ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 174 votes, 4.84 average. Display Modes
Old 11-12-2012, 09:29 AM   #5821
RAM
2 wheel Enthusiast
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Oddometer: 34
Battery Prolem

Did you change the unit's battery setting?
Select>settings>system>battery type.
RAM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 09:31 AM   #5822
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 687
Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM View Post
Did you change the unit's battery setting?
Select>settings>system>battery type.
The Montana 'self detects' the Li-Ion battery.

atlas cached screwed with this post 11-12-2012 at 09:39 AM
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 11:45 AM   #5823
Hikertrash
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Arizona
Oddometer: 2,603
Right now it only recognizes AA batteries.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
IBA #50489
Hikertrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 12:05 PM   #5824
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hikertrash View Post
Right now it only recognizes AA batteries.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I have not heard of this failure before. I am very curios to hear how it is resolved.

All the gold pins are making contact with the gold contacts on the li-ion battery inside the Montana, so far as you can tell?

Did you charge it via USB or the AC adapter?
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 12:59 PM   #5825
Hikertrash
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Arizona
Oddometer: 2,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlas cached View Post
I have not heard of this failure before. I am very curios to hear how it is resolved.

All the gold pins are making contact with the gold contacts on the li-ion battery inside the Montana, so far as you can tell?

Did you charge it via USB or the AC adapter?
All pins have contact with battery. Charging by USB today to see if that'll work. If not, it'll go back to vendor for testing/replacement.
__________________
IBA #50489

Hikertrash screwed with this post 11-12-2012 at 02:03 PM
Hikertrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 04:01 PM   #5826
jimrobinette
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Monterey, CA
Oddometer: 379
AMPS mount issues?

I ordered the 600 last week for $399 as posted here, and then last Sunday I ordered the AMPS mount and some RAM hardware from GPS City for second day delivery, as I was headed down to RawHyde's Adventure Days on Thursday.

When nothing arrived on Wed, I called GPS City and was told that the mount was on a back order and they don't expect them in for a couple of weeks. They said Garmin had pulled all stock due to a locking pin problem. Anybody heard of this? Have details? First I've heard of it.
jimrobinette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 04:07 PM   #5827
TowPro
Healing time Sucks
 
TowPro's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Compass PA
Oddometer: 2,755
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimrobinette View Post
I ordered the 600 last week for $399 as posted here, and then last Sunday I ordered the AMPS mount and some RAM hardware from GPS City for second day delivery, as I was headed down to RawHyde's Adventure Days on Thursday.

When nothing arrived on Wed, I called GPS City and was told that the mount was on a back order and they don't expect them in for a couple of weeks. They said Garmin had pulled all stock due to a locking pin problem. Anybody heard of this? Have details? First I've heard of it.

I do recall someone hear posting "I can't get the lock screw to catch the threads".
__________________
2014 R1200GS - My Naked Street Touring Bike
2000 KTM LC4 640 E - For everything else
TowPro is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 04:29 PM   #5828
Hikertrash
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Arizona
Oddometer: 2,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimrobinette View Post
I ordered the 600 last week for $399 as posted here, and then last Sunday I ordered the AMPS mount and some RAM hardware from GPS City for second day delivery, as I was headed down to RawHyde's Adventure Days on Thursday.

When nothing arrived on Wed, I called GPS City and was told that the mount was on a back order and they don't expect them in for a couple of weeks. They said Garmin had pulled all stock due to a locking pin problem. Anybody heard of this? Have details? First I've heard of it.
I having the same problem as well. Someone mentioned that the GPS had to be seated completely for the lock to work. I eventually got mine to catch the threads but the effort to do so does not seem normal.
Hikertrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 04:41 PM   #5829
Yossarian™
Deputy Cultural Attaché
 
Yossarian™'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: the 'Ha
Oddometer: 9,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by TowPro View Post
I do recall someone hear posting "I can't get the lock screw to catch the threads".
My mount has this issue. GPSCity got Garmin to send me a replacement for free.

It sits in the box, unopened. I have found that there is no way the Montana pops out of the mount unless the release is pushed. So I never bother with the locking screw.
__________________
Successfully surviving motorcycling since 1976.
Yossarian™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 09:35 PM   #5830
Timmer
Beastly Adventurer
 
Timmer's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Burien, WA
Oddometer: 2,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by TowPro View Post
I do recall someone hear posting "I can't get the lock screw to catch the threads".
I just observed the same behavior on my stateside mount. It works just fine on my mount in Germany. I thought for a minute it was me, but finding this thread, I'm not alone.
__________________
Tim in Burien, WA
'05 R1200GS '03 F650GS
'08 WR250R
'03 Wing
'01 ST1100
Timmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 09:45 PM   #5831
kdtrull
Alpha Nerd
 
kdtrull's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: NW AL
Oddometer: 113
Does the new Montana allow you to control how far out you can zoom and still see th minor roads? I hate it when they turn off the minor roads too soon.

Kdt
kdtrull is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 04:58 AM   #5832
johnpitts01
Studly Adventurer
 
johnpitts01's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Philly
Oddometer: 860
New Montana Owner - Finally! A few initial questions

I'm sure the answers are in this thread somewhere. But the info seems to change daily, so I'd appreciate the latest correct setup

Brand new virgin Montana 650 - Haven't even turned it on yet.
I want to load CNNT 2013 with lifetime updates and Topo 100k maps. I have CD's for both.
The questions:
1) I believe the best setup is to load the maps to a uSD card, correct?
2) What size card should I get, and is there a specific brand / model that is fast and compatible?
3) What is the specific procedure to ensure the maps are loaded to the uSD card (and not the unit)?


Any other specific pointers for initial setup of the unit are much appreciated!

Thanks in advance.


John





Quote:
Originally Posted by johnpitts01 View Post
OK, I'm convinced. Will start shopping.

One final question (for now);
Does the Montana have fitness functions to monitor heart rate, cadence, etc.?

I see heart rate straps and cadence sensors in the accessories list for the Montana on their website. But I cannot find anything that definitely states yes or no for these functions.

If I can use the Montana while running and bicycling in place of my Forerunner wrist unit to monitor and track my rides/runs that would be a bonus.


JB
johnpitts01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 06:21 AM   #5833
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdtrull View Post
Does the new Montana allow you to control how far out you can zoom and still see th minor roads? I hate it when they turn off the minor roads too soon.
No, the gps does not really control that. It's a property that's built into the map.

But if you have a map like the OSM ones which allow road detail out to the 5km zoom level, then you can see lots of detail when zoomed out.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 06:25 AM   #5834
Rocky TFS
Studly Adventurer
 
Rocky TFS's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Hailey, Idaho
Oddometer: 519
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdtrull View Post
Does the new Montana allow you to control how far out you can zoom and still see th minor roads? I hate it when they turn off the minor roads too soon.

Kdt
Setup>Map>Advanced>Detail.....Most to Least

I think a lot of us leave it at Most. Different maps lose the details at different zooms. CNNA is poor in this regard for ADV riders, which is why I use various topo maps for dirt riding.
Rocky TFS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 06:34 AM   #5835
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnpitts01 View Post
I'm sure the answers are in this thread somewhere. But the info seems to change daily, so I'd appreciate the latest correct setup

Brand new virgin Montana 650 - Haven't even turned it on yet.
I want to load CNNT 2013 with lifetime updates and Topo 100k maps. I have CD's for both.
The questions:
1) I believe the best setup is to load the maps to a uSD card, correct?
2) What size card should I get, and is there a specific brand / model that is fast and compatible?
3) What is the specific procedure to ensure the maps are loaded to the uSD card (and not the unit)?
I think a couple of identical 16 gig cards are the best way to go. Keep the same maps on both and if one card gets corrupted while you're on the road then just switch to the spare.

The cards don't have to be very fast but I don't think it's a bargain to buy cheap brands.

Use the most recent version of MapInstall to put the maps on the card. Just choose the right destination, ie the card and not the gps.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014