ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 140 votes, 4.81 average. Display Modes
Old 12-30-2012, 06:58 PM   #6466
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Upstate SC
Oddometer: 8,389
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
As long as your timing is right, it sort of works to do that but that does nothing about all the empty and useless directories which get left behind. I used to use your method but I'm glad a better solution now exists.
Hmm, where does it leave those directories? I've never stumbled across them.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 07:00 PM   #6467
ramz
Professional Trail Rider
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Salida, CO
Oddometer: 1,943
Guys, get the CD - it installs on the PC/Mac and GPS receiver!


Other - the directories are invisible.
ramz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 07:17 PM   #6468
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,691
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albie View Post
Hmm, where does it leave those directories? I've never stumbled across them.
You see them when you connect the device to a Windows computer.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 07:18 PM   #6469
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,691
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramz View Post
Guys, get the CD - it installs on the PC/Mac and GPS receiver!.
Just for the record, it's a dvd.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 07:41 PM   #6470
tundradirtbiker
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Oregon City
Oddometer: 222
If the PC will take either DVD or SD disk, would the SDd be preferred for el speedo?
__________________
'05 450 EXC
tundradirtbiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 07:49 PM   #6471
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,691
Quote:
Originally Posted by tundradirtbiker View Post
If the PC will take either DVD or SD disk, would the SDd be preferred for el speedo?
The dvd is still better in many ways. You can't upgrade the SD version without buying it anew. No Lifetime Map Updates for the SD version.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 07:50 PM   #6472
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 687
THIS!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ramz View Post
Guys, get the CD - it installs on the PC/Mac and GPS receiver!


atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 08:08 PM   #6473
tundradirtbiker
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Oregon City
Oddometer: 222
Tx MBD
__________________
'05 450 EXC
tundradirtbiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 09:43 PM   #6474
eddyturn
Wannabe
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Hesperus, CO
Oddometer: 1,628
Good doG awlmighty.... I thought that I was close to getting what looks like a new release of the unit but having to soak all of this in is baffling me and keeping me with 2 478's and one of those for back up. Maybe after the first of the year and have my wife drive me everywhere. Dang scary for a computer set up phobe. Looks like a college course that changes frequently. Somebody should scan this all and put together a comprehensive book for this and make GMan look more foolish than they already do.
__________________
All things being equal... fat people use more soap

eddyturn screwed with this post 12-31-2012 at 11:17 AM
eddyturn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 01:05 AM   #6475
advNZer?
Beastly Adventurer
 
advNZer?'s Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Wellington,New Zealand
Oddometer: 2,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by leftystrat62 View Post
This kind of helped,but I'm still falling short of success. Here's what I have:
This is a screen shot of DockingPilot's TAT section -the exact same section I'm trying to load up
I am pretty sure DP has explained how he does(did this) Somewhere

edit here read the thread its about the problam you are facing(i think)
__________________
aka BMWST?

advNZer? screwed with this post 12-31-2012 at 01:14 AM
advNZer? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 04:32 AM   #6476
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,691
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddyturn View Post
Good doG awlmighty.... I thought that I was close to getting what looks like a new release of the unit but having to soak all of this in is baffling me and keeping me with 2 478's and one of those for back up. Maybe after the first of the year and have my wife drive me everywhere. Dang scary for a computer set up phobe. Looks like a college course that changes frequently. Somebody should scan this all and put together a comprehensive book for this and make GMan look more foolish than they already do.
So you're willing to judge the Montana based on one person's problems with BaseCamp? You don't need to be a "Rocket Doctor" to use the Montana. It's an awesome device, with a learning curve, but once you've used it for a while you will never go back to an antique gps.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 06:17 AM   #6477
mass-klr
Gnarly Adventurer
 
mass-klr's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: Central Mass
Oddometer: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by mass-klr View Post
It was as if it could not keep up. I was turning left on 6th and it was still stuck on saying that I should turn on 6th. Not sure if it could not see the satellites? I hope that was the case...

I had it in the Garmin car mount. The speed limit did not show even though I could see it before on the Amps mount where it goes red if I go over the speed limit.

Thanks,
I found the problem yesterday why my Montana was acting to strange and thought I would share.

Problems:
Speed limit did not show in CN maps
While navigating, I turn and that turn's text stays on the screen for another 15 to 30 seconds before showing the next turn.

Answer:
I noticed that the profile I am using for CN also had all of the other maps enabled, 100K, 24K, etc. I disabled the other maps and only left the CN maps enabled and all of the problems above disappeared. Yeah!!!
__________________
_____________________________
Leon
'11 Orange KLR650

Paved Roads are just another example of wasted Taxpayer Dollars
mass-klr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 07:18 AM   #6478
Rocky TFS
Studly Adventurer
 
Rocky TFS's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Hailey, Idaho
Oddometer: 511
Quote:
Originally Posted by mass-klr View Post
Answer:
I noticed that the profile I am using for CN also had all of the other maps enabled, 100K, 24K, etc. I disabled the other maps and only left the CN maps enabled and all of the problems above disappeared. Yeah!!!
Many folks do not realize that when they add another map to the SD card or the unit by MapInstall, ALL the maps get enabled again in ALL the profiles!!
Very irritating behavior to someone like me who has individual state 24K maps (free at GPSFileDepot) that I swap in and out depending on the trip.
Rocky TFS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 07:45 AM   #6479
Rocky TFS
Studly Adventurer
 
Rocky TFS's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Hailey, Idaho
Oddometer: 511
Photos on the 600

I may be a bit slow, but I finally figured out that just because the 600 does not have a camera it doesn't mean that you can't put geotagged photos on it or in BaseCamp.

I have a Panasonic Lumix with GPS that I never enabled because of battery life, so I just tried it. Took some pics with the GPS enabled, popped the camera card into the computer with BaseCamp running, BC recognizes card and the pic, copied the pic to a list, it shows up correctly on the BC map, sent it to the Montana.

Enable the photo viewer icon in a profile, the pics are there, click one, see it, use options menu to show on map, and Lo and Behold, my photo is right there on the topo map where I took it!

Another way to use up a lot of disk space in the computer and the GPSr....

Interesting to note that even if the photo has already been loaded into the computer via a photo editor/organizer, BC makes a copy of it in it's own folder, and even if the photo has GPS info in the EXIF, it has to make a little file to tell itself where to place the photo on the map.
Presumably the Montana does not, and is just reading the EXIF tag.

AND, you can drag any photo on your system, geotagged or not, onto the BC map from your photo editor/organizer, and place it where the pic was taken....(if you can remember.....)

Presumably lots of you already know this, but I'm old and slow, so it took me 10 months.
Rocky TFS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 07:57 AM   #6480
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,691
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky TFS View Post
Many folks do not realize that when they add another map to the SD card or the unit by MapInstall, ALL the maps get enabled again in ALL the profiles!!
My experience, and I checked it just the other day when I re-added Metroguide Canada V4, was that since that was the only map I added, and it was in a separate file of its own, MGV4 ended up enabled in all my Profiles, but it didn't change anything else with the existing maps/profiles.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014