ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > The Garage
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-12-2012, 07:36 AM   #1
Spikehead OP
Two-Bit Throttle Bum
 
Spikehead's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Between Scylla and Charybdis.
Oddometer: 6,174
2002 Silverado fan speed control resistor

Anyone replaced one? I'm down to 2 of 5 speeds and need to replace it before more snow flies.
__________________
-Spikehead


"I was tempted by the Invisible Man, I surely was." -Propforward
Spikehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 09:52 AM   #2
GreaseMonkey
Preshrunk & Cottony
 
GreaseMonkey's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: The only county in Illinois with no train tracks
Oddometer: 5,194
They are -usually- a 10 minute job. -usually- the glove compartment comes out and it is pretty obvious behind that. Most of the time you spend more time cleaning out the glove compartment so you don't spill everything than you do actually replacing the resistor block.

Having said that, I'll look to see if that is where yours is, sometimes you can reach around and not even have to do that but it depends 100% on the particular vehicle.
GreaseMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 09:56 AM   #3
GreaseMonkey
Preshrunk & Cottony
 
GreaseMonkey's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: The only county in Illinois with no train tracks
Oddometer: 5,194
Here's a link for a 1997, I suspect yours is similar if not identical:

http://www.justanswer.com/gm/1v3f6-1...-resistor.html

The image from that page:


Also there are a couple youtube videos, I didn't look at it though:

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j...D29r-qddrO7Fiw

Hope that helps.
GreaseMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 03:25 PM   #4
Spikehead OP
Two-Bit Throttle Bum
 
Spikehead's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Between Scylla and Charybdis.
Oddometer: 6,174
Thumb

Thanks. My Dakota was firewall mounted under the hood and was maybe a two minute job, but I wasn't sure where the General had hidden the damn thing.
__________________
-Spikehead


"I was tempted by the Invisible Man, I surely was." -Propforward
Spikehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 08:27 AM   #5
Multiplicity
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Location: Nor-Cal
Oddometer: 172
The power module for your 02 Silvo is located under the right side of the dash. You'll need to remove the HVAC close-out cover under the right side passengers dashboard. It's located just under the glove box. Look at the fan motor when you remove the close-out panel and you'll see it. The module has about 6 wires going in and two coming out. The two coming out go to the blower motor. You can't mistake it for anything else
Multiplicity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 01:31 PM   #6
dirtrulz
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: denver co
Oddometer: 472
The connectors on the newer ones seemed to have melting problems, not sure about the older ones.
dirtrulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 05:49 PM   #7
Multiplicity
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Location: Nor-Cal
Oddometer: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtrulz View Post
The connectors on the newer ones seemed to have melting problems, not sure about the older ones.

They have a TSB for this issue. Check with your local dealer or repair shop for further info.
Multiplicity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 11:12 AM   #8
nofate
what blackflies?
 
nofate's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Chapleau, ON
Oddometer: 2,807
I remember replacing it on my '99 GMC Sierra. Your new body style should be the same. The replacement part looked a little different from the original, but it worked. I had to buy a special deep socket (7 mm ?) to be able to disassemble the housing so I could access the part. It was nice to have all the fan speeds again though.
__________________
Rick, Chapleau, ON
Triumph Scrambler 900
Honda Trail CT90

Flying with Rick float plane video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g6my0FM9F_Q
nofate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 11:27 AM   #9
phreakingeek
Gnarly Adventurer
 
phreakingeek's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: VA
Oddometer: 280
my 2005 had the same problem

I ordered a replacement online and replaced the OEM one that was cooked.

It took me about 30 minutes since I'm pretty slow soldering and I didnt want to have to cut any wires and redo it. It required cutting and soldering of about 12 wires and I used heat shrink on all the joints.

Worst part about the repair is that it's a fairly inconvenient place to work. Had to find a bucket that was the right height to sit on so i could lean in and work in the space under the dash.
phreakingeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014