ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > The Garage
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-27-2012, 10:13 AM   #1
SR1 OP
Back in S. Korea
 
SR1's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Western NC
Oddometer: 4,373
Can't find the right heated gear cable...

I have an older Heat Troller hard wired into the bike. It has an SAE output. I have a new Gerbings jacket that is apparently "dual wired" so I have to power jacket and gloves separately.

So, I need a cable that is SAE on one end, and has two coax (females) on the other.

Where do I get this cable? Surely I'm not the only one that needs one of these.

Powerlet doesn't seem to have it...
__________________
My TAT trip in 2014: http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=998193
SR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 10:17 AM   #2
vtwin
Air cooled runnin' mon
 
vtwin's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: NorCal
Oddometer: 7,308
Can you do something like this?




And then this?

__________________
"Alles hat ein Ende--nur die Wurst, sie hat zwei"
Monroe.

"You only have too much fuel if you're on fire"
unknown
vtwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 09:56 PM   #3
SR1 OP
Back in S. Korea
 
SR1's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Western NC
Oddometer: 4,373
Yes, but the downside is that every connection is another possible place it'll disconnect. I would like to keep it as simple as possible.
__________________
My TAT trip in 2014: http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=998193
SR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 10:18 AM   #4
James Bond
Tight is best
 
James Bond's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Eagle Point, OR
Oddometer: 69
Shrink wrap the connection, that will make it pretty permanent.
__________________
09 KTM 530
11 BMW 1200GS
James Bond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 08:05 AM   #5
SR1 OP
Back in S. Korea
 
SR1's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Western NC
Oddometer: 4,373
Not a bad idea, actually. Thanks!
__________________
My TAT trip in 2014: http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=998193
SR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 08:22 AM   #6
xcflyn
Beastly Adventurer
 
xcflyn's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Rocky Mountains
Oddometer: 1,128
I just went through this yesterday. Same exact situation. I ended up doing what was suggested, I cut the female coax off one and purchased the old two pin and soldered them together. I used two different sized heat shrink tube so I could double it up. Worked out great, gave it the walk away from bike while plugged in test the very first ride. Hard to get used to that plug again, I have not used one in a couple years.
xcflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 11:46 AM   #7
Flashmo
Whatever...
 
Flashmo's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Vagabond Hippie
Oddometer: 2,553
Quote:
Originally Posted by xcflyn View Post
I just went through this yesterday. Same exact situation. I ended up doing what was suggested, I cut the female coax off one and purchased the old two pin and soldered them together. I used two different sized heat shrink tube so I could double it up. Worked out great, gave it the walk away from bike while plugged in test the very first ride. Hard to get used to that plug again, I have not used one in a couple years.
That's how I unplug myself 90% of the time...
Flashmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 05:42 AM   #8
Speedo66
Transient
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Cin City, OH
Oddometer: 6,602
Talk to this guy, he should have everything you need. http://034fdb9.netsolhost.com/bbblog1/category/coax/
__________________
Oh I used to be disgusted, but now I try to be amused-E.Costello
'01 Kawasaki W650, '05 Yamaha XT225



Speedo66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 01:32 AM   #9
omen
Adventurer
 
omen's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Dublin
Oddometer: 13
Jim at Eastern Beaver will have what you want, if he doesn't he will make it for you.

Good guy to deal with too.

http://www.easternbeaver.com/Main/main.html
omen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 07:10 AM   #10
SR1 OP
Back in S. Korea
 
SR1's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Western NC
Oddometer: 4,373
Thanks guys. Sorry for the late response, the wife and I are busy having a baby!

I appreciate the recommendations!!!
__________________
My TAT trip in 2014: http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=998193
SR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 01:53 PM   #11
SR1 OP
Back in S. Korea
 
SR1's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Western NC
Oddometer: 4,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedo66 View Post
Talk to this guy, he should have everything you need. http://034fdb9.netsolhost.com/bbblog1/category/coax/
So far, he does not. I'll reach out to the Eastern Beaver guy.
__________________
My TAT trip in 2014: http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=998193
SR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 10:49 PM   #12
SR1 OP
Back in S. Korea
 
SR1's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Western NC
Oddometer: 4,373
Follow up:

Eastern Beaver wouldn't make it either.


On a lark I called Powerlet. They asked me to send in a drawing, which I did. A week and $34 later I had a 1 meter long Y cable exactly the way I wanted it.

Thanks Powerlet!
__________________
My TAT trip in 2014: http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=998193
SR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014