ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Beasts
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-19-2012, 03:51 PM   #31
Yossarian™
Deputy Cultural Attaché
 
Yossarian™'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: the 'Ha
Oddometer: 9,632
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dubl-A View Post
Have you used other synthetic oils on other bikes?
Yes, every one!
__________________
Successfully surviving motorcycling since 1976.
Yossarian™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 03:56 PM   #32
Dubl-A
SuckerDucker
 
Dubl-A's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: 505
Oddometer: 1,790
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yossarian™ View Post
Yes, every one!
Yes I'm sure you have

I was just wondering if he was sticking with what the sticker says. I may order a different brand with my oil change I'll be doing here in 200 miles
__________________
Keep your $0.02 if it ain't going towards the bill
Dubl-A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 04:33 PM   #33
burmbuster OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
burmbuster's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: South East USA
Oddometer: 1,429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dubl-A View Post
Not bad with the free shipping. Have you used other synthetic oils on other bikes?
As far as full synthetics go, I have only used two. Mobile 1 and this Castrol. No complaints on either. I was surprised to find the condition of the Castrol as good as it was when I drained it. Now that was only at a 2000 mile interval but I road it exceedingly hard, ehr.....over the speed limit by quite a bit, for 5 consecutive hours each way on a trip to Barbers over the weekend. Didn't use any oil and the oil looked to have plenty of life left.
__________________
_______________
2013 KTM 690 Enduro R
burmbuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 04:35 PM   #34
burmbuster OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
burmbuster's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: South East USA
Oddometer: 1,429
Quote:
Originally Posted by burmbuster View Post
As far as full synthetics go, I have only used two. Mobile 1 and this Castrol. No complaints on either. I was surprised to find the condition of the Castrol as good as it was when I drained it. Now that was only at a 2000 mile interval but I road it exceedingly hard, ehr.....over the speed limit by quite a bit, for 5 consecutive hours each way on a trip to Barbers over the weekend. Didn't use any oil and the oil looked to have plenty of life left.
I will also add that I chose the 50w based on where I live. Those north of the Mason-Dixon may want to get the 40W.
__________________
_______________
2013 KTM 690 Enduro R
burmbuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 06:57 PM   #35
ABHooligan
The Flying Mythos
 
ABHooligan's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Chattanooga
Oddometer: 1,114
Mine arrived with Castrol synthetic. I drained that shit right out of there, and replaced with a custom oil that I make myself in a small laboratory out behind the garage. It added 47 hp immediately, and the Tiger will even wheelie in neutral now.

If you don't produce your own custom synthetic oil, as was alread said, O'Reilly has moto oil, just not grouped with auto oil.
__________________
"I tried to move my mind there and nowhere else and imagine a single detail that, if I didn't see it that weekend, I never would... The world is easily lost."
James Dickey
ABHooligan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 01:03 PM   #36
fbj913
I ride
 
fbj913's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: KC MO
Oddometer: 2,345
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dubl-A View Post
Yes I'm sure you have

I was just wondering if he was sticking with what the sticker says. I may order a different brand with my oil change I'll be doing here in 200 miles
I run Amsoil in everything. Nothing is shipped with Amsoil in it. Oil is oil, but Amsoil is the best!
Oh ya, and I don't pay near $12 for quart.
fbj913 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 01:05 PM   #37
Dubl-A
SuckerDucker
 
Dubl-A's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: 505
Oddometer: 1,790
Quote:
Originally Posted by fbj913 View Post
I run Amsoil in everything. Nothing is shipped with Amsoil in it. Oil is oil, but Amsoil is the best!
Oh ya, and I don't pay near $12 for quart.
Nice! Link...?
__________________
Keep your $0.02 if it ain't going towards the bill
Dubl-A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 01:13 PM   #38
Dubl-A
SuckerDucker
 
Dubl-A's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: 505
Oddometer: 1,790
Quote:
Originally Posted by ABHulgan View Post
custom oil that I make myself in a small laboratory out behind the garage. It added 47 hp immediately, and the Tiger will even wheelie in neutral now.
__________________
Keep your $0.02 if it ain't going towards the bill
Dubl-A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 02:04 PM   #39
fbj913
I ride
 
fbj913's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: KC MO
Oddometer: 2,345
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dubl-A View Post
Nice! Link...?
No, Just google it. Its $11.55 quart retail so there are deals to be had.
fbj913 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 02:31 PM   #40
Dubl-A
SuckerDucker
 
Dubl-A's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: 505
Oddometer: 1,790
Quote:
Originally Posted by fbj913 View Post
No, Just google it. Its $11.55 quart retail so there are deals to be had.
Cool. I just figured if you're that happy with the place you're dealing with I'd throw em some business
__________________
Keep your $0.02 if it ain't going towards the bill
Dubl-A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 07:38 AM   #41
fbj913
I ride
 
fbj913's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: KC MO
Oddometer: 2,345
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dubl-A View Post
Cool. I just figured if you're that happy with the place you're dealing with I'd throw em some business
I deal through myself. You can become a dealer or pay a yearly fee and get the oil for basically cost. You can go to www.amsoil.com and read about it.
fbj913 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2014, 09:33 PM   #42
IdahoRenegade
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: Sagle, Idaho
Oddometer: 1,478
Does anyone use Rotella T6? I've used it in my last several bikes and all my other vehicles. Price is right.
__________________
Motorcycles are expensive. Therapy is more expensive! Too bad health insurance only pays for the wrong one.
IdahoRenegade is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2014, 04:59 AM   #43
Black Rhino
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Location: West of Atlanta , Ga.
Oddometer: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by IdahoRenegade View Post
Does anyone use Rotella T6? I've used it in my last several bikes and all my other vehicles. Price is right.
Yep! I've used Rotella T6 full synthetic in my last 4 bikes (5-40). Dropped the Tiger oil at 300 miles and dumped it in. Works fine. Put 45,000 miles on my last cruiser using it , and over 20,000 on my 2012 Vstrom using it. Cheap and good. Wal-mart keeps the gallon for about 21.00 here.
Black Rhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2014, 07:11 AM   #44
CRFan1
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2013
Location: Northwest Indiana
Oddometer: 144
My good friend owns a Honda Dealership and I use Honda HP 4 Synthetic blend in my Tiger 800. No issues whatsoever.....
CRFan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014