ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-21-2013, 08:22 PM   #3211
garrett
Gnarly Adventurer
 
garrett's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Calgary
Oddometer: 442
Hi Dan

I have an EXC and my headlight mask fits right against the fork so my protector is mounted high. I have one of Paul's new protectors so I need to have a look and fiddle with it once I get home from work.

Thanks for the info

Garrett
__________________
I like bikes...
garrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 11:10 PM   #3212
oldx
Beastly Adventurer
 
oldx's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: Camano Island, WA
Oddometer: 1,094
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guerillah View Post
Damn man, you don't mess around! Sweet setup.
X2 nice set up.
oldx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 12:43 AM   #3213
Hueychief
FNG
 
Hueychief's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Minnesota
Oddometer: 75
Quote:
Baja Designs Squadron light, Kreiga front haul loop, HBD front LED blinkers
Question on the Baja Designs light kit. Do you have this setup for high/low beam and if so are you using the dimmer module from BD?
I'm looking at this option but would like to keep the high/low function. I also have the SICASS bar switch as you have.
Thanks,
Jeff
__________________
Waterboarding Works
KTM 500EXC
Hueychief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 05:27 AM   #3214
toeneal
n00b
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Oddometer: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hueychief View Post
Question on the Baja Designs light kit. Do you have this setup for high/low beam and if so are you using the dimmer module from BD?
I'm looking at this option but would like to keep the high/low function. I also have the SICASS bar switch as you have.
Thanks,
Jeff
I had that setup including BD dimmer with the SICASS switch and had to switch back to the stock switch. When changing from high to low, the SICASS switch would cause a 2-3 second delay where the light would turn off before dimming. Once I put the stock switch back on, the change was immediate.
toeneal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 06:48 AM   #3215
Hueychief
FNG
 
Hueychief's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Minnesota
Oddometer: 75
Quote:
I had that setup including BD dimmer with the SICASS switch and had to switch back to the stock switch. When changing from high to low, the SICASS switch would cause a 2-3 second delay where the light would turn off before dimming. Once I put the stock switch back on, the change was immediate.
That's the info I'm looking for.
Thanks.
__________________
Waterboarding Works
KTM 500EXC
Hueychief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 01:34 PM   #3216
HeadintheClouds
Adventurer
 
HeadintheClouds's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: West Carolina
Oddometer: 41
Reprogramming ECU

Aloha ya'll

I know there has been a lot of back and forth about this but I don't have time to review the entire thread. At some point, someone said if the dealer had the right equipment, they could "unlock" the EXC ECU and download the Australian map. Can someone tell me the equipment needed and what is the map number, please? I am taking my bike in tomorrow to get 2 recalls squared away and would like this taken care of also. Thanks

ps I LOVE this bike!!!
HeadintheClouds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 02:25 PM   #3217
Motorfiets
Beastly Adventurer
 
Motorfiets's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: North of Jack Daniel's, South of Country Music
Oddometer: 2,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeadintheClouds View Post
Aloha ya'll

I know there has been a lot of back and forth about this but I don't have time to review the entire thread. At some point, someone said if the dealer had the right equipment, they could "unlock" the EXC ECU and download the Australian map. Can someone tell me the equipment needed and what is the map number, please? I am taking my bike in tomorrow to get 2 recalls squared away and would like this taken care of also. Thanks

ps I LOVE this bike!!!
they need to call KTM and have KTM tell them what file number to use when flashing your ECU... its a simple 10 min operation.
__________________
Ben
My Photo's
Motorfiets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 04:59 PM   #3218
bill1960
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Cambodia
Oddometer: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeadintheClouds View Post
Aloha ya'll

I know there has been a lot of back and forth about this but I don't have time to review the entire thread. At some point, someone said if the dealer had the right equipment, they could "unlock" the EXC ECU and download the Australian map. Can someone tell me the equipment needed and what is the map number, please? I am taking my bike in tomorrow to get 2 recalls squared away and would like this taken care of also. Thanks

ps I LOVE this bike!!!
The tool is the XC1 tool shown in the following pic on my 500



The competition map I had loaded is the one recommended on the Trailtech site KM787EU12C0601

http://www.trailtech.net/map_switches.html

According to a thread I started on ktmtalk, that map has now been updated to KM787EU12C0701

If you desmog your EXC, use the KM787EU12C0701 map.

bill1960 screwed with this post 01-23-2013 at 09:17 PM
bill1960 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 09:30 PM   #3219
SoilSampleDave
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: The Delta Ghetto, GA (aka PTC)
Oddometer: 1,646
Looks like the ProMoto Billet rack is the only solid option if you want a traditional rack for the EXC. The price tag is pretty steep, so I was wondering if anyone ever approached them about a group buy? I have never orchestrated one, but I could try if there is interest. TIA.
__________________
Don't drive like my brother!

'13 350EXC-F
SoilSampleDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 07:43 AM   #3220
Colemanfu
King of all manfu
 
Colemanfu's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: DAYTONA USA
Oddometer: 3,454
Yea that's the rack. Expensive but ya do get what ya pay for with this product. Link to some rack pix and my rake on it.
http://advrider.com/forums/showthrea...3#post20392703
__________________
Guns keep society safe.
Colemanfu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 08:01 AM   #3221
garrett
Gnarly Adventurer
 
garrett's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Calgary
Oddometer: 442
Just a thought-but have you guys considered using a soft bag like Dirt Bike Gear Fender bags for the rear or even a Giant Loop Mojave bag?

If you're just looking to store tools or tubes etc a small bag fits on the rear fender really well. If you're looking to carry a bit more then the Mojave can store your gear and be removed. I've had a PMB rack and they really are nice, but if you want to carry something only occasionally, a soft bag might be another option.

Or even a small tank bag works well. I use the Giant Loop Fangango on my 500 and it works well. I don't find it's in the way.

Garrett
__________________
I like bikes...
garrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 08:51 AM   #3222
SoilSampleDave
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: The Delta Ghetto, GA (aka PTC)
Oddometer: 1,646
Quote:
Originally Posted by garrett View Post
Just a thought-but have you guys considered using a soft bag like Dirt Bike Gear Fender bags for the rear or even a Giant Loop Mojave bag?

If you're just looking to store tools or tubes etc a small bag fits on the rear fender really well. If you're looking to carry a bit more then the Mojave can store your gear and be removed. I've had a PMB rack and they really are nice, but if you want to carry something only occasionally, a soft bag might be another option.

Or even a small tank bag works well. I use the Giant Loop Fangango on my 500 and it works well. I don't find it's in the way.

Garrett
That's a good point. I looked through Colemanfu's thread he linked and I think I have changed my mind to go with the Wolfman Day Tripper bags referenced there.
__________________
Don't drive like my brother!

'13 350EXC-F
SoilSampleDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 11:48 AM   #3223
HeadintheClouds
Adventurer
 
HeadintheClouds's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: West Carolina
Oddometer: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by bill1960 View Post
The tool is the XC1 tool shown in the following pic on my 500



The competition map I had loaded is the one recommended on the Trailtech site KM787EU12C0601

http://www.trailtech.net/map_switches.html

According to a thread I started on ktmtalk, that map has now been updated to KM787EU12C0701

If you desmog your EXC, use the KM787EU12C0701 map.

Thanks, this is what I was looking for! Unfortunately, Funcycles in Valdese, NC does not have the XC-1
HeadintheClouds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 05:28 PM   #3224
ngads
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Oddometer: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by bill1960 View Post
The tool is the XC1 tool shown in the following pic on my 500



The competition map I had loaded is the one recommended on the Trailtech site KM787EU12C0601

http://www.trailtech.net/map_switches.html

According to a thread I started on ktmtalk, that map has now been updated to KM787EU12C0701

If you desmog your EXC, use the KM787EU12C0701 map.
Is it street legal to desmog and map it?
ngads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 05:52 PM   #3225
SoilSampleDave
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: The Delta Ghetto, GA (aka PTC)
Oddometer: 1,646
Quote:
Originally Posted by ngads View Post
Is it street legal to desmog and map it?
Do they do emissions testing on bikes in NJ? I have never lived anywhere they tested bikes, just cars. If they don't, and you are still concerned about it, just leave your man card at the door!!!
Of course it wouldn't be smog legal, KTM doesn't choke them down for the heck of it.
__________________
Don't drive like my brother!

'13 350EXC-F
SoilSampleDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014