ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-24-2012, 10:19 PM   #6076
MFS
Gnarly Adventurer
 
MFS's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Prairies...
Oddometer: 224
Napa 3011

Swapped out the Tank Fuel filter, with the Napa 3011. Stock filter was dark? But I didn't see any alien particles in there. New filter in, took the injector off and cycled the bike on and off to clear the fuel line into a bucket. Cleaned the injector again, hooked er all up and the bike started up instantly. But stalled again...

Haven't ran a pressure test on the pump, will have to pick up a gauge (thanks again for the tip Crankshaft). No one has a sparkplug in town, so will order one tommorrow, and probably just order a Cycleworks pump and drop that in. If it doesn't improve anything, well heck I got a spare pump then. If it fixes it then I'm good to go!

Bike ran at idle for 5 minutes or so, then died. Started right back up easy enough, would idle, then die. TIre is still off it so I didn't try ridin. If I can't get it running perfect in the garage no sense trying to flog it down the road I figure...

Was so intimidated at first by working on the fuel system, but it really is simple on the 690 I'm finding? Provided the pump fixes it and it gets runnin of course...no one within 3 hours who could remap it for me either. Suppose I could check the pressure, first, and if its working try to remap, incase its off for some reason.

Will sleep on it, ride safe y'all!

MFS
MFS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 05:23 AM   #6077
bobzilla
Dirty Old Man
 
bobzilla's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Lost & Found again in the Great Basin
Oddometer: 921
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
check the TPS?
after you check pump pressure and plug
__________________
Ride the DEZ
05 FE 550 Husaberg plated
08 FE 650 Husaberg plated
01 DR Frankenbike 650
76 CB750
bobzilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 05:39 AM   #6078
MFS
Gnarly Adventurer
 
MFS's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Prairies...
Oddometer: 224
Tps

Referring to turning the electrical on and rolling the throttle on and off? Or a different check...

I'll search online before I head to work here and see...

MFS
MFS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 07:20 AM   #6079
bobzilla
Dirty Old Man
 
bobzilla's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Lost & Found again in the Great Basin
Oddometer: 921
check the voltage readings and adjust. need tune ecu or the dealer.
__________________
Ride the DEZ
05 FE 550 Husaberg plated
08 FE 650 Husaberg plated
01 DR Frankenbike 650
76 CB750
bobzilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 07:47 AM   #6080
MFS
Gnarly Adventurer
 
MFS's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Prairies...
Oddometer: 224
Phhaaa AACKKKK!! That's kinda what I'm readin and finding out. Nearest dealer 3 hours, and "the guy" to talk to didn't return my call yesterday, and it was recommended I don't leave a message but call back as he is a busy guy

Will try him again of course but my crystal ball tells me it's a 6 hour round trip, and a stalling issue when I get home!

The "tuneECU hardeware is downloadable, any idea where to get the required cable in Canada? I'll have to look more in depth look after work, and see how that's all done. Might as well do it all myself and eliminate the middle guy! Sucks for them though...

Idled for 6 minutes this morning though, like a loved one comin out of a trance. We spoke, she told me she loved me, I touched her and looked in her pretty orange face as she slipped away from me again...

And when she was gone I swore at her and called her an ignorant C__t!

MFS
MFS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 08:03 AM   #6081
wsmc831
Studly Adventurer
 
wsmc831's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Central Oregon
Oddometer: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by MFS View Post
Phhaaa AACKKKK!! That's kinda what I'm readin and finding out. Nearest dealer 3 hours, and "the guy" to talk to didn't return my call yesterday, and it was recommended I don't leave a message but call back as he is a busy guy

Will try him again of course but my crystal ball tells me it's a 6 hour round trip, and a stalling issue when I get home!

The "tuneECU hardeware is downloadable, any idea where to get the required cable in Canada? I'll have to look more in depth look after work, and see how that's all done. Might as well do it all myself and eliminate the middle guy! Sucks for them though...

Idled for 6 minutes this morning though, like a loved one comin out of a trance. We spoke, she told me she loved me, I touched her and looked in her pretty orange face as she slipped away from me again...

And when she was gone I swore at her and called her an ignorant C__t!

MFS

Have you tried googling 'tune ecu cable ktm'?
__________________
97 TL1000S
2010 690 EnduroR
2013 500 Exc
wsmc831 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 10:17 AM   #6082
bobzilla
Dirty Old Man
 
bobzilla's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Lost & Found again in the Great Basin
Oddometer: 921
I think there is a link on tuneecu for the cable but I may be wrong. google is your friend
__________________
Ride the DEZ
05 FE 550 Husaberg plated
08 FE 650 Husaberg plated
01 DR Frankenbike 650
76 CB750
bobzilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 11:12 AM   #6083
Mini Trail
nb
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: West Tennessee
Oddometer: 2,302
I finally got my new rockers and the intake is TIGHT. I expected to have to adjust the valves but I don't exactly know where to start. Is there a way to estimate the shims particularly when they are tight? They aren't cheap.
__________________
Your cycle had a bell on it.
Mini Trail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 11:16 AM   #6084
gbx2001
Geophiz
 
gbx2001's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Harperville, Canuckland
Oddometer: 101
cable supplier

I bought my cable from Craig at CJ Designs (US).

I live in Calgary and so far have not seen any Canadian suppliers.
gbx2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 11:24 AM   #6085
The Letter J
lost in the 690 mega
 
The Letter J's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Santa Maria, CA
Oddometer: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mini Trail View Post
I finally got my new rockers and the intake is TIGHT. I expected to have to adjust the valves but I don't exactly know where to start. Is there a way to estimate the shims particularly when they are tight? They aren't cheap.
When you say "TIGHT" do you mean there is NO clearance? If so, are any of the shims for any of the other valves thinner? If so you could swap them around just to get a measurement. I just went down to my local Harley Davidson dealer (some harley's use the same 10mm shims) and traded shims for what I needed at no charge. I only needed 1 new shim to get all 4 valves in spec. If they are at .000" I would just start with a shim that is at least .006 thinner and go from there.
The Letter J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 11:29 AM   #6086
RoninMoto
Wanderer
 
RoninMoto's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: In the mountains?
Oddometer: 1,692
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mini Trail View Post
I finally got my new rockers and the intake is TIGHT. I expected to have to adjust the valves but I don't exactly know where to start. Is there a way to estimate the shims particularly when they are tight? They aren't cheap.
What you will need:
-A set of calipers for measuring the shim you remove.
-a shim kit About the same price as 1 hour of shop time at your local KTM shop?
-strong magnet (easiest way to remove the shims, like you use when you drop a socket into a motor and have to fish it out)
-Feeler gauge.

1. Measure the clearance and note the one(s) that is/are tight.
2. Use the feeler gauge to see about how far out they are.
3. Pull the cam out and so your rockers are loose. Its a good Idea to ziptie the timing chain to the cam gear so you don't loose the place.
4. Using the magnet, remove the shim.
5. Measure it with the calipers and find replace with the shim you need.
6. Re-install the cam and check your valve clearance again to see if you have correct clearance.

Last time we did the valves shims on my 08 we installed them loose.. around .11 mm. They are more noisy when they are loose but seem to tighten over time. I don't want to have to do valve shims in Siberia next summer.
__________________
Noah 08 KTM 690 ADV. 125,000 km. 42 countries. 5 continents and counting.
RTW Ride Report --> http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=781893
Blog ------------------> http://rtwwithnoah.blogspot.com/
Facebook------------> https://www.facebook.com/RtwWithNoah
RoninMoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 11:33 AM   #6087
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: NWA
Oddometer: 9,810
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Letter J View Post
When you say "TIGHT" do you mean there is NO clearance? If so, are any of the shims for any of the other valves thinner? If so you could swap them around just to get a measurement. I just went down to my local Harley Davidson dealer (some harley's use the same 10mm shims) and traded shims for what I needed at no charge. I only needed 1 new shim to get all 4 valves in spec. If they are at .000" I would just start with a shim that is at least .006 thinner and go from there.
+1, at my local HD dealer, the shims are only a couple bucks. I wouldn't waste money on a shim kit, chances are you'll never use 3/4 of the shims in there and you'll probably end up having to go buy a shim or 2 because there's not enough of a particular size in the kit.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 01:01 PM   #6088
Mini Trail
nb
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: West Tennessee
Oddometer: 2,302
If it isn't obvious I am new to the shims. I had to replace both rockers. The intake (new item number) is so tight I had to compress the valves a touch to push the rod through.

They seem to have some relief machined into the bottom where they go over the valve stem. I thought it might be measured from inside that relief (where my calipers or micrometer won't fit) but it sounds like they are measured at the flats.

How many brands use the same shims? I'll buy that hotcams set but if there was an S&S kit for Harleys for half the price well...
__________________
Your cycle had a bell on it.
Mini Trail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 01:03 PM   #6089
Aaron from Texas
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Aaron from Texas's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: Texas
Oddometer: 489
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albie View Post
+1, at my local HD dealer, the shims are only a couple bucks. I wouldn't waste money on a shim kit, chances are you'll never use 3/4 of the shims in there and you'll probably end up having to go buy a shim or 2 because there's not enough of a particular size in the kit.
+1 on not needing the kit. Just buy them individually from a shop. They're cheap, and you'll only need a few for the life of the bike...
__________________
1987 Honda XL600R
ftwtexas.blogspot.com
Aaron from Texas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 01:14 PM   #6090
RoninMoto
Wanderer
 
RoninMoto's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: In the mountains?
Oddometer: 1,692
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mini Trail View Post
If it isn't obvious I am new to the shims. I had to replace both rockers. The intake (new item number) is so tight I had to compress the valves a touch to push the rod through.

They seem to have some relief machined into the bottom where they go over the valve stem. I thought it might be measured from inside that relief (where my calipers or micrometer won't fit) but it sounds like they are measured at the flats.

How many brands use the same shims? I'll buy that hotcams set but if there was an S&S kit for Harleys for half the price well...
-1 for not needing the kit. He is starting out new. He will have to try shims until one works.

My opinion: Get a kit. Put a small shim in and see how tight it is. Try till you get within speck.
When you are checking a motor during its periodic mantainance, you have the advantage of KNOWING which shim to use. There really is no way to measure short of putting a shim in and using a feeler gauge. So unless you live next door to a shop or they will give you a hand full of shims to try, I suggest getting the kit. Especially if you live in the boonies like many of us do and don't have a close local shop.
__________________
Noah 08 KTM 690 ADV. 125,000 km. 42 countries. 5 continents and counting.
RTW Ride Report --> http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=781893
Blog ------------------> http://rtwwithnoah.blogspot.com/
Facebook------------> https://www.facebook.com/RtwWithNoah
RoninMoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015