ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-03-2012, 09:19 PM   #1906
moto-treks
Back Home
 
moto-treks's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Spokane Washington
Oddometer: 1,693
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdxthmper View Post
Where might I find it?
http://www.tomhamburg.net/KTM_Tune_list.html
__________________
Moto Trek'n to New York via the Trans Labrador Hwy, South America

Moto-Treks
moto-treks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 09:46 PM   #1907
Zuber
Zoob
 
Zuber's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Main Street, Shedd, Oregon
Oddometer: 1,538
Look in the KTM directory that came with the TuneECU program. It's at the bottom of the list.
__________________
"Dad, can I get a motorcycle when I grow up?"
"Son, you can't do both"
Zuber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 10:35 AM   #1908
stevodadevo
What happened?
 
stevodadevo's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Oddometer: 177
Tune Recommendation?

2008 990 Adventure with dual FMF slip-ons and desmogged. Looking for a tune that helps with the throttle snatch issue. Higher MPGs would be nice too.

Can anyone recommend me a tune to load up?

stevodadevo screwed with this post 12-05-2012 at 01:45 PM
stevodadevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 01:32 PM   #1909
Tom-Hamburg
Adventurer
 
Tom-Hamburg's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: Hamburg
Oddometer: 82
!! Update December-04-2012, TuneECU 2.4 now Released !!

!! Update December-04-2012, TuneECU 2.4 now Released !!

Note:
Possibility of changing from values in the tables in graphical mode with the mouse.

The description follows with the revision of the online sites between Christmas and New Year.

BR, Tom
__________________
TuneECU
-----------------
Triumph Speed Triple 1050
Triumph Rocket Roadster
Tom-Hamburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 04:12 PM   #1910
Dusty
Beastly Adventurer
 
Dusty's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Bismarck
Oddometer: 1,136
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom-Hamburg View Post
!! Update December-04-2012, TuneECU 2.4 now Released !!

Note:
Possibility of changing from values in the tables in graphical mode with the mouse.

The description follows with the revision of the online sites between Christmas and New Year.

BR, Tom
WOW!!!

Thanks....
Just gave it a test.
Went into the ignition graphic tables (f5) and right clicked a RPM and then hold shift and click throttle position you want and drag the point on the graph to where you want it.... BRILLIANT.
__________________
Originally Posted by d0gWateR
Vagrant, vagabond, transient, hobo, bum. But park a motorcycle next to him and PRESTO! He's an advrider!

Dusty screwed with this post 12-05-2012 at 04:20 PM
Dusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 08:41 PM   #1911
Zuber
Zoob
 
Zuber's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Main Street, Shedd, Oregon
Oddometer: 1,538
Whoaaa!!! That's great! I've just loaded it up and it works great.

But to state it better - Right Click the RPM, then you only need to Click the throttle position at the top of the chart. Then you can drag in the graphics area to modify the value. You can select or unselect multiple throttle positions at the top of the chart, so you can make changes to several values at the same time.

Another unintended feature of this change - now you can do screen shots of a single RPM curve. It also shows the 'comparison' curve if you load a comparison file. I'll try to create one and post it.
__________________
"Dad, can I get a motorcycle when I grow up?"
"Son, you can't do both"

Zuber screwed with this post 12-05-2012 at 09:41 PM
Zuber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 10:19 PM   #1912
Zuber
Zoob
 
Zuber's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Main Street, Shedd, Oregon
Oddometer: 1,538
More on V2.4 - if you have a Comparison file loaded, when you right click on the RPM, it will now show the values AND the percentage difference between the current file and the compare file. This makes it very easy to compare the changes you are making.

Tom's release notes really under sell the changes that he makes.
__________________
"Dad, can I get a motorcycle when I grow up?"
"Son, you can't do both"
Zuber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 10:41 PM   #1913
Dusty
Beastly Adventurer
 
Dusty's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Bismarck
Oddometer: 1,136
Yep you dont need to hold the shift key, just select desired field at the top, 1 or many.
I saw the percentages also... ain't that sweet...
__________________
Originally Posted by d0gWateR
Vagrant, vagabond, transient, hobo, bum. But park a motorcycle next to him and PRESTO! He's an advrider!
Dusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 10:18 AM   #1914
EOD3MC
What will break next
 
EOD3MC's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Colonial Beach VA
Oddometer: 4,368
For the guys that are getting near 40 mpg....

How are you measuring distance? (bike's odometer or GPS)
If your using the bike odometer, what is your speedometer set for? 19 or 21 inch wheel size?

When I got my 990 about a year ago, I was getting around 40 mpg using the bike's odometer. Since then I'm tried different maps, replaced the fuel filters and installed and removed O-2 sensor bypasses...but lately I can't seem to get better than 35 mpg.

It suddenly dawned on me that I have "corrected" the speedometer accuracy by changing the wheel size setting to 19.

Current plan is to use the GPS for distance measurements this week when commuting to work to see what my "actual" gas mileage is.
EOD3MC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 06:25 PM   #1915
AZ-Twin
Dusty and Thirsty
 
AZ-Twin's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ
Oddometer: 1,311
Are any of you guys using the OBD II cable that CJ Designs sells to check codes on your car? I'm looking for a good software package to look at the status of the sensors on my car. I'm trying to figure out the specks of that cable, or at least the make/model. I asked on his site, but I figure some of you guys might use the cable on your car too so I thought I would ask.

Thanks
__________________
Rob Swartzwelder, Southern AZ
I'm not real fast, but I do have a dog named Dakar!
97 M900, 07 G650 XChallenge,11 KTM 990 ADV R
2011 North up the CDR
Sierra Vista AZ to Paonia CO and Back through Moab UT

AZ-Twin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 07:29 PM   #1916
tahoeacr
Beastly Adventurer
 
tahoeacr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Lake Tahoe
Oddometer: 2,209
Quote:
Originally Posted by EOD3MC View Post
For the guys that are getting near 40 mpg....

How are you measuring distance? (bike's odometer or GPS)
If your using the bike odometer, what is your speedometer set for? 19 or 21 inch wheel size?

.

I'm way past 40 but I'll tell you anyways. With my bike when set on 21 the speedo is accurate and the Odo sucks. When set at 19, the speedo reads fast by 3 or 4 mph. The Odo is off 1/10th per 5 miles with a knobby on front. I use both odo and GPS.
tahoeacr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 10:54 PM   #1917
gefr
Life is a trip
 
gefr's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: East Med, Greece
Oddometer: 3,555
Speedo settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by tahoeacr View Post
I'm way past 40 but I'll tell you anyways. With my bike when set on 21 the speedo is accurate and the Odo sucks. When set at 19, the speedo reads fast by 3 or 4 mph. The Odo is off 1/10th per 5 miles with a knobby on front. I use both odo and GPS.
Maybe you got it upside down? When speedo set at 21 it reads faster so to give us a safety margin of 8% odo is accurate? what speedo does is multiply revolutions X circumference - smaller circumference = lower speed
__________________
There is always a reason!!
Fuel filters Fuel pump
Aluminum base plate for ITG foam air filter
Clutch master cylinder resleeving
Out of office April 18 to 27
gefr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 08:30 PM   #1918
Zuber
Zoob
 
Zuber's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Main Street, Shedd, Oregon
Oddometer: 1,538
TuneECU and Blue Screen of Death

Many times I get the BSOD after using TuneECU. I think it is due to the USB drivers, but I'm not certain. Any tips on on this? I'm guessing it is the order that I disconnect the bike, the usb cable, and shutting down TuneECU. Windows 7, 64 bit OS, HP Laptop with lots of memory.
__________________
"Dad, can I get a motorcycle when I grow up?"
"Son, you can't do both"
Zuber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 08:38 PM   #1919
Rockwell
Studly Adventurer
 
Rockwell's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Ontario
Oddometer: 605
Maybe try running TuneECU in compatibility mode?

To do this:

1. right-click the TuneECU shortcut or exe file
2. click "Properties" in the right-click menu (bottom)
3. select the "Compatibility" tab
4. check the "Run this program in compatibility mode for:" box
5 ...and try "Windows XP" fromt he drop-down menu.

Try this and let us know. I am also running Window 7 64-bit, but with no problems. I didn't need to run TuneECU in compatibility mode, but it's worth a try.
__________________
not all those who wander are lost | two earthlings ride around the world
Home | Photo Blog | The Route | The Bike | About Us | Participate!
Rockwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 09:55 PM   #1920
Zuber
Zoob
 
Zuber's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Main Street, Shedd, Oregon
Oddometer: 1,538
Thanks Rockwell, will give it a try.
__________________
"Dad, can I get a motorcycle when I grow up?"
"Son, you can't do both"
Zuber is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014