ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Vendors
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-14-2012, 11:35 PM   #2791
NormanH
n00b
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Oddometer: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goti View Post
I'm not sure I'm gonna install the on/off switch, it was just an idea to keep a clean install on the handlebar and having the chance of turning the lights off easily.
Like I said earlier in the thread - I installed them with the dimmer, and a switch to the "high beam bypass" lead rather than actually tying into the HBB. I'd intended to do the setup you described, but I haven't changed it out a month or so later. The dimmed setting, I have no good reason to ever turn off when the bike's on, and the brights setting is blinding. So having extra control on a switch for "I really want off-road/off-traffic lights" is very nice.
NormanH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 01:38 AM   #2792
Jaimoto
Beastly Adventurer
 
Jaimoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Santiago, Chile
Oddometer: 1,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by NormanH View Post
Like I said earlier in the thread - I installed them with the dimmer, and a switch to the "high beam bypass" lead rather than actually tying into the HBB. I'd intended to do the setup you described, but I haven't changed it out a month or so later. The dimmed setting, I have no good reason to ever turn off when the bike's on, and the brights setting is blinding. So having extra control on a switch for "I really want off-road/off-traffic lights" is very nice.
If I understand correctly, your LEDs go to 100% at high beam only if the switch is on, right? Nice, but my bike has an useless high beam (because of the brightness of the low beam HID) so I think the HBB will work for me.

On a side note, is really a bad idea wire the LEDs from the auxiliary connection in the fusebox? is 10 amp fused and switched but they already power my heated grips. Can I just put a 15 amp fuse?
__________________
Jaime

2007 KTM 990 Adventure
2012 Yamaha BWs 125
Jaimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 04:39 AM   #2793
640 Armageddon
-oo-
 
640 Armageddon's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Greece
Oddometer: 1,763
Here is my 640A with four ADVmonster lights ... HAve not tested them on the bike yet but I tested the three of them using a portable battery and boy ... they are something !

The whole post is here ...









__________________
Aurora Rally Equipment
"Do or Do Not. There is No Try" - Yoda
640 Armageddon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 11:01 AM   #2794
pfdskipper
Westside Trash
 
pfdskipper's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Litchfield Park, Az
Oddometer: 948
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanjoh View Post
Should be right around the corner. You can check the tracking number received in your email.
And you are correct, arrived Saturday and have since installed them. Nice Lights!!. Thank you for the great service and prompt shipping.

Would you say the spot version of your inventory throws a more distant beam than the model 60's ?, If yes , how much further?
pfdskipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 09:38 PM   #2795
Shaggie
Unseen University
 
Shaggie's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Oddometer: 2,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by 640 Armageddon View Post
Here is my 640A with four ADVmonster lights ... HAve not tested them on the bike yet but I tested the three of them using a portable battery and boy ... they are something !

The whole post is here ...








wow - cant wait to see that in operation!
__________________
Shane

"We are not at home to Mr Reasonable" - Sam Vimes

NZ Touring pics:Brass Monkey 2009:Kiwi Sun:Tiki-touring: Daytrips in NZ
Shaggie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 03:55 AM   #2796
sanjoh OP
Purveyor of Light
 
sanjoh's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Mountains of Central Florida:)
Oddometer: 4,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goti View Post
On a side note, is really a bad idea wire the LEDs from the auxiliary connection in the fusebox? is 10 amp fused and switched but they already power my heated grips. Can I just put a 15 amp fuse?
Should work fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 640 Armageddon View Post
Here is my 640A with four ADVmonster lights ... HAve not tested them on the bike yet but I tested the three of them using a portable battery and boy ... they are something !

The whole post is here ...
WOW! Beautiful setup, that should really make some daylight. A night pic would be great

Quote:
Originally Posted by pfdskipper View Post
And you are correct, arrived Saturday and have since installed them. Nice Lights!!. Thank you for the great service and prompt shipping.
Thanks for your business. How about a pic? Now for that other SE dude Safari should be going on this week.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pfdskipper View Post
Would you say the spot version of your inventory throws a more distant beam than the model 60's ?, If yes , how much further?
No, the Model 30 is down on power compared to the Model 60.
sanjoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 11:33 PM   #2797
pfdskipper
Westside Trash
 
pfdskipper's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Litchfield Park, Az
Oddometer: 948
Thanks Sanjoh

As requested, KTM SE , 2 Model 60's on a triple clamp mounting plate

Stock light

Model 60's X 2
pfdskipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 12:06 AM   #2798
gunnabuild1
Studly Adventurer
 
gunnabuild1's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Ipswich Queensland
Oddometer: 623
Damn thats an impressive pic.
gunnabuild1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 01:25 AM   #2799
OzRider64
Friggen slow Adventurer.
 
OzRider64's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: Hobart Tasmania
Oddometer: 89
Thumb Repaired Model 44's turned up today

G'day sanjho,

My 44's turned up today in Oz, quick turn around.

Have tested them out and they work fine. Will re-install them on the GS this weekend.

Just for my interest and others what was the problem with them ?.

Is there something I can do to alleviate this problem in the future or will this be a regular replacement item.

Great service.

Simon.
__________________
Tassie, where two heads are better than one.

2010 R1200GS
OzRider64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 11:10 AM   #2800
sanjoh OP
Purveyor of Light
 
sanjoh's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Mountains of Central Florida:)
Oddometer: 4,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by pfdskipper View Post
As requested, KTM SE , 2 Model 60's on a triple clamp mounting plate

Stock light

Model 60's X 2
Looks like more night riding in your future

Keep em away from U know who, they might turn up missing
sanjoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 11:24 AM   #2801
sanjoh OP
Purveyor of Light
 
sanjoh's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Mountains of Central Florida:)
Oddometer: 4,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by OzRider64 View Post
G'day sanjho,

My 44's turned up today in Oz, quick turn around.

Have tested them out and they work fine. Will re-install them on the GS this weekend.

Just for my interest and others what was the problem with them ?.

Is there something I can do to alleviate this problem in the future or will this be a regular replacement item.

Great service.

Simon.
Hi Simon,

Glad to hear the lights made it back to you. The lights had been exposed to high voltage. Traces ie circuits on the driver boards were burned. Many of the cheap HID aftermarket lights can cause this, otherwise if your charging system is in good shape, there should be no issues.
sanjoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 01:20 PM   #2802
SV_Dwayne
Gnarly Adventurer
 
SV_Dwayne's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Oddometer: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanjoh View Post
Hi Simon,

Glad to hear the lights made it back to you. The lights had been exposed to high voltage. Traces ie circuits on the driver boards were burned. Many of the cheap HID aftermarket lights can cause this, otherwise if your charging system is in good shape, there should be no issues.
Hey John,

Do you know of a fix or things to check when using an HID kit? I'm using a VVME kit with slim ballasts, and have been trying to figure out why the AdMore kit in my Givi 52 is acting funky, sounds like that could be the problem. Would be nice to determine whether the HID kit is causing it before I buy LED aux lights to replace my halogens.
__________________
Kicking ass seems to be THE ONLY solution to life's problems. Kicking ass is the first, second and third option. Plan B and C are also kicking ass.


SV_Dwayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 04:28 PM   #2803
sanjoh OP
Purveyor of Light
 
sanjoh's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Mountains of Central Florida:)
Oddometer: 4,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by SV_Dwayne View Post
Hey John,

Do you know of a fix or things to check when using an HID kit? I'm using a VVME kit with slim ballasts, and have been trying to figure out why the AdMore kit in my Givi 52 is acting funky, sounds like that could be the problem. Would be nice to determine whether the HID kit is causing it before I buy LED aux lights to replace my halogens.
Best fix I found is to remove them from my bike.
sanjoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 04:37 PM   #2804
Scott_PDX
Leisure Engineer
 
Scott_PDX's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: Portland...the newer one on the left side.
Oddometer: 2,577
Damn it's getting dark early! Just ordered a pair of 60 watters for my WR250R. Looking forward to "seeing the light".
__________________
2011 WR250R, 2009 KLR650, 2004 KTM 450 EXC, 2000 R1150GS

My MotovLog (Youtube Videos): http://www.youtube.com/user/scottb572/videos

Where Am I via SPOT (Code SCT): http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=719703
Scott_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 04:47 PM   #2805
sanjoh OP
Purveyor of Light
 
sanjoh's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Mountains of Central Florida:)
Oddometer: 4,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott_PDX View Post
Damn it's getting dark early! Just ordered a pair of 60 watters for my WR250R. Looking forward to "seeing the light".
Thanks for your business!

Just an FYI, they are model 60s, NOT 60 watts a pair will pull 56 watts on full power.
sanjoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014