ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 4.80 average. Display Modes
Old 12-07-2012, 02:22 PM   #1831
leftystrat62
Adventurer
 
leftystrat62's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Little Rhody
Oddometer: 999
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Select the track then go to File, Export.
I did that and it worked as you instructed,but when I drag one of the gps files from my mac desktop into my external hardrive-still NO go??!!!
What am I missing???
leftystrat62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 02:52 PM   #1832
EmmEff
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Innisfil, Ontario, Canada
Oddometer: 1,572
Quote:
Originally Posted by leftystrat62 View Post
I did that and it worked as you instructed,but when I drag one of the gps files from my mac desktop into my external hardrive-still NO go??!!!
What am I missing???
Can you drag a "regular" to your external hard drive? Have you ever used this external hard drive with your Mac before? This does not sound like a Basecamp problem, especially if Basecamp successfully exported the file to your desktop.
__________________
2001 F650GS Dakar
2008 DR-Z 400S
EmmEff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 03:33 PM   #1833
SnowMule
[angry moth noises]
 
SnowMule's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: I LIVE IN A GIANT BUCKET
Oddometer: 17,860
Sounds like the disk is NTFS-formatted, in which case windows can read/write to it but Mac mounts it read-only. There's tools to make it writeable.

Dunno if it's like Parallels, but i'd set up a shared folder that mounts like a network or mass storage drive, then export it to that.

Or export it to any FAT32-formatted disk (USB drive, etc).
__________________
Spewer of the poignant non sequitur
SnowMule is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 05:12 PM   #1834
leftystrat62
Adventurer
 
leftystrat62's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Little Rhody
Oddometer: 999
O'k,so I think I may have transferred pics and music from my mac into my external hard drive( I know I did it with my windows computer),but am not certain. I just successfully down loaded the gps tracks onto a cd disc and then tried to transfer these into my external hard drive-still no go. Any other ideas-thank you for your patience all.
leftystrat62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 05:49 PM   #1835
marchyman
Cam Killer
 
marchyman's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Oddometer: 6,741
Quote:
Originally Posted by leftystrat62 View Post
Any other ideas-thank you for your patience all.
Click once on the icon for your external drive. Hit CMD-I. A window will pop up with some info. In the "General" box will be a line that says

"Format: ???????".

What is the ??????? on your drive? Without knowing that we can't help you much.
marchyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 06:41 PM   #1836
EmmEff
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Innisfil, Ontario, Canada
Oddometer: 1,572
Quote:
Originally Posted by leftystrat62 View Post
O'k,so I think I may have transferred pics and music from my mac into my external hard drive( I know I did it with my windows computer),but am not certain. I just successfully down loaded the gps tracks onto a cd disc and then tried to transfer these into my external hard drive-still no go. Any other ideas-thank you for your patience all.
I suspect you transferred them with Windows and as SnowMule mentioned, the drive is formatted as NTFS, which cannot be written on a Mac without additional software. I'd second the suggestion to use a USB thumb drive between Windows and a Mac.
__________________
2001 F650GS Dakar
2008 DR-Z 400S
EmmEff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 07:30 PM   #1837
leftystrat62
Adventurer
 
leftystrat62's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Little Rhody
Oddometer: 999
Quote:
Originally Posted by marchyman View Post
Click once on the icon for your external drive. Hit CMD-I. A window will pop up with some info. In the "General" box will be a line that says

"Format: ???????".

What is the ??????? on your drive? Without knowing that we can't help you much.
The format is: Windows NT File System (NTFS)
leftystrat62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 07:31 PM   #1838
EmmEff
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Innisfil, Ontario, Canada
Oddometer: 1,572
Quote:
Originally Posted by leftystrat62 View Post
The format is: Windows NT File System (NTFS)
Bingo. You cannot write to that disk format from a Mac without buying additional software. Ether reformat the drive as FAT32 or use a USB thumb drive.
__________________
2001 F650GS Dakar
2008 DR-Z 400S
EmmEff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 07:38 PM   #1839
marchyman
Cam Killer
 
marchyman's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Oddometer: 6,741
Or, if you are only going to use the drive on a Mac, format it as "Mac OS Extended (Journaled)". Keep in mind that you lose all information currently on the drive when you format. Back up anything you want to save, first. To format the drive run Disk Utility.
marchyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 08:04 PM   #1840
leftystrat62
Adventurer
 
leftystrat62's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Little Rhody
Oddometer: 999
Quote:
Originally Posted by EmmEff View Post
Bingo. You cannot write to that disk format from a Mac without buying additional software. Ether reformat the drive as FAT32 or use a USB thumb drive.
Is it simple enough to reformat the drive as FAT32,if I do that will that restrict me from only using it with my mac and not my computer with windows? If I do reformat it will I be able to view the rest of the info already on it from either my mac or PC? If I decide to leave that HD as is,I'd like to get another one for my mac,will that mean once I use it -it will then only work with my mac? In the mean time I'll certainly buy a thumb drive. Aside from the storage capacity-are they all pretty much equal? Thanks for all the help from everyone-lot's to learn with computers.
leftystrat62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 08:12 PM   #1841
tomatoe333
Beastly Adventurer
 
tomatoe333's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Back on the east side
Oddometer: 2,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by leftystrat62 View Post
Is it simple enough to reformat the drive as FAT32,if I do that will that restrict me from only using it with my mac and not my computer with windows? If I do reformat it will I be able to view the rest of the info already on it from either my mac or PC? If I decide to leave that HD as is,I'd like to get another one for my mac,will that mean once I use it -it will then only work with my mac? In the mean time I'll certainly buy a thumb drive. Aside from the storage capacity-are they all pretty much equal? Thanks for all the help from everyone-lot's to learn with computers.
FAT32 will be readable, and writeable, by both the Windows machine and the Mac.
__________________
"Keep the standard settings will be useful to learn more about the bike. One should reach a sufficient technical level, when then humbly questioning calibration of your motorcycles."
tomatoe333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 10:44 PM   #1842
gavmac
Gnarly Adventurer
 
gavmac's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Boonah, Qld, AU
Oddometer: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by leftystrat62 View Post
......If I do reformat it will I be able to view the rest of the info already on it from either my mac or PC?
NO, If you reformat the disk you lose the info already on it.
__________________
Gavin
gavmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 10:48 PM   #1843
gavmac
Gnarly Adventurer
 
gavmac's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Boonah, Qld, AU
Oddometer: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by leftystrat62 View Post
.... If I decide to leave that HD as is,I'd like to get another one for my mac,will that mean once I use it -it will then only work with my mac?
If you do get another HD and you format it as FAT32, you will be able to use it on both Mac & Windows. If you format it as Mac OS Extended (Journaled) you will only be able to use it on Mac, not Windows.
__________________
Gavin
gavmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 06:43 AM   #1844
leftystrat62
Adventurer
 
leftystrat62's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Little Rhody
Oddometer: 999
Quote:
Originally Posted by gavmac View Post
If you do get another HD and you format it as FAT32, you will be able to use it on both Mac & Windows. If you format it as Mac OS Extended (Journaled) you will only be able to use it on Mac, not Windows.
So if I buy a new HD and plug it into my mac-will it ask me how I want to format it: FAT32 or Mac OS Extended? I'd certainly like to use it between both computers if necessary so FAT32 seems like the better option.
leftystrat62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 07:01 AM   #1845
PhilSpace
The Gov
 
PhilSpace's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: Springfield, VA
Oddometer: 35,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by leftystrat62 View Post
So if I buy a new HD and plug it into my mac-will it ask me how I want to format it: FAT32 or Mac OS Extended? I'd certainly like to use it between both computers if necessary so FAT32 seems like the better option.
Most come formated FAT32, and you can format them using either filesystem using the Disk Utility (Apps/Utility folder).
__________________

PhilSpace is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014