ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 171 votes, 4.84 average. Display Modes
Old 01-23-2013, 09:06 AM   #6691
BigOgre
n00b
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Oddometer: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
At $35 each, it's easy to justify buying a Rugged Mount for each bike but it's also easy to make the mount movable, by putting a SAE plug on the end of it, and running a cable up to the steering head of the bikes. I used to do this until I bought the second mount for my DR. Actually I still have the SAE plug on each cable, it's just that I no longer need to move the mount over. I like having the SAE plug though because when I don't need to power the gps, I can hook up a Battery Tender to the bike.

New to the world of GPS and decided to start with the Montana. Very grateful for this thread but DAMN there's a lot to learn!

Re. switching between bikes. Anything bad to say about using a Powerlet connector instead of the SAE plug here? This would be the simpliest solution for me but after reading about the Montana's sensitivity to current, wondering if vibration/movement within this type of connection would cause any issues.
BigOgre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 09:25 AM   #6692
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,803
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigOgre View Post
Re. switching between bikes. Anything bad to say about using a Powerlet connector instead of the SAE plug here? This would be the simpliest solution for me but after reading about the Montana's sensitivity to current, wondering if vibration/movement within this type of connection would cause any issues.
A Powerlet would work just as well.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 09:31 AM   #6693
cablebandit
Web Adventurer
 
cablebandit's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: State College PA
Oddometer: 666
So. I've had the Montana for quite a while and it generally stays on the bike. Since it's so damn cold out I decided to bring it in and play around with it a little. I have CN2012 installed and have all of North America and Mexico. I wanted to make a smaller mapset with just a few states. I installed the maps using Mapinstall and renamed the IMG file MidAtlantic.

My question is this: Why can I not see this map when I go to the select map portion of the Montana. It is in the same /Garmin directory as the other map that covers the entire country.
__________________
IBA #33260
cablebandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 09:36 AM   #6694
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,803
Quote:
Originally Posted by cablebandit View Post
So. I've had the Montana for quite a while and it generally stays on the bike. Since it's so damn cold out I decided to bring it in and play around with it a little. I have CN2012 installed and have all of North America and Mexico. I wanted to make a smaller mapset with just a few states. I installed the maps using Mapinstall and renamed the IMG file MidAtlantic.

My question is this: Why can I not see this map when I go to the select map portion of the Montana. It is in the same /Garmin directory as the other map that covers the entire country.
Have you tried using JaVaWa Device Manager to see if the map is set up properly? It's a great program. (I am not affiliated with them in any way - I just like the program)
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 10:03 AM   #6695
cablebandit
Web Adventurer
 
cablebandit's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: State College PA
Oddometer: 666
OK, I was able to rename the Nationwide map to Nationwide instead of the tile listing it formerly was. I also updated the name of the MidAtlantic set as well. However, it's still not showing up as a selection in the Montana.

JaVaWa shows the following error for both mapsets, even thought the Nationwide set works fine.


Quote:
Error: segment codes from this file reside in other files. This will cause problems with routing and/or displaying maps
__________________
IBA #33260
cablebandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 10:28 AM   #6696
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,803
Quote:
Originally Posted by cablebandit View Post
OK, I was able to rename the Nationwide map to Nationwide instead of the tile listing it formerly was. I also updated the name of the MidAtlantic set as well. However, it's still not showing up as a selection in the Montana.

JaVaWa shows the following error for both mapsets, even thought the Nationwide set works fine.
The Javawa message is fairly clear - you have duplicate tiles in multiple img files and that will cause problems.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 10:41 AM   #6697
cablebandit
Web Adventurer
 
cablebandit's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: State College PA
Oddometer: 666
So no maps can contain overlapping map data. That's just silly.
__________________
IBA #33260
cablebandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 12:39 PM   #6698
AugustFalcon OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
AugustFalcon's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Waterford, Connecticut U.S.A.
Oddometer: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Sure glad I don't need to go outside today...

Wow: From -30C to +32C in 24 hours???

That would be -22 F to 89.6 F
__________________
cheers... jack

04 BMW R1100S
02 KTM 250 Exc Racing


SmugMug referral code: jXF8ohDWlTm56
AugustFalcon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 01:31 PM   #6699
bighopper
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Central Alberta Canada
Oddometer: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by AugustFalcon View Post
Wow: From -30C to +32C in 24 hours???

That would be -22 F to 89.6 F
He went indoors, to the sauna ...contribution to the Globe Warming
__________________
I Just Like To Ride
'03 BMW R1150GSA
'06 BMW K1200LT
bighopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 04:08 PM   #6700
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,803
Quote:
Originally Posted by bighopper View Post
He went indoors, to the sauna ...contribution to the Globe Warming
No, no sauna, but I guess the wood stove got fairly hot last night. The Tempe's attached to a knapsack in that room when it's not outside in the cold.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 06:09 PM   #6701
Patch
Studly Adventurer
 
Patch's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Southwestern New England
Oddometer: 653
Rugged Mount Question...

... found my answer. the video from gpscity shows it. Just thought it was odd that the contacts aren't the same between the auto and the rugged mount. No worries!

Patch screwed with this post 01-23-2013 at 07:11 PM
Patch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 06:33 PM   #6702
Attico
Wrong way 'round
 
Attico's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Oddometer: 1,769
How good is the tempe? Reliable?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
No, no sauna, but I guess the wood stove got fairly hot last night. The Tempe's attached to a knapsack in that room when it's not outside in the cold.
__________________
“If you think adventure is dangerous, try routine; it is lethal.” (Coelho)
Attico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 06:39 PM   #6703
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,803
Quote:
Originally Posted by Attico View Post
How good is the tempe? Reliable?
I haven't compared its reading to other thermometers but it seems about right. And it stays connected to the gps as it should. I find it interesting that it stores the high and low values then resets them daily, I assume at the time I first activated it by putting the battery in.

I've been trying to think if it would be best to have the reset happen during the night, or if it even matters what time it resets.

It's spending the night outside. Will be interesting to see what the temps get down to. Was at -28 C when I last looked.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.

Emmbeedee screwed with this post 01-23-2013 at 06:47 PM
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 08:06 AM   #6704
Bonerov
Damned dirty ape
 
Bonerov's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Oddometer: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patch View Post
Just thought it was odd that the contacts aren't the same between the auto and the rugged mount. No worries!
This could be so that the unit knows which mount it is in. When I plug it into my rugged mount it beeps for events (unless I've got my headphones plugged into the external audio port). When I plug it into the auto mount it gives voice directions. Kind of handy, actually.
Bonerov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 09:55 AM   #6705
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Upstate SC
Oddometer: 8,667
Quote:
Originally Posted by Attico View Post
How good is the tempe? Reliable?
I kinda think it's not that accurate. It seems to always read warmer then it really is. Yesterday I saw it hit 66 and I was still running my electric vest so I kinda doubt it got that warm. I keep it in my tank bag and maybe it does stay warmer in there then the ambient temp but even now it's out in my garage and it says the temp is 50 but according to the thermometer I've got in there it's only 41.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014