ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 01-24-2013, 01:38 PM   #76
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,691
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mudcat View Post
I am surprised I don’t see any road names but I do use my copy of City Navigator at the highest detail level.

Sorry for al my inane questions, the Montana interest me and may be my next GPS unit but I am leery of it too.

You have your Montana in the Nuvi configuration; can you move Next Turn down to the lower right hand field?

Next Turn is generally all I care about when I am riding and I can see it better in that position in bright sun then in the upper left-hand corner.
No, in the Nuvi Dashboard the next turn is top left, and the lower right is a shortcut to the Trip Computer screen. You can change the lower left but only between Elevation, Heading and Time of Day.

Here's a screen shot showing the Nuvi navigation screen using City Navigator.

D'oh, forgot to mention that's Homer leading the way.

__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.

Emmbeedee screwed with this post 01-24-2013 at 01:44 PM
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 08:46 PM   #77
Mudcat
Unregistered
 
Mudcat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Bay Area
Oddometer: 4,472
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
No, in the Nuvi Dashboard the next turn is top left, and the lower right is a shortcut to the Trip Computer screen. You can change the lower left but only between Elevation, Heading and Time of Day.
Here's a screen shot showing the Nuvi navigation screen using City Navigator.
Thanks for taking the time to show me this stuff.
__________________
I've got to be cool
Relax
Take a long long ride on my motor bike
Untill I'm ready
Mudcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 05:16 AM   #78
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,884
Here's a shot off a 350LM showing navigation and the next turn.

__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 06:52 AM   #79
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,884
Finding Fuel while Navigating a Route

One nice thing that the 350 does is allow you to get fuel without losing the route you are following. You can be going along just following your route and then search for gas. If you select a gas station from the list and say to go there, the unit will ask you if you want to add it to your current route or create a new route just to the gas station. If you add it, then it takes you to the gas station and then puts you back on your existing route. I used this feature on a backroads ride in the Catskills last fall and it worked really well.

I just fired up the Montana and tried to figure out if I could do the same thing on it. My Montana skill/knowledge is still very low, so it might be there, but I sure as heck could not find it. Perhaps one of the Montana gurus can chime in, if I am in error. But, it seemed that on the Montana, I had to stop navigating the original route, navigate to a gas station, and then (I am assuming, sue me ) start the original route again, perhaps having to pick which waypoint to start at? Not sure.

Anyway, I tend to plan my route to be backroads that avoid cities, so I typically need to get off my route to get gas, so this one particular feature, is very useful to me, and is perhaps one small way that the 350 is more useful than the Montana. YMMV.
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 02:41 PM   #80
mmod
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Oddometer: 18
Regarding the zumo would I be able to copy a gpx route from someone else run it through BC and then import it in the zumo?
Will it give me exact turn by turn directions for that route?
mmod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 02:53 PM   #81
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,884
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmod View Post
Regarding the zumo would I be able to copy a gpx route from someone else run it through BC and then import it in the zumo?
Will it give me exact turn by turn directions for that route?
You should be able to do that with any of the Garmin GPSs that accept routes, not just the Zumo. Having the same map set as what the route was made on helps.
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 02:57 PM   #82
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,691
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto View Post
Here's a shot off a 350LM showing navigation and the next turn.

Does the 350 not have zoom controls? Can you turn off auto-zoom on the device? I know some of the Nuvis I've owned have not had zoom options and that's frustrating.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 03:06 PM   #83
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,691
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto View Post
Anyway, I tend to plan my route to be backroads that avoid cities, so I typically need to get off my route to get gas, so this one particular feature, is very useful to me, and is perhaps one small way that the 350 is more useful than the Montana. YMMV.
Yes, the Montana does allow you to add "Via Points" to a route then continue the original. To do so, start Navigation, then go back to "Where To" and you'll see this screen:



Select a "Via Point", then "Go" and it will be added, as seen in this route:



The gas 'Via Point" is in the middle, then the rest of the original route is listed.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 03:11 PM   #84
advNZer?
Beastly Adventurer
 
advNZer?'s Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Wellington,New Zealand
Oddometer: 2,686
do you have to have that via point already as a poi or something or can you do a search for a gas station.I guess you have to stop navigation to do that anyway?And i mean on the Montana not a 3x0,sorry for teh OT
__________________
aka BMWST?
advNZer? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 05:14 PM   #85
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,691
Quote:
Originally Posted by advNZer? View Post
do you have to have that via point already as a poi or something or can you do a search for a gas station.I guess you have to stop navigation to do that anyway?And i mean on the Montana not a 3x0,sorry for teh OT
You can add anything as a Via Point on the Montana - it even has a button called "Use Map" so you can mark a location on the map and add that as a Via Point.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 06:12 PM   #86
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,884
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Does the 350 not have zoom controls? Can you turn off auto-zoom on the device? I know some of the Nuvis I've owned have not had zoom options and that's frustrating.
Um... Not sure I understand, so forgive me if I answer incompletely. Yes, there are zoom controls - if I touch the screen, I get a + and a - and can use those to zoom in and out. There is also a setting for auto-zoom that can be turned on or off.
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 06:15 PM   #87
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,884
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Yes, the Montana does allow you to add "Via Points" to a route then continue the original. To do so, start Navigation, then go back to "Where To" and you'll see this screen:



Select a "Via Point", then "Go" and it will be added, as seen in this route:



The gas 'Via Point" is in the middle, then the rest of the original route is listed.
In your scenario above, how would I have "found" the gas station? Am I correct in thinking (based on the quoted post) that as I am merrily following a route, that I hit "where to" and search for fuel, and then go back to navigation as you describe, or...?
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 06:16 PM   #88
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,691
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto View Post
Um... Not sure I understand, so forgive me if I answer incompletely. Yes, there are zoom controls - if I touch the screen, I get a + and a - and can use those to zoom in and out. There is also a setting for auto-zoom that can be turned on or off.
That's good. As you can see the Mntana has those + and - controls right on the screen so it wasn't obvious that the 350 had them too.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 06:19 PM   #89
advNZer?
Beastly Adventurer
 
advNZer?'s Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Wellington,New Zealand
Oddometer: 2,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto View Post
In your scenario above, how would I have "found" the gas station? Am I correct in thinking (based on the quoted post) that as I am merrily following a route, that I hit "where to" and search for fuel, and then go back to navigation as you describe, or...?
good glad you asked thats really what i want to know
__________________
aka BMWST?
advNZer? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 06:19 PM   #90
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,691
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto View Post
In your scenario above, how would I have "found" the gas station? Am I correct in thinking (based on the quoted post) that as I am merrily following a route, that I hit "where to" and search for fuel, and then go back to navigation as you describe, or...?
You're missing one step. While navigating go back and select "Where To", select "Set Via Point", find what you want through fuel services (or whatever), click the item, choose "Go" on its screen, then that becomes a Via Point in your original navigated route.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.

Emmbeedee screwed with this post 01-25-2013 at 06:30 PM
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014