword is a third. all different. type "notepad" in the start menu search field
crazybrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 01:32 PM   #12
Rinty
Studly Adventurer
 
Rinty's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Oddometer: 535
Thanks.
Rinty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 07:06 PM   #13
mrprez
KJ4WMZ
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, Al
Oddometer: 1,265
Don't use all those others as they are not text editors and will add weird code to your stuff. Stick to Notepad and you can copy and paste directly from there to here.
__________________
Sent via morse code
..-. -.-- ..-. ..-.
mrprez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 08:09 PM   #14
Russ
.
 
Russ's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
Oddometer: 15,127
Copy it and send it yourself as PM that way you can preview it and edit it.
When complete copy and paste in your new post or thread.
Russ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014