ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS Tracks - Mexico, Central & South America
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 11-27-2012, 01:34 AM   #46
BigDogAdventures
Fart Letter
 
BigDogAdventures's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Mt. Vernon, Illinois
Oddometer: 4,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hill Climber View Post
I'm interested in BigDogs comment with his 276C having the ability to turn off topo lines. Maybe it's time to add another gps to my inventory.

Cheers
Yes---I always turned the topo lines off with the 276C-----------I swore the 60CSX has that ability too.
You can still buy 60CSX's as everyone knows---------but the 276's have not been produced for years and it's rare you'll find one for sale. I bought several in the last couple of years so I'd have them till I died.
I think everyone that is wanting new------is buying the Montana----and I don't know if you can turn the topo lines off with it or not.

BigDog
__________________
WR250R 2008
KTM EXC 450 2006
Husqvarna TR650 Terra 2013
KTM 690 Enduro 2014
If your bike weighs more than 400lbs. You might not make it.
BigDogAdventures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 08:39 AM   #47
mcnut
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Bakersfield CA & Sammamish WA
Oddometer: 1,354
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigDogAdventures.com View Post
I swore the 60CSX has that ability too.

BigDog
I'm a long time 60CSx user and do not believe it is possible to turn off (hide) the contour lines. Setting the detail level lower and turning on "De-clutter" may help with how busy the screen looks but some contour line remain.

I know my old Garmin V had a setting for what zoom level contours displayed including "Never".

Would love to know if this function has been added back for the Montana.

Bruce
mcnut is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 11:18 PM   #48
Hill Climber
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Kaslo BC summer, Yuma AZ during winter
Oddometer: 235
Turn topo lines off

Yeah, I was all over the "turn topo lines off" on my 60csx, but can't find any way to do so. Sure would be a great feature to have. It seems the only way to define a track line and topo line is to change the color of the track. (Being color deficient adds to the challenge!) Blue line during the day and white line during darkness.

Any montana owners know if this feature is on their units?

I think I'm going to pursue the notion of finding a 276C unit.
__________________
07 klr650 (for sale 3200ish)
08 ktm530
12 ktm990Adventure
Hill Climber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 12:11 AM   #49
beemer67
Really Old airhead
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Fish Limb, B.C. Canada
Oddometer: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by eakins View Post
you have to buy CA maps separate from Mexico.
http://www.bicimapas.com.mx/LatAm_Eng.htm
http://www.bicimapas.com.mx/MexicGPSAtlasEn.htm
if you are planning a US to Panama run this winter then these 2 packages would be the ultimate for your GPS.

The Bicimapas Atlas for 2013 contains Mexico and Central America in one package.

<< we now include our Central America GPS Map in a single package with topographic coverage with 20 meter (60 feet) contour interval in all 7 countries: Belize, Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua, Costa Rica and Panama.>>
beemer67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 07:49 PM   #50
jonz
Miles are my mantra
 
jonz's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: CA dez (it's a dry heat)/West Yellowstone,MT
Oddometer: 2,136
[QUOTE=beemer67;20132431]The Bicimapas Atlas for 2013 contains Mexico and Central America in one package. [QUOTE]



The inclusion of Central America was a nice surprise. Bicimapas has a sale going on right now until Xmas. I got it for $75. I just installed all the maps (1.4 Gigs) on my Garmin 478 equipped with the 2 gig chip sourced from the Russian guy in vendors. I'm pretty darn happy. I'm looking into the OSM maps for South America right now. I'm pretty hopeful that I'll be able to fit all the maps I need in my 478 for my upcoming ride back from Chile to home.
__________________
JONZ
KTM 950 SE, KTM640 ADV ( Hibachi, risen from the ashes)
KTM520EXC (broken), KTM 400XC (the replacement)
Honda ST1300 ABS (newest addition to the stable)
STOC #326 IBA #217

jonz screwed with this post 12-14-2012 at 08:05 PM
jonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 08:07 PM   #51
eakins
Butler Maps
 
eakins's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Oddometer: 17,519
Quote:
Originally Posted by beemer67 View Post
The Bicimapas Atlas for 2013 contains Mexico and Central America in one package.

<< we now include our Central America GPS Map in a single package with topographic coverage with 20 meter (60 feet) contour interval in all 7 countries: Belize, Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua, Costa Rica and Panama.>>
oh nice. i missed that. that is now THE gps package for those riding mexico & CA.
__________________
Butler Maps - motorcycle maps for riders by riders -
Alaska
AZ map COBDR AZBDR IDBDR South East map
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=598717
Butler Maps website:
http://www.butlermaps.com
eakins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 10:17 AM   #52
ktm55
Adventurer
 
ktm55's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: San Jose, CA
Oddometer: 31
topo lines off

60csx won't do it. I use Base Camp on my pc and there's an option there to do turn the lines off.

For US I use 24k maps. Is the 100k better in the sense of less clutter when following a track? Any down side to the 100k?
ktm55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 11:55 PM   #53
marios
Adventurer wannabe
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Encinitas
Oddometer: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtndragon View Post
I used the E32 maps for a short trip down to Northern Baja last weekend. They worked great, the whole transfer into Basecamp for Mac was easy, and the mapset had even the smallest goat trails. Good stuff.
Thanks, Omar.
going to baja monday and I need to buy e32. where the hell can i buy this from online??
thanks

marios
__________________
1971 Triumph Bonneville - 1971 Honda CB 100
1975 Benelli 500 Quattro - 1978 Yamaha XS 1100
1982 Honda Passport - 1999 Yamaha WR 400
2006 BMW R 1200 GSA - 2008 MV Agusta 312R
marios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 04:35 AM   #54
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,737
Quote:
Originally Posted by marios View Post
going to baja monday and I need to buy e32. where the hell can i buy this from online??
thanks

marios
Did you try their website?
http://www.cartografiagps.com/mape32/presentations.htm

__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 10:02 AM   #55
GSABest
El Adventurero
 
GSABest's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Manzanillo, Mexico
Oddometer: 320
Bicimapas Mexico GPS Atlas 2013 install on Garmin Zumo 350 LM?

Has anyone successfully done this installation? After some struggling, I finally have the map installed onto an 8GB microSD card in the unit, after changing the device from MTP to a mass storage device so that windows would recognize the card. But the GPS won't read the map - at all. The only thing I can think of is that I had purchased this maps under the unit ID of my old GPS (streetpilot 2820) and perhaps there is a disconnect with the Unit ID of the new 350LM.

I have updated the software/firmware (2.7) of the 350LM so there should be no issues there. I have tried a clean reload the maps using Mapsource, after the firmware update, in case there was a problem with the original download to the card. The only thing that changed was the message the 350LM gives on start up. Before firmware update it said "cannot activate map", now after firmware update and clean download to 8GB card in device it says "cannot unlock maps". Neither do the maps appear in the list of "mymaps" in the 350LM menu system.

I had contacted Bicimapas via their facebook page and their advice was to update firmware on the 350LM, which they said worked for them. I did that and no luck. I have since contacted them and not received any reply.

Anyone have luck with this?

Marc
__________________
Current Ride: 2008 BMW R1200GS Adventure (Mi Gran Esperanza Roja)

Past Rides: 1990 VFR 750 (2007 - sold to my son), 2000 RC51 (2000 - 2003), 1990 VFR 750 (1996 - 1999), 1989 Yamaha TDR250 (1998 - 1999), 1989 NT650 Hawk GT x 2 (1998 - 1999), 1982 Honda Interstate (1982 - 1983), 1981 Honda CB900F (1981 - 1982), 1980 Honda CB900 Custom (1980 - 1981), 1978 Kawasaki KZ650 C2 Custom (1978), 1974 Kawasaki 400 Triple, 1976 Honda XL 250
GSABest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 10:09 PM   #56
MJS
Beastly Adventurer
 
MJS's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Ventura, CA
Oddometer: 1,801
You need to get a new unlock code based on the unit ID of your new GPSr.
__________________
"You can follow me, but it's gonna hurt"
MJS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 08:04 PM   #57
GSABest
El Adventurero
 
GSABest's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Manzanillo, Mexico
Oddometer: 320
Got it sorted out with help from Bicimapas. And yes it was the unlock code. They sent me a new one and bingo... Unlocked and working. Thanks for the reply!!
__________________
Current Ride: 2008 BMW R1200GS Adventure (Mi Gran Esperanza Roja)

Past Rides: 1990 VFR 750 (2007 - sold to my son), 2000 RC51 (2000 - 2003), 1990 VFR 750 (1996 - 1999), 1989 Yamaha TDR250 (1998 - 1999), 1989 NT650 Hawk GT x 2 (1998 - 1999), 1982 Honda Interstate (1982 - 1983), 1981 Honda CB900F (1981 - 1982), 1980 Honda CB900 Custom (1980 - 1981), 1978 Kawasaki KZ650 C2 Custom (1978), 1974 Kawasaki 400 Triple, 1976 Honda XL 250
GSABest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 08:28 AM   #58
stormdog
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Almost Southern Oregon
Oddometer: 288
bicimaps and Garmin Montana

Has anyone put the bicimapas 2013 on a Garmin Montana?
Their web site says to use mapsource but I don't think my Montana will work in anything but basecamp.
The last trip to Mexico I screwed up the down load of my E32 maps and don't want to screw up again.
stormdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 11:51 PM   #59
oldxr
Beastly Adventurer
 
oldxr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: central komifornia
Oddometer: 1,079
E32 just released version 2014.Its got some tracks for baja and copper canyon included.I am going to try it out next month in baja.Problem is that the gps is smarter than the operator.
oldxr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 09:32 PM   #60
haket
Gnarly Adventurer
 
haket's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: San Jose,CA
Oddometer: 172
Anyone know how the Bicimaps compare to the Garmin Mexico TOPOs that seen to use the Bicimaps db ? particularly for Baja ?

https://buy.garmin.com/en-US/digital...gallery-dialog
haket is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014