ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Equipment
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-25-2012, 01:52 PM   #2101
dad2bike
Cranky Old Fart
 
dad2bike's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Oddometer: 3,231
I guess a whole lot of people got GoPro stuff for Christmas. The website is this side of crashed.
I'll have to wait a few days for the dust to settle to update my new WiFi unit.
__________________
Tom
2006 950 Adventure "Big Orange", 2009 690R "Ginger",2003 525 EXC,
To Think is to Create!
My2Wheels
690 WIKI
dad2bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 10:33 AM   #2102
RideFreak
Green Chile Eater
 
RideFreak's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: County Lockup, NM
Oddometer: 5,328
Quote:
Originally Posted by dad2bike View Post
I guess a whole lot of people got GoPro stuff for Christmas. The website is this side of crashed.
I'll have to wait a few days for the dust to settle to update my new WiFi unit.
It's running ok now.
RideFreak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 10:53 AM   #2103
StuartV
Motorcyclist
 
StuartV's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Bristow, VA
Oddometer: 833
Yeah, along with NetFlix and some other really big players, are hosted with Amazon Web Services and, apparently, AWS crashed on Christmas Eve. Funny enough, while NetFlix was down for Christmas, Amazon's own movie rental streaming business was still up and working....

Doh!!!
__________________
- Stu
'09 R12GS, '05 GSX-R1000
Iron Butt # 4999, WERA/CCS EX # 666 (currently, expired), AMA Life Member
Racer, Drummer, Bassist, Software Engineer
StuartV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 11:34 AM   #2104
dad2bike
Cranky Old Fart
 
dad2bike's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Oddometer: 3,231
I saw that in the news.
I got my Stuff updated early this morning. Didn't have enough time to get things all sorted out before work.
Still have some hurdles to jump to get the remote working correctly.
__________________
Tom
2006 950 Adventure "Big Orange", 2009 690R "Ginger",2003 525 EXC,
To Think is to Create!
My2Wheels
690 WIKI
dad2bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 07:23 PM   #2105
burmbuster
Beastly Adventurer
 
burmbuster's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: South East USA
Oddometer: 1,427
The wife gave me a Hero 2 for Xmas. Ordered the wi-if bacpac and a spare battery. Is there a battery charger available to use inside the tank bag?
__________________
_______________
2013 KTM 690 Enduro R
burmbuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 07:27 PM   #2106
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by burmbuster View Post
The wife gave me a Hero 2 for Xmas. Ordered the wi-if bacpac and a spare battery. Is there a battery charger available to use inside the tank bag?
Do an Amazon search for 'Wasabi charger for Hero 2'.

Just remembered: it's cheaper to buy directly from their web site. Go here Blue Nook Wasabi to the site.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.

Emmbeedee screwed with this post 12-26-2012 at 07:45 PM
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 10:03 PM   #2107
bash3r
Beastly Adventurer
 
bash3r's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Wentzville, MO
Oddometer: 1,682
I picked up the GoPro Battery Pac and use it to charge batteries in my tank bag and also have the option to add second battery for long rides... It's been the best option for me.
__________________
08' Yamaha WR250R
09' Yamaha WR250F

My ADV Website
| ADV Legends |Campground POIs
bash3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 03:58 AM   #2108
burmbuster
Beastly Adventurer
 
burmbuster's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: South East USA
Oddometer: 1,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Do an Amazon search for 'Wasabi charger for Hero 2'.

Just remembered: it's cheaper to buy directly from their web site. Go here Blue Nook Wasabi to the site.
Thanks, Emm!
__________________
_______________
2013 KTM 690 Enduro R
burmbuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 05:24 AM   #2109
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by burmbuster View Post
Thanks, Emm!
No problem. You can't beat $19.95 for two batteries and an ac/dc charger.

When you use the charger in your tank bag, wrap an elastic band around the charger and battery to make sure it stays in place.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 06:59 AM   #2110
gots_a_sol
Gnarly Adventurer
 
gots_a_sol's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Charles Town, WV
Oddometer: 388
I haven't done any reading into it, but I'm assuming the hero 3 does not use the same batteries as my hero 1, yes?
__________________
11 Husky TXC250
09 Husky WR165 - VCHSS #79L
gots_a_sol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 07:17 AM   #2111
DestinationUnknown
Adventurer
 
DestinationUnknown's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Location: West TN
Oddometer: 84
Correct, the Hero 3 uses a different battery than the previous models.
DestinationUnknown is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 07:10 AM   #2112
dad2bike
Cranky Old Fart
 
dad2bike's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Oddometer: 3,231
Quote:
Originally Posted by bash3r View Post
I picked up the GoPro Battery Pac and use it to charge batteries in my tank bag and also have the option to add second battery for long rides... It's been the best option for me.
I like that idea.
I have the bacpac and with changing over to the wifi I had to drop it off. I do have a stack of Wasabi batteries though. I'll be changing more often for sure..
__________________
Tom
2006 950 Adventure "Big Orange", 2009 690R "Ginger",2003 525 EXC,
To Think is to Create!
My2Wheels
690 WIKI
dad2bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 07:27 AM   #2113
Retro
Just the Facts Ma'am
 
Retro's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2003
Location: Virginia
Oddometer: 33,043
Will be taking my Hero 3 Black edition for an inaugural ride today.

I've got some big plans for this camera. Still can't believe how tiny it is.
__________________
I'm just lookin' for clues at the scene of the crime.

Quis custodiet ipros custodes?
Retro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 04:16 PM   #2114
StuartV
Motorcyclist
 
StuartV's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Bristow, VA
Oddometer: 833
I also got a GP3 Black for Christmas. And I have now learned that some earlier info I posted from my brother was wrong. Namely, with the Android app, you DO see the camera preview both before you start recording video AND during the recording of video. My brother had told me that he only got the preview before he started recording and then preview (in the Android app) would stop once he started recording.

What I have now seen is that preview does work while recording. But, when you start recording, the preview does blank out for 1 - 2 seconds before it comes back. And the preview lags behind the camera by a similar amount. In other words, if I am recording and watching the preview and I move the camera, it takes a second or so before the preview screen shows the camera movement. If you're using the Android app to preview the screen while trying to film any kind of action, it's probably just not going to work well enough for you. This has now got me seriously considering getting the LCD Bacpac.
__________________
- Stu
'09 R12GS, '05 GSX-R1000
Iron Butt # 4999, WERA/CCS EX # 666 (currently, expired), AMA Life Member
Racer, Drummer, Bassist, Software Engineer
StuartV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 04:28 PM   #2115
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by StuartV View Post
And the preview lags behind the camera by a similar amount. In other words, if I am recording and watching the preview and I move the camera, it takes a second or so before the preview screen shows the camera movement. If you're using the Android app to preview the screen while trying to film any kind of action, it's probably just not going to work well enough for you. This has now got me seriously considering getting the LCD Bacpac.
There is that same lag in the iPhone version as well. I don't use the app to follow action - it's mainly to set up the framing, in my case.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014