ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-29-2012, 12:24 AM   #1
koh kood OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
koh kood's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: Koh Kood, Thailand
Oddometer: 108
Hiding tracks, routes in Mapsourse

Could someone please tell me if it's possible to hide tracks or routes in Mapsourse? All the tracks/routes I have show up on the map, the map is pretty busy with everything being shown. I'd like to hide them if possible and just look at them when I need to. When I look at the track or route properties there is a box that says "show on map" but nothing there that says "do not show on map".

Thank you
__________________
"I wasted time, and now time doth waste me."
koh kood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 04:10 AM   #2
koh kood OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
koh kood's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: Koh Kood, Thailand
Oddometer: 108
Seems like I should have looked a little harder first. Can't be done.
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=501024
__________________
"I wasted time, and now time doth waste me."

koh kood screwed with this post 10-29-2012 at 04:12 AM Reason: spelling
koh kood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 05:14 AM   #3
BKMLWR
Wondering around...
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: North Carmel
Oddometer: 4,390
basecamp can help out with this issue. create a folder for a given area then make lists for routes/tracks/waypoints in the given area. Each list can be viewed without seeing the info in the other lists...
__________________
Sometimes I get off the bike before it has come to a complete stop....
Another Proud Small Scale Faker......
Praise You In This Storm
LifeSong
BKMLWR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 06:14 AM   #4
BigDogAdventures
Fart Letter
 
BigDogAdventures's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Mt. Vernon, Illinois
Oddometer: 4,724
In mapsource here is what I do.

If I did not want to see the tracks-----I'd make another file and copy and paste the things you wanted to see into it---you could save it and call it the same name as the old file but add "Without Tracks".

Or--------in the running file----you could delete the tracks------just don't save it as you close the file or they'll be gone.

I do both of these things all the time.

BigDog
__________________
WR250R 2008
KTM EXC 450 2006
Husqvarna TR650 Terra 2013
KTM 690 Enduro 2014
If your bike weighs more than 400lbs. You might not make it.
BigDogAdventures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 06:51 AM   #5
Spiritwalker2222
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Oddometer: 112
I haven't used Mapsource in a long time, but can you change the track color to invisible for the ones you don't want to see?
Spiritwalker2222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 01:19 AM   #6
koh kood OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
koh kood's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: Koh Kood, Thailand
Oddometer: 108
Thanks to all of you for the suggestions.
__________________
"I wasted time, and now time doth waste me."
koh kood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 02:49 AM   #7
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,745
I use separate files for different trips and save them in a single folder on my computer.

It is possible to turn the color of the route to "clear" so they don't show on the screen, but are still listed in the track and route list. When you want to show them, just change the color back to something you like.
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 05:49 AM   #8
koh kood OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
koh kood's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: Koh Kood, Thailand
Oddometer: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9Dave View Post
I use separate files for different trips and save them in a single folder on my computer.

It is possible to turn the color of the route to "clear" so they don't show on the screen, but are still listed in the track and route list. When you want to show them, just change the color back to something you like.
Maybe it's the version of Mapsourse [6.14] I have. I can change the track/route colour to "transparent" but it really still shows up as a thin black line. With all the track log points still being displayed.
__________________
"I wasted time, and now time doth waste me."
koh kood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 10:26 PM   #9
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by koh kood View Post
Could someone please tell me if it's possible to hide tracks or routes in Mapsourse? All the tracks/routes I have show up on the map, the map is pretty busy with everything being shown.Thank you
Mapsource is an application like Word. You keep Mapsource data in files (.gdb or .gpx).

It sounds like you have all your data in ONE FILE. Do you keep all your word text in one .doc file, NO. Each item is in its own file.

You can open new a "Untitled" MapSource file, cut some data from your giant file and past in new one and Save As what ever the subject is.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 06:43 AM   #10
koh kood OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
koh kood's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: Koh Kood, Thailand
Oddometer: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by Countdown View Post
Mapsource is an application like Word. You keep Mapsource data in files (.gdb or .gpx).

It sounds like you have all your data in ONE FILE. Do you keep all your word text in one .doc file, NO. Each item is in its own file.

You can open new a "Untitled" MapSource file, cut some data from your giant file and past in new one and Save As what ever the subject is.
I was trying to keep everything in one file. I guess it's not the easiest way to do things. I'll try your suggestion. Thanks.
__________________
"I wasted time, and now time doth waste me."
koh kood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 06:35 PM   #11
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,914
Quote:
Originally Posted by koh kood View Post
I was trying to keep everything in one file. I guess it's not the easiest way to do things. I'll try your suggestion. Thanks.
Sounds to me like you'll need BaseCamp in that case. It'll let you have all your tracks in one environment but still manage them effectively, in folders.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 10:15 PM   #12
Timmer
Beastly Adventurer
 
Timmer's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Burien, WA
Oddometer: 2,300
Why not just set the property color of the track or route to transparent which will leave a very faint line. That's the quickest method I've found. Alternatively, in BC, I just copy what I might want to view to a new list folder.
__________________
Tim in Burien, WA
'05 R1200GS '03 F650GS
'08 WR250R
'03 Wing
'01 ST1100
Timmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 12:19 PM   #13
wbbnm
Beastly Adventurer
 
wbbnm's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Abq NM
Oddometer: 1,832
I often want to hide the tracks too in order to see what the underlying road looks like or if it even exists in a given mapset.

I tried the transparent option and it did not have the desired effect. It left a whitish thick line with a dark line connecting the very visible track points. I could not see the underlying roads.

I guess I will go back to what I usually do and temporarily delete the track and then restore is via Control-Z.

Maybe I did something wrong with the transparent selection?
wbbnm is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014