ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 252 votes, 4.89 average. Display Modes
Old 12-31-2012, 06:15 PM   #6481
Rocky TFS
Studly Adventurer
 
Rocky TFS's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Hailey, Idaho
Oddometer: 542
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Garmin probably doesn't have an exhaustive database of campsites but you could go to POI-Factory.com and get one and load it as a POI category.
Actually, the old Topo USA 100K maps have quite a large number of campgrounds as POIs....don't know about the newer 100K and 24K maps since I'm still using my Topo USA maps from the '98 CD edition to good effect. My experience is that there is fairly good correlation between the early Topo USA and the GPSFileDepot free state24K maps as far as campgrounds go.

One other internet site that I have found to be a gold mine, since I'm so damned particular about where I camp, is:
http://www.forestcamping.com/

It's only for national forest campgrounds, searchable by state or NF, but they have a little comment paragraph in addition to all the other data that is worth it's weight in gold if you like privacy or don't like highway noise.....I wouldn't dream of planning on going to any N.F. CG anymore without consulting it.

Rocky TFS screwed with this post 12-31-2012 at 06:23 PM
Rocky TFS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 06:21 PM   #6482
Rocky TFS
Studly Adventurer
 
Rocky TFS's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Hailey, Idaho
Oddometer: 542
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Perhaps the reason we're not getting the same result is that we're not using the same process? I added MGV4 to my Montana by adding a file which contained nothing but MGV4 (MGV4.img) to my Montana through the Mac Finder, not MapInstall or the Windows Mapsource program.
I'm going to try JaVaWa, or perhaps just Windows Explorer, to swap out map files to my backup directory once the tiles have been selected and the *img file created one time in MapInstall, since I often do a partial install that may be good for years because I refuse to go east of the Rocky Mountain Front anymore.....

We shall see.
Rocky TFS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 06:31 PM   #6483
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,367
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky TFS View Post
the *img file created one time in MapInstall, since I often do a partial install that may be good for years ...
So are all your maps going into one *.img file? That might be a cause for all maps to be enabled at once when you update your maps. I create separate IMG files for each map product, which makes it very easy and fast to update just one map, without affecting the others, some of which are listed below:

__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 08:43 PM   #6484
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
So are all your maps going into one *.img file? That might be a cause for all maps to be enabled at once when you update your maps. I create separate IMG files for each map product, which makes it very easy and fast to update just one map, without affecting the others, some of which are listed below:

How's that WiFi gpi POI database working for ya?

Can I ask which one you are using, and maybe where you found it? (if you like it)
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 08:55 PM   #6485
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,367
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlas cached View Post
How's that WiFi gpi POI database working for ya?

Can I ask which one you are using, and maybe where you found it? (if you like it)
Got it from POI-Factory. Last used it about a year ago before I bought my 3G phone. I can post it to the Dropbox tomorrow and you can check it out yourself..
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 11:36 PM   #6486
Jerry3567
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Millstadt, IL
Oddometer: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry3567 View Post
Hey guys,

I must be stupid or something, I've looked around a bit but have had no luck answering my question. Please help, or tell me to piss off if I just haven't searched enough.

I am using google Earth to enter all of the TAT points off of my roll chart ( I just finished TN ). When I save the .kml file and convert to a .gpx, to load a track it works...that is fine I suppose. BUT, the track travels from point to point, and does not follow roads. I converted the track to a route, and then back without success. How do I make the path I must follow take roads as opposed to straight lines?

Thanks for your help!
No love guys? Any tips on where else to look, or call Garmin?
Jerry3567 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 11:44 PM   #6487
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry3567 View Post
No love guys? Any tips on where else to look, or call Garmin?
I will try to help

Sounds like you are saving waypoints via google earth KML converted to GPX, and sounds like that part is working for you OK.

Now, you will need to Create a Route in BaseCamp following those waypoints, using a routable map.

or

You could Create a Track in BaseCamp following the route you wish to take, and convert that track to a Route.

Send the finished Route to your GPSr, and make sure you have the same maps available on your GPSr as used in BaseCamp to create the route.
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 06:42 AM   #6488
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Clackamas, OR - USA
Oddometer: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albie View Post
Heh, I just yank the cable out as soon as I see the drive icons disappear off my desktop and my Mac never complains.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
As long as your timing is right, it sort of works to do that but that does nothing about all the empty and useless directories which get left behind. I used to use your method but I'm glad a better solution now exists.
Interesting..... I have not had the issue with either Lion or Mountain Lion. If I drag the icon to the trash, or right click and select eject, it goes away and does not come back.

I wonder why some have the issue and others don't ?

Jon...
__________________
Bikeless at this time
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 07:00 AM   #6489
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Clackamas, OR - USA
Oddometer: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlas cached View Post
I have repeatedly complained about this to Garmin since the Oregon models were new.

This is a very old issue Garmin refuses to correct.

I suggested they (at minimum) add an option to disable all maps, as most of us only use a map or two in each profile, but may have a dozen or more loaded. Having to go through multiple profiles and manually disabling more than a dozen maps in each profile EVERY TIME I update or add a new map is maddening!

Garmin Refuses to correct this issue for years now...
You know what would be a great tool?

Software we could run on the computer that would let us see ALL the profiles, settings, and maps that would then allow us to select/unselect items from a profile. It could be laid out in some type of spread sheet format.

I have stuff like that for my portable radios and scanners and it's so much easier/faster than using the built in menus on those devices.

Of course the best option would be if that function was built into BaseCamp but I won't hold my breath waiting for that to happen.

Jon...
__________________
Bikeless at this time
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 08:09 AM   #6490
DockingPilot
Hooked Up and Hard Over
 
DockingPilot's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, N.J.
Oddometer: 9,385
Quote:
Originally Posted by AugustFalcon View Post
You need to do a TRACK not a ROUTE for that section.

That means you first need to find a map which shows the actual road/trail your are to follow. CNNA will not show all trails/roads on the TAT. Sometimes I used TOPO 2008 or Google Earth. Then you need to draw a TRACK by clicking along the road/trail leaving little track points from WAYPOINT TO WAYPOINT.
He is correct in how to find and mark the CN unmapped sections, however if a route is what you want you can continue creating it right through these sections seamlessly. In Mapsource for certain and BasecampMac I believe. You are NOT forced to use a trackline in this situation.
Most fellas desire routes for the ease of sharing and building. For personal reasons me and my gang prefer routes and think its worth the work involved. Once built and uploaded we are on autopilot througout the trip. Big ones too, 2,500 trips, off pavement, mixed mapped and unmapped sections.
Here is an example, Forever West, this is the Trans Continental RR in the Great Salt Basin. Its unmapped. I switched over from Mapsource to Google Earth (simply by clicking "veiw in Google Earth" under the View tab), I can now see the the original grade, I waypoint it as you can see, I then simply switch to "Direct Routing" connecting these waypoints all the way across until Im back on mapped roads, then switch back to auto routing. Seamless.
As you can see from my actual trackline, I was pretty close to what was actually on the ground.
__________________
Frank Reinbold

"Every bike I ever had, was the best bike I ever had, when I had it"

DockingPilot screwed with this post 01-01-2013 at 08:33 AM
DockingPilot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 08:44 AM   #6491
Rocky TFS
Studly Adventurer
 
Rocky TFS's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Hailey, Idaho
Oddometer: 542
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
So are all your maps going into one *.img file?
No, I always create separate map files, like you. I have the Western half of the US in both CNNA and the old 100K Topo USA, then a dozen or so free 24K State maps from GPSFileDepot in their entirety. Once created, they are backed up to the HDD from the Montana, and not all are loaded depending on my next big trip.

When using a Topo profile for back road dirt riding, I usually use Topo USA until I feel the need for more detail or to resolve route confusion, because the State Maps are usually more up to date than the 14 year old Topo USA. Then I might or might not switch back to the 100K at some point on that ride. I'm careful to have only the Basemap and ONE topo or CNNA enabled at a time....I'm still working on shortcuts to do this quicker, but juggling with deciding at what point I have so many shortcut pages that it's actually faster to just hit setup>map>map info.

Sometimes I even use a PAPER map! (Not that any of this is germane to this issue, it''s just that I am interested in the different ways each of us uses maps.)

Interesting that Atlas and I have the same issue with enablement and you don't, so I will be experimenting as time allows.
Rocky TFS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 08:54 AM   #6492
Jerry3567
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Millstadt, IL
Oddometer: 25
Atlas Cached,

Thanks for the help! I'll start working on it momentarily, I really appreciate your help!
Jerry3567 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 10:23 AM   #6493
leftystrat62
Adventurer
 
leftystrat62's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Little Rhody
Oddometer: 999
[IMG]Photobucket[/IMG]his is a picture of a post I put up a few days ago. I was having problems connecting my route in "Motorcycle" mode to a section of off road way point that I was connecting using "Direct" mode. The two were not connecting without problems,and I just wanted to share what I found in case it can help someone else.
After working with Garmin for a long time on the phone,the only way to do this in BaseCamp is: create a route on the road,then end it & convert it to a track when you get to an off road section where there are no roads shown in BC. Start another route with the 1st wp being the last wp from the previous route. This route will be the one you are doing in "direct" because you are trying to connect wp's that do not follow roads. End that route and convert to a track when your about to connect back on the roads shown in BC.
This is where it got tricky. You nedd to high light both of those new tracks>Edit>Joint tracks,and then the 2 tracks become one:) It's important to order the tracks in the correct sequence when it ask you as you continue to join more and more tracks(converted from routes) in the hope to make one continuous track. I practiced for a long time on a test rack before I went in and mucked with the original-but so for all is well.
Note:Garmin said you need to 1st to a route-convert to track then join tracks in that order because I was using BaseCamp-probable different for Mapsource.

leftystrat62 screwed with this post 01-01-2013 at 01:31 PM
leftystrat62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 11:20 AM   #6494
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by leftystrat62 View Post
[IMG]Photobucket[/IMG]
And?
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 12:10 PM   #6495
Mudcat
Unregistered
 
Mudcat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Bay Area
Oddometer: 4,472
The map which comes with the Montana, topo 100k set, how is this different from City Navigator other then having topo’s?
Does it show all the roads and streets? Will I be able to find destinations by address, intersections, city names, what have you?
I don’t care much about the vender listings on CN but they can be useful.
__________________
I've got to be cool
Relax
Take a long long ride on my motor bike
Untill I'm ready
Mudcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014