ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-25-2012, 01:51 PM   #6091
Roadracer_Al
louder, louder, louder!
 
Roadracer_Al's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Oakland, CA
Oddometer: 1,674
Exactly - if there is any clearance at all -- tight or lose compared to spec -- it can be measured, and the correct shim ascertained in one shot.

If the clearance is zero, there is no way to determine the correct shim in one shot. You have to gain clearance with a small shim, then get the clearance in spec with a second shim.

Before you go buying shims... read the manual on the section about crank shaft position for checking the shim values: it is easy to try to measure the clearance in the wrong position and find zero clearance.
__________________
When they say Harleys are for 1%ers, I don't think they mean guys who sell crank and get in bar fights any more.
Roadracer_Al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 01:53 PM   #6092
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: NWA
Oddometer: 9,823
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mini Trail View Post
If it isn't obvious I am new to the shims. I had to replace both rockers. The intake (new item number) is so tight I had to compress the valves a touch to push the rod through.

They seem to have some relief machined into the bottom where they go over the valve stem. I thought it might be measured from inside that relief (where my calipers or micrometer won't fit) but it sounds like they are measured at the flats.

How many brands use the same shims? I'll buy that hotcams set but if there was an S&S kit for Harleys for half the price well...
Something seems odd, new rockers shouldn't effect your clearance that drastically. Are you 100% positive you are at TDC? Do the intake shims look pitted in the center? You measure the gap between the rocker and shim using a feeler gauge.

The reason HD dealers carry the shims is because they are used on the Rotax motored Buells. Obviously KTM uses them and I'm guessing some Aprilias use them also.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 02:16 PM   #6093
Uller
Beastly Adventurer
 
Uller's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Arlington, WA
Oddometer: 1,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albie View Post
The reason HD dealers carry the shims is because they are used on the Rotax motored Buells. Obviously KTM uses them and I'm guessing some Aprilias use them also.
The Harley Davidson V-Rod uses the same shims too.

My local HD dealer didn't have any in stock. Told me that their mechanics don't have them either. Then stated that the minimum order was for 5 shims of each size and finally, that he couldn't order them at all.

I am now the proud owner of a Hot-Cams Shim Kit.
Uller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 03:32 PM   #6094
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: NWA
Oddometer: 9,823
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uller View Post
The Harley Davidson V-Rod uses the same shims too.

My local HD dealer didn't have any in stock. Told me that their mechanics don't have them either. Then stated that the minimum order was for 5 shims of each size and finally, that he couldn't order them at all.

I am now the proud owner of a Hot-Cams Shim Kit.
LOL, wonder what they charge the pirates for a valve adjustment when they don't even have shims to do the job. THIS is the reason I don't let dealers do the work.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 03:42 PM   #6095
crankshaft OP
Guns are for pussies
 
crankshaft's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Burlingtron,VT
Oddometer: 14,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uller View Post
The Harley Davidson V-Rod uses the same shims too.

My local HD dealer didn't have any in stock. Told me that their mechanics don't have them either. Then stated that the minimum order was for 5 shims of each size and finally, that he couldn't order them at all.

I am now the proud owner of a Hot-Cams Shim Kit.
Yea but they've got T-shirts stacked to the roof and HD branded polishing kits
__________________
Just say'IN
crankshaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 04:41 PM   #6096
Buzztail
NMBBMFBK
 
Buzztail's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: BUZZTOPIA
Oddometer: 10,994
Mini, Find the thinnest shim you have and try it. If you can get a measurment that way it's a one shot deal, if it's still too tight go .010 or .015 thinner than you thinnest- odds are you'll need one of those as the valves start to tighten. You put quite a few miles on your bike so plan to do the lash again. As an alternative, you CAN measure it another way, but it's probably beyond my ability to explain via this forum- I'll try:

You say the valve compresses some when tightened down. Measure the height (valve fully seated). You'll have to establish a datum surface, or use a mag base and test indicator. Then install the rocker and remeasure using the same datum. This will tell you how much interferance you have. Add the lash, and order that shim.
__________________
When there is no way out - Find a way further in.
DL650 DR350 MMS Edition KDX Past bikes ...and an airhead vvv
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mugwest
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buzztail
You shoulda told me to do this a long time ago
My bad
Buzztail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 07:14 PM   #6097
Mini Trail
nb
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: West Tennessee
Oddometer: 2,308
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buzztail View Post
Mini, Find the thinnest shim you have and try it. If you can get a measurment that way it's a one shot deal, if it's still too tight go .010 or .015 thinner than you thinnest- odds are you'll need one of those as the valves start to tighten. You put quite a few miles on your bike so plan to do the lash again. As an alternative, you CAN measure it another way, but it's probably beyond my ability to explain via this forum- I'll try:

You say the valve compresses some when tightened down. Measure the height (valve fully seated). You'll have to establish a datum surface, or use a mag base and test indicator. Then install the rocker and remeasure using the same datum. This will tell you how much interferance you have. Add the lash, and order that shim.
Believe it or not that is exactly how you set the cam timing on a 911. I could just draw up a mount to hold a dial indicator and get the guys in the machine shop to cut one out of delrin or aluminum except they don't like me and it would be 10x the trouble of just ordering that kit.

I didn't measure them but I assumed by the etching that both of the intakes (bottom) are the same and both of the exhausts (top) are the same. I thought the numbers might align with the part descriptions.



SHIM D=10/2,00 | 03 (As required)

SHIM D=10/2,05 | 03 (As required)

I have the crank locked at TDC with the tool (that I made from a bolt) but maybe I should check the cam again. I reset the tensioner since I checked the timing.
__________________
Your cycle had a bell on it.
Mini Trail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 07:27 PM   #6098
Buzztail
NMBBMFBK
 
Buzztail's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: BUZZTOPIA
Oddometer: 10,994
Pretty much that same as doing a 911, yep.

When/If I have to get that deep in this engine (head off) I'll degree the cams. I have been known to do shit like that just because nobody else does. Built some offset pins for something here not too long ago that I was told you could not adjust the cam timing on. Challange accepted
__________________
When there is no way out - Find a way further in.
DL650 DR350 MMS Edition KDX Past bikes ...and an airhead vvv
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mugwest
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buzztail
You shoulda told me to do this a long time ago
My bad
Buzztail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 08:29 PM   #6099
ghostman
n00b
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Oddometer: 8
New 690 owner here. I have a 2012. I want to remove the stock graphics but I can't seem to get anything to work. Heat, thinner, brake cleaner... I am not sure how KTM put those things on there but I can't them off. I have searched the thread but no luck. Any help would be appreciated.
ghostman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 09:11 PM   #6100
RoninMoto
Wanderer
 
RoninMoto's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: In the mountains?
Oddometer: 1,692
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghostman View Post
New 690 owner here. I have a 2012. I want to remove the stock graphics but I can't seem to get anything to work. Heat, thinner, brake cleaner... I am not sure how KTM put those things on there but I can't them off. I have searched the thread but no luck. Any help would be appreciated.
I think I just pulled the 2010 graphics off. there was some residue left... GooGone?
__________________
Noah 08 KTM 690 ADV. 125,000 km. 42 countries. 5 continents and counting.
RTW Ride Report --> http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=781893
Blog ------------------> http://rtwwithnoah.blogspot.com/
Facebook------------> https://www.facebook.com/RtwWithNoah
RoninMoto is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 03:52 AM   #6101
Buzztail
NMBBMFBK
 
Buzztail's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: BUZZTOPIA
Oddometer: 10,994
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoninMoto View Post
GooGone?

Let it sit in the sun and keep at it...
__________________
When there is no way out - Find a way further in.
DL650 DR350 MMS Edition KDX Past bikes ...and an airhead vvv
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mugwest
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buzztail
You shoulda told me to do this a long time ago
My bad
Buzztail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 04:27 AM   #6102
Maurizio
2 smoker
 
Maurizio's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: Turin, Italy
Oddometer: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghostman View Post
New 690 owner here. I have a 2012. I want to remove the stock graphics but I can't seem to get anything to work. Heat, thinner, brake cleaner... I am not sure how KTM put those things on there but I can't them off. I have searched the thread but no luck. Any help would be appreciated.
Seems that the graphics on the '12 m.y. radiator shrouds are somehow "molded" in the plastic.
Evidence of this can be found in the spare parts catalog that shows a graphic kit that is only composed by the mask, front fender and side number panels stickers...
__________________
maurizio
'14 250 EXC E "Sparkling Orange"
'08 FLHCTUSE3 - '76 CB 750 F ss
sold: '03 950 adv s, '05 450 exc, '08 690 e

Maurizio screwed with this post 10-26-2012 at 06:22 AM
Maurizio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 06:34 AM   #6103
wsmc831
Studly Adventurer
 
wsmc831's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Central Oregon
Oddometer: 804
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghostman View Post
New 690 owner here. I have a 2012. I want to remove the stock graphics but I can't seem to get anything to work. Heat, thinner, brake cleaner... I am not sure how KTM put those things on there but I can't them off. I have searched the thread but no luck. Any help would be appreciated.
I believe in the long run the better approach is replace the plastic with new, store stock plastic with graphics.
__________________
97 TL1000S
2010 690 EnduroR
2013 500 Exc
wsmc831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 06:35 AM   #6104
ghostman
n00b
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Oddometer: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maurizio View Post
Seems that the graphics on the '12 m.y. radiator shrouds are somehow "molded" in the plastic.
Evidence of this can be found in the spare parts catalog that shows a graphic kit that is only composed by the mask, front fender and side number panels stickers...
I was thinking the same exact thing. I am pretty sure they are some sort of decal though as I can see a few very small air bubbles in them.
ghostman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 06:38 AM   #6105
ghostman
n00b
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Oddometer: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by wsmc831 View Post
I believe in the long run the better approach is replace the plastic with new, store stock plastic with graphics.
I thought the same thing but I can only find replacements with the "decal" already on it.
ghostman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015