ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > The Garage
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-09-2013, 03:37 AM   #16
hugemoth
Beastly Adventurer
 
hugemoth's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: In the TARDIS
Oddometer: 2,956
The only reason I have 3 Fluke meters is because I used them all day every day at work. For working on the bikes a HF meter works just fine. Consider going with the HF meter and taking the wife out to dinner, it may work out better in the long run.
hugemoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 04:25 AM   #17
ragtoplvr
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: central USA
Oddometer: 6,419
for a bike the harbor freight is fine. They will last many years, and when they don't, get another. You will spend more on batteries and possibly fuses.

That said a cheap needle meter is often more useful. They usually draw more current, which is better for much troubleshooting, and you can see a needle wiggle when moving a harness that can often be missed on a digital meter.

Rod
ragtoplvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 04:42 AM   #18
Twilight Error
Going nowhere slowly
 
Twilight Error's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: The Submarine Mines
Oddometer: 22,743
Fluke. Ive got a 73 III for my garage and home troubleshooting, it sips its battery - I've replaced it twice in 10 years. If youre handy with a soldering iron, the test lead possibilities are enormous. I carry a small Extech in the bike's toolkit, its a fraction the size of the fluke and is perfectly capable of doing wire checks and voltage tests.
__________________
If you're all about the destination, take a fucking flight. - Frank Turner
Got brap, and twice as much fuel as you. - Akarob
Twilight Error is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 04:58 AM   #19
raypitter
Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Oddometer: 21
It all depends on what you want to spend. You can't go wrong with Amprobe, Extech or Fluke, any of which will cost you about $200.00 for the least expensive and probably won't have a temperature measurement. You can handle that two ways: buy the temp. probe accessory or a stand alone non-contact infrared thermometer for about $80.
raypitter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 05:43 AM   #20
SPEIRMOOR
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: New York
Oddometer: 231
Fluke T5-600 about $90. I've had this one since I was an apprentice. Great piece. Automatically switches from AC to DC which is its greatest advantage. One probe can be attached to meter case allowing for instant reading in your hand instead of looking at the meter on the floor all the time. Probes store in its housing too.

SPEIRMOOR screwed with this post 01-09-2013 at 07:13 AM
SPEIRMOOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 06:16 AM   #21
wee-twin
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Westchester County, N.Y.
Oddometer: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by das Motorradreiter View Post
Saw a NIB Model 78 up there for $99 "buy it now" - told my wife about it and she voiced displeasure so I may need to come down to $50.
I did some reading on that model and it looks right up my alley.
What's the difference between the 77 and 78?

Also, any thoughts on this one?: http://www.amazon.com/Sinometer-Manu...pr_product_top
I don't know the difference between the 77 and 78, but here is my 77. Genuine Fluke leads are more flexible than the less expensive(Chinese) ones. I also use a clip on the end of the probe sometimes and again the fluke ones are better than a set I tried from RadioShack. I hold the manual, clips,leads and a jumper wire in a large Altoids tin so everything stays together and undamaged in my toolbox. I would go with a used Fluke over a new Chinese meter. I justify good tools by there is a job to get done and you need them to work or you end up paying someone else to do it. For less than one hour what a shop would charge to figure out an electrical problem you can get a used Fluke that you will pass onto your kids someday. I have used my fluke on 110v, I would not trust my life with a Chinese meter.

wee-twin screwed with this post 01-09-2013 at 06:24 AM
wee-twin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 06:20 AM   #22
das Motorradreiter OP
Diehard Extraordinaire
 
das Motorradreiter's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Annapolis, MD
Oddometer: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedracertdi View Post
Does she wear $50 shoes? Ask her how much she spent on hair and nails in the last month.
I cannot complain there - she had to buy shoes for a wedding last month - with the sale and coupon, she paid $9.00 for the pair!
das Motorradreiter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 07:02 AM   #23
bomber60015
Anatomically Correct
 
bomber60015's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Chicago-ish
Oddometer: 14,070
If you have a Radio Shack nearby, that's another brick and motor source . . . .

I have a 10 dollar Radio Shack meter (likely chicom) in my tank bag, and an old fluke in the roll cab out in the Entropy Lab . . . . . the Chcicom meeter is good enough for 99% of what I do (is there more or less 12 volts present? Is there 0 ohm resistance, or higher), but the Fluke makes me smile to use it -- it's a nice tool.
__________________
"Here is your country. Cherish these natural wonders, cherish the natural resources, cherish the history and romance as a sacred heritage, for your children and your children's children. Do not let selfish men or greedy interests skin your country of its beauty, its riches or its romance. T.R.
bomber60015 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 09:54 AM   #24
das Motorradreiter OP
Diehard Extraordinaire
 
das Motorradreiter's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Annapolis, MD
Oddometer: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by wee-twin View Post
I don't know the difference between the 77 and 78, but here is my 77. Genuine Fluke leads are more flexible than the less expensive(Chinese) ones. I also use a clip on the end of the probe sometimes and again the fluke ones are better than a set I tried from RadioShack. I hold the manual, clips,leads and a jumper wire in a large Altoids tin so everything stays together and undamaged in my toolbox. I would go with a used Fluke over a new Chinese meter. I justify good tools by there is a job to get done and you need them to work or you end up paying someone else to do it. For less than one hour what a shop would charge to figure out an electrical problem you can get a used Fluke that you will pass onto your kids someday. I have used my fluke on 110v, I would not trust my life with a Chinese meter.
Would $50 for a 77 be decent? I found one a little bit of a drive from me.
das Motorradreiter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 11:58 AM   #25
Superfish
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Northfield, VT
Oddometer: 137
I've had a Fluke 87 for about 20 years. The only time I ever had a problem with it was the time (brain fart) that I decided to hook it to my electric horse fence. After I got it back from fluke it worked fine again. Also have a cheep one on the bike.
__________________
bob
"Live while you're alive"

1983 V65 Magna
1984 700cc Magna
1982 V45 Sabre (Project)
Superfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 12:17 PM   #26
Cataract2
Where to?
 
Cataract2's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: N. Charleston, SC
Oddometer: 1,789
Quote:
Originally Posted by das Motorradreiter View Post
I cannot complain there - she had to buy shoes for a wedding last month - with the sale and coupon, she paid $9.00 for the pair!
With you on that. My wife is the same way. Considering she got her wedding dress for $300. Yeah, I did well.
__________________
People who get made because they're old, haven't lived.
Cataract2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 12:19 PM   #27
Twilight Error
Going nowhere slowly
 
Twilight Error's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: The Submarine Mines
Oddometer: 22,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by das Motorradreiter View Post
Would $50 for a 77 be decent? I found one a little bit of a drive from me.
If you don't buy it, I will! Yes, $50 for a 77 is quite acceptable.
__________________
If you're all about the destination, take a fucking flight. - Frank Turner
Got brap, and twice as much fuel as you. - Akarob
Twilight Error is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 01:31 PM   #28
gsweave
Yinz, blinkers are on.
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: The Paris of Appalachia
Oddometer: 11,796
Fluke 87v user.. Love it but it is overkill for home and bike.


But yes the fluke leads really make a cheap multimeter useable.
__________________
1 Peter 2:16 Live as free men, but do not use your freedom as a cover-up for evil;... .
gsweave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 01:47 PM   #29
groundrules
Beastly Adventurer
 
groundrules's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Oh hiya
Oddometer: 1,792
bike mags often have coupons to get the HF one for free. can't really beat that.
groundrules is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 06:15 PM   #30
genka
SUV hater
 
genka's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Baltimore, MD
Oddometer: 1,625
The HF meter is adequate for a bike. I'd rather spend extra money for quality leads.



Insulation piercing attachments
__________________
.

Форум мотоциклистов в США http://www.xytopok.net/mvnforum/listthreads?forum=31
genka is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015