ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 12 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 12-16-2012, 05:59 AM   #31
JoaoPCF
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Portugal
Oddometer: 25
i've tried my new montana 650t for the first time last week, coming from brisbane to sydney, and even if i'm still getting the hang of it there was one thing that annoyed me during most of the trip, the screen keeps rotating even when i'm riding asphalt. has enyone had the same problem? i wanted to know your opinion before i go back to the guys at ryda to ask for a replacement.
JoaoPCF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 08:39 AM   #32
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,884
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoaoPCF View Post
i've tried my new montana 650t for the first time last week, coming from brisbane to sydney, and even if i'm still getting the hang of it there was one thing that annoyed me during most of the trip, the screen keeps rotating even when i'm riding asphalt. has enyone had the same problem? i wanted to know your opinion before i go back to the guys at ryda to ask for a replacement.
You can lock it in one orientation:


^ Setup > Display > Orientation Lock
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 10:37 AM   #33
Mudcat
Unregistered
 
Mudcat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Bay Area
Oddometer: 4,472
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto View Post
You can lock it in one orientation:


^ Setup > Display > Orientation Lock
You can lock into Track Up I assume?
__________________
I've got to be cool
Relax
Take a long long ride on my motor bike
Untill I'm ready
Mudcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 11:02 AM   #34
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 4,879
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mudcat View Post
You can lock into Track Up I assume?
Of course but that is not what is happening to JoaoPCF. Even if the Map Orientation is set to Track Up, the DISPLAY can rotate between Landscape and Portrait mode. So, doing as Emoto suggested will "lock" the DISPLAY from rotating when the built-in accelerometer thinks the unit is rotating (which can happen on any surface if there is enough vibration).

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 11:27 AM   #35
Mudcat
Unregistered
 
Mudcat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Bay Area
Oddometer: 4,472
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
Of course but that is not what is happening to JoaoPCF. Even if the Map Orientation is set to Track Up, the DISPLAY can rotate between Landscape and Portrait mode. So, doing as Emoto suggested will "lock" the DISPLAY from rotating when the built-in accelerometer thinks the unit is rotating (which can happen on any surface if there is enough vibration).Cheers,
Thanks. I am trying to learn a little about the Montana, I am probably going to end up with one. An awful lot of what is posted I do not understand.
__________________
I've got to be cool
Relax
Take a long long ride on my motor bike
Untill I'm ready
Mudcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 04:08 AM   #36
JoaoPCF
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Portugal
Oddometer: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
Of course but that is not what is happening to JoaoPCF. Even if the Map Orientation is set to Track Up, the DISPLAY can rotate between Landscape and Portrait mode. So, doing as Emoto suggested will "lock" the DISPLAY from rotating when the built-in accelerometer thinks the unit is rotating (which can happen on any surface if there is enough vibration).

Cheers,
yep, that's pretty much what happened. thanks for your help. i'll try it tomorrow
JoaoPCF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014