ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > The Garage
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-04-2013, 10:14 AM   #46
scooteraug02
Dog Rancher
 
scooteraug02's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA
Oddometer: 4,467
Did you ever change the spark plug.

I remember on my 2 stroke bikes when the plug went bad it would start and idle but die when the throttle was opened. Put a new plug in and it would run like a champ. I always thought that was weird to start and idle fine but die with added throttle.

Stepping back and looking at the overall situation. You said it wasn't sudden, started acting up. Being in Mexico I would think bad fuel or dirty fuel clogging the carb or tank. Did you ever try to start it with the fuel cap off or opened. A clogged gas cap vent can cause fuel starvation.

http://www.thumpertalk.com/topic/613782-dr650-faq/
http://dr650.wikia.com/wiki/Intake
http://www.procycle.us/bikepages/dr650.html#fuelsystems
http://www.factorypro.com/tech/carbtun.html
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=347184
http://www.thumpertalk.com/topic/500.../#entry4680645
http://my2wheels.com/forum/showthread.php?t=6456
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=715659
http://dr650.wikia.com/wiki/Potentia...to_be_aware_of
http://drriders.com/topic6707.html
__________________
scooteraug02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 11:28 AM   #47
Adv Grifter
on the road o'dreams
 
Adv Grifter's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Passing ADV Stalkers in California
Oddometer: 6,128
Of all things mentioned ... the pick-up coil goes to the top of my list. If you read the 11 million post BIG DR650 thread ... you'll see that over time there have been several failed pick-up coils (also called "ignitor or Pulse coil). Not many, but a few. One was on Big Al's bike which failed somewhere in Cent. America. The local mechanics borrowed a PU coil from a car and fit it in .... IT WORKED!

You're correct .. The PU Coil is part of the Stator. It's rare but there have been a few over the years.

I don't believe the carb is the issue. (unless it's been buggered up by someone trying to "fix" it! )

We've never seen a Main coil go bad on a DR650. There have been a few Stators gone bad but most times it's misdiagnosed and turns out to only be the Pick-up coil.

One or two bad CDI boxes too ... but once again ... very rare. On the road I carry a spare Stator.

Best of luck !
Adv Grifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 04:01 PM   #48
ER70S-2
Beastly Adventurer
 
ER70S-2's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: SE Denver-ish
Oddometer: 5,752
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adv Grifter View Post
You're correct...... The PU Coil is part of the Stator. It's rare but there have been a few over the years.

Best of luck !
Sorta, note the red circle.

http://advrider.com/forums/showpost....ostcount=69046

ADV8 posted this pic earlier, from a Suzuki TL1000, NOT a DR.

__________________
2004 DR650: 62,400 miles
2013 WR250R

SUZUKI DR650SE INFORMATION INDEX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Threewheelbonnie View Post
"BTW, I don't do style. It's a dirt bike, not some girlie dress-up thing." -
ER70S-2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 12:18 AM   #49
jrzyguy OP
Restless
 
jrzyguy's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Oddometer: 368
Quote:
Originally Posted by scooteraug02 View Post
Did you ever change the spark plug.

I remember on my 2 stroke bikes when the plug went bad it would start and idle but die when the throttle was opened. Put a new plug in and it would run like a champ. I always thought that was weird to start and idle fine but die with added throttle.

Stepping back and looking at the overall situation. You said it wasn't sudden, started acting up. Being in Mexico I would think bad fuel or dirty fuel clogging the carb or tank. Did you ever try to start it with the fuel cap off or opened. A clogged gas cap vent can cause fuel starvation.

http://www.thumpertalk.com/topic/613782-dr650-faq/
http://dr650.wikia.com/wiki/Intake
http://www.procycle.us/bikepages/dr650.html#fuelsystems
http://www.factorypro.com/tech/carbtun.html
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=347184
http://www.thumpertalk.com/topic/500.../#entry4680645
http://my2wheels.com/forum/showthread.php?t=6456
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=715659
http://dr650.wikia.com/wiki/Potentia...to_be_aware_of
http://drriders.com/topic6707.html
Thanks for your suggestions. We switched out the fuel, cleaned the petcock filters, and installed new plugs. And we confirmed that the tank was venting. But again, it didn't start.
jrzyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 12:51 AM   #50
PeterW
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Gold Coast
Oddometer: 2,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrzyguy View Post
Pete, I've heard the pickup also referred to as the pulse coil. Either way, this is part of the stator, isn't it? In which case, I have it covered. Jim
Depends on the technology used, but yes, it'll be near the stator.

Pete
PeterW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 07:37 PM   #51
StmbtDave
AKA Invisible Dave
 
StmbtDave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Loveland, CO summer - Green Valley, AZ winter
Oddometer: 2,943
Ok, you made it back to Mex. We're all anxiously waiting to hear the final diagnosis
__________________
Why are we stopping? We don't have time for that!
StmbtDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 06:44 AM   #52
jrzyguy OP
Restless
 
jrzyguy's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Oddometer: 368
I'm back in zacatecas

Quote:
Originally Posted by StmbtDave View Post
Ok, you made it back to Mex. We're all anxiously waiting to hear the final diagnosis
Dave, My three flights down were without a glitch...couldn't have been better. I'm unpacked and have my kit ready to meet the tech at 9am. It's the moment of truth...I'll report back later in the day! Jim
jrzyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 11:45 AM   #53
Bgunn
Mucha distancia
 
Bgunn's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Location: Rockford Wa
Oddometer: 1,339
Bgunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 02:19 PM   #54
fatboy
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Georgetown, Texas
Oddometer: 308
You only need 4 things for an engine to run; compression, fuel, ignition and timing. So, if you've got compression and your plug jumps a nice spark gap and your timing marks all line up and valves seem to open/shut in step with a 4 cycle ... then ?
fatboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 02:21 PM   #55
m_p_w
Unfunempolyed
 
m_p_w's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Mexico City
Oddometer: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrzyguy View Post
Dave, My three flights down were without a glitch...couldn't have been better. I'm unpacked and have my kit ready to meet the tech at 9am. It's the moment of truth...I'll report back later in the day! Jim
Good luck, dude!
m_p_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 04:14 PM   #56
jrzyguy OP
Restless
 
jrzyguy's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Oddometer: 368
Problem identified

Although my bike still isn't running, the problem is identified. To save me the work of explaining things in two places, please check out my pics and explanation on my RR...http://advrider.com/forums/showthrea...8#post20439568

Again, my thanks go out to all of you for your help and support!
jrzyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 07:02 PM   #57
Adv Grifter
on the road o'dreams
 
Adv Grifter's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Passing ADV Stalkers in California
Oddometer: 6,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrzyguy View Post
Although my bike still isn't running, the problem is identified. To save me the work of explaining things in two places, please check out my pics and explanation on my RR...http://advrider.com/forums/showthrea...8#post20439568

Again, my thanks go out to all of you for your help and support!
Too bad you didn't mention the fact you'd swapped out the stock Stator early on. You could have saved A LOT of time and money. Any owner installed Mod always goes TOP OF THE LIST for where the problem started.

But I also blame the Mexican techs for not finding this in the first hour of work. Hate to say it ... but I feel they strung you along ... WAKE UP!
This sort of fault is a novice mechanic diagnostics 101 exercise. I know your guys know more than they are letting on. Oh well, live and learn!

BtW, aftermarket Stators are famous for failure. Many many KLR guys have gone with aftermarket stators to gain more output. Many end in failures. It's all over the KLR boards, has been for years.

If you feel you need more elec. output you should have come over to the BIG DR650 thread. Lots of guys there with plenty of helpful tips on how to set up your bike to get by with the DR's measly 200 Watt output.

Many good mods and upgrades to get by and still have power for elec. jackets, grips and running GPS and such. No problemo. Hope you can still enjoy the rest of your trip! I'll check out your report ... and please ... from now on ask on the BIG DR thread if you have questions. A wealth of knowledge and even some direct support from Pros over there.
Adv Grifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 09:00 PM   #58
D.T.
One wheel wonder...
 
D.T.'s Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Moneyapolis, MN
Oddometer: 10,097
Thumb

On our SV portal site there have been numerous occasions where the magnets in the rotor have came loose and pretty much given the same issues you had. Glad you figured it out. Life goes on.

Keep on ridin'...
__________________
Quote:
Originally posted by burgerking So?
Holland is about the most expensive country in Europe when it comes to bikes and fuel..Stop whining and go riding It's just money and you only live once...
D.T. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 09:12 AM   #59
jrzyguy OP
Restless
 
jrzyguy's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Oddometer: 368
Quote:
Originally Posted by D.T. View Post
On our SV portal site there have been numerous occasions where the magnets in the rotor have came loose and pretty much given the same issues you had. Glad you figured it out. Life goes on.

Keep on ridin'...
So my issue isn't an exception. Other than what's in the manual, are there any instructions out there for a secure installation?
Jim
jrzyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 10:57 AM   #60
D.T.
One wheel wonder...
 
D.T.'s Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Moneyapolis, MN
Oddometer: 10,097
Your rotor is designed differently from the SV's. Ours does NOT have the metal ring on the inside. Some people have used JB weld to epoxy them back into place.
__________________
Quote:
Originally posted by burgerking So?
Holland is about the most expensive country in Europe when it comes to bikes and fuel..Stop whining and go riding It's just money and you only live once...
D.T. is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014